Mo that was so funny! The laughing icon is (type a colon : followed by the letters hehe then a : again)
India’s test record outside india is pathetic. The reason is really quite simple: you MUST have match-winning bowlers to win tests and india just dont have any.
QED
(at home with their doctored wickets their spinners can win matches BUT most matches india play at home are drawn)
Re: Re: Re: A must read summary on Indian cricket.
*Originally posted by BAYWAQOOF: *
once again "selected" statistics. How about bringing ALL statistics. How about looking at their LOST rate. Here are COMPLETE statistics :)
PLAYER M W L D
GANGULY AS CAPTAIN (AWAY): 16 5(31.25%) 7(43.75%) 4(25%)
IMRAN AS CAPTAIN (AWAY) : 26 5(19.23%) 6(23.07%) 15(57.69%)
How about Ganguly's MATCH LOST rate 43.75 as compared to IMRAN's just 23.07
BW ji - He took more risks and that's why his loosing AVG. is more like his winning AVG :) Shouldn't Imran Khan have won more matches because of the fast bowling Talents he had :)
Ganguly's win is more significant because he did without any talented bowlers :)
Re: Re: Re: Re: A must read summary on Indian cricket.
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
BW ji - He took more risks and that's why his loosing AVG. is more like his winning AVG :) Shouldn't Imran Khan have won more matches because of the fast bowling Talents he had :)
chaloo jee aab baat risk per aa gaee hay :) something uncountable..... Saru should not take risk if he knows he has fake coins in his pockets ;)
Imran Khan is genberally regarded as the greatest skipper of his era-as with the limited talent at his command-we mouled a team which became probably the second best in the world. Remember that in the 1980's, Pakistan didnt lose a test series to the WI-Imran is the reason.
Imran's success rate as skipper is good, he lost only 1/5 games~-thats far better then Mr ganguly-mate!
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: A must read summary on Indian cricket.
*Originally posted by BAYWAQOOF: *
chaloo jee aab baat risk per aa gaee hay something uncountable..... Saru should not take risk if he knows he has fake coins in his pockets
But Woh Khotay sikke hi to kaam aaye hain uske liye aur aaj uske won matches ki % Imran ji se better hai. Imran ji ke Asli Coins kis kaam ke jab unke jitne ke % Saurav ke Win % se kam hai (Woh bhi Khote coins se)
And about taking Risk - Then He must take it, Everyone is taking it now a days, people want results in Test matches and not a DRAW. Win or Lose is part of a Game, I would prefer to see an exciting loss than a Dull Draw.
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: A must read summary on Indian cricket.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by Asif_k: *
And about taking Risk - Then He must take it, Everyone is taking it **now a days*, people want results in Test matches and not a DRAW. Win or Lose is part of a Game, I would prefer to see an exciting loss than a Dull Draw.
bingoooooo !!! u said it your self its not the ear of Muddasar aur Gavasker or IMRAN KHAN :)
Still you cant deny the fact that Ganguly has a better Win % than Imran’s and that is despite having a mediocre bowling. (Which Imran achieved with a High class bowling)
Greatest Skipper of Imran’s era was Alan Border, try to read about how he built Aussie Team for the future, won the world cup. Imran was a great captain May be greatest in Sub continent but not in the world.
Did you say limited Talent ?? dont you guys brag about the Raw talent and embarrassment of the riches ?? and what is this self proclaimed greatness ??
Success rate of a Skipper is known by % of matches won and not by less matches LOST(unless you consider Draw as success). According to your Logic, Gavaskar would be a better Captain than Imran because his % of lost matches is less than Imran’s.
And lastly I am not comparing Imran and Ganguly (I just gave an example of how Imran has won only 5 Test matches abroad out of 26 and still is a great Captain ). Ganguly has just started his career as Captain and has miles to go before he could be compared to Imran. Personally I think Ganguly is a very good Captain and If he remains captain for another 5-6 years, He will be one of the best in the world.
Ok Asif I accept my error on the Pak/WI series results in the 1980's-but was that series under Imran's captaincy, and I know that Pakistan certainly drew in the WI during that era and did better against he WI then most sides.
Allan Border is a genius-no doubt. Great skipper, but the prolonged success began in the late 80's/early 90's. During the bulk of that decade, Imran was the best of his era.
*Originally posted by mo_best: *
Ok Asif I accept my error on the Pak/WI series results in the 1980's-but was that series under Imran's captaincy
You didn't say under his captaincy :)
and I know that Pakistan certainly drew in the WI during that era and did better against he WI then most sides.
Yeah he did draw all the series against WI as Captain also lost 2 Test series to Aussie in Aus in a row, lost to England as well
Allan Border is a genius-no doubt. Great skipper, but the prolonged success began in the late 80's/early 90's. During the bulk of that decade, Imran was the best of his era.
You can brag about Imran all you want, But the fact will always remain that Alan Border is the greatest Captain world has seen - He built a team when Aussie were recovering from packer circus and all their main players were retiring (like chappel brothers) Aussies were losing to everyone and he transformed them into a team of World Champs in 3-4 years (Imran took 10 years) and then nurtured Mark Taylor and Steve Waugh as exceptional leaders...Try to read about him before bragging.
Also If you really think Imran was the best leader - Prove it instead of just repeating it 1000 times.