a mockery of EID

we had three EIDs as far as the area where i live is concerned. and why did that happen?
whenever Ramadan starts people in the NWFP start fasting way before the official start. for the last couple of years Ramadan has started a couple of days before the official announcement.
and since it starts early, it should end early too. but for some reason people do not want to end it early. perhaps it is because they want to procure a lot of “sawab” for themselves. and in that process they have assumed that the Ramadan is a thirty day month.
so while some people thought they should celebrate EID with SAudi Arabia and they celebrated it on Friday.
others thought their thirty days have not been completed so they celebrated it on saturday.
and of course the official one announced by the government of Pakistan was on Sunday.
all this left me wondering. cant we just have one eid, ever? cant we just have an authority that would announce the start and end of Ramadan. we used to have two eids all the time. now we have three eids. and some time later we might be celebrating five.
it is really shameful to have that. and i hate it. we can not even agree on one simple point.

Re: a mockery of EID

I think the NWFP lies on a higher terrain(relative positioning of earth to moon)...so they can sight the moon earlier...

we will, when there's unity among all muslims :)

but still, most parts of Europe celebrated this Eid on one day (which was friday)

its ok, Different Horizons can have different Eid, be it part of one country or not. Just pray ALlah swt accepts our ibaadah. Thats the real concern.

People in NWFP have portable moons, which they carry everywhere. Feeling mellow while on the road to Quetta? Whip out the good ol' moon and start celebrating Eid like its the 60s.

YES, Not having eid on the same day is the only reason for not having unity... very true.. even though we used to have Eids on different days in the time of Khulafa-e-Rashideen... not to mention the famous incident in the time of Syedana Umer (RA) when the witness from the caravan coming from Syria was not taken into consideration because Ameer-ul-Momineen said it was the Eid for Syria and there was no moonsighting in Madinah... :-)

PS: for matters like, Iraq, Afghanistan, Iran, Kashmir, Palsetine, Oil, etc. we should still be divided.. does not matter how many of our own people are brutally murdered... who cares... we need unity in celebrating Eid...

AQ - You know we have better things to do than worry about muslims around the world. As If Allah is gonna ask us about it :rolleyes:. Who cares if they are not our real family, we have better thing to do in life man :o. They are all probably terrorist anyways, even the little ones. Cuz CNN said so :snooty:

when i used to live in the NWFP, only Peshawar's eid and ramadan were a day before the rest of the country, not all of NWFP.

If you think about it, its actually kind of nice that its spread around and dragged out. People are nicer, they feel the spirit of the holiday and things are just well, NICER for a little while, yeah? So go with the flow and if you get 3 holiday Eids, then you are thrice blessed!! Dont be a "bah humbug" type! ENJOY it!!!

I second that.

We celebrated it on friday with Arabia, then celebrated it again with friends who did it on saturday with Pak.

Friday - I was working, Saturday I was driving to Budapest, Sunday I was lying pretty much all day on the bank of Budapest with three other friends. The only difference from Eid is that I am having lunch & somtimes if get thirsty drink water ... I dont bother much with tea coffee .. during day anyway. I perhaps celebrate Eid each day of year excluding when I am fasting.

Just because muslims celebrate eid on different days, doesn't mean there is no unity. I mean, to be honest, joint calendar is hardly the best barometer of unity. Some of my best friends follow ISNA-based fixed calendar methodology, while I follow the ruling of moonsighting based start of muslim month. I believe moonsighting based calendar is sunnah, some of my friends believe fixed calendar is equally appropriate. Big deal! Its practicaly a non-issue in my mind, except it gives us an additional interesting topic to chit chat about during dinner parties.

I seriously doubt that folks in NWFP are able to sight the moon two days early due to elevation changes. I think they just follow Saudi Arabia. They probably just don't admit it so openly, and that creates a bigger mockery of the issue. Just say what you are doing - i.e. follow Saudia and be done with it. I am sure there is a reasnable argument some where to support one-moon for the entire planet theory.

Eid Mubarak all... this time, pretty much our entire community here in the Bay Area celebrated on Saturday. It was wonderful. Doesn't make us more united on any meaningful issue, it just makes for a little less complication in arranging Eid Milan parties.

Well even back when times were simpler and there was only one eid day based on local moon sightining, we still had 3 days of eid and collecting eidi :slight_smile:

Hmmmmm....yeh to bohot bara masla hayga....
per is ka hal kya ho sakta hai...???

Faisal & AQ - Well said.

I think we should plant a nuke on the moon, & take care of this masala once and for all.

^^ Lol, where do you come up with those? I thought I was the corny one.

Remember the cute pussy chat we had, there is a pic of gamma kissing one in Pic forum too!!!

how could there be one eid, unless the saudis have a monopoly on the moon?

Them Khan saabs of sarhad are in their own class.

They say that Allah ke ghar pe eid hai to hamaray ghar pe bhi hai - they dont give a rats behind that the axis of the earth is tilted

you can expect anythin in pak