A Messenger...

Hi*,
I have written a MSN messenger clone. I’d highly appreciate if you techies could post your comments/opnions about it.

You can find a screeny **here.

Some info about it (incase you people suspect it to be some “non friendly” application) {Link Removed}**

You can download it (Win2K & above) **here.

**btw: It’s not complete, so some features like print, copy & paste in the convo window wont work.

Please put all the info yourself & refrain from linking to other forums.

Regards.](“Yahoo | Mail, Weather, Search, Politics, News, Finance, Sports & Videos”)

Re: A Messenger...

Well, the reason i put that link here was just to assure people that its not some virus or something. I didnt know that its a req that one cant link to anyother forrum. Not mentioned in the sticky above.

Please give us more information about it. What does it do? Does it connects to other networks as well?

Re: A Messenger…

Well, its a messenger like MSN messenger. Few things that MSN messenger lacks & my messenger has, are Tabbed Conversation/Chat window and being skinnable (editing default.xml and changing/replacing images in skins/default folder). And the main features that my client lacks (currently) are support for Voice Chat or Video Chat. I am also implementing a server for it that speaks the same protocol as the client (so that I dont need to use .NET Messenger Service). And no it only connects to .NET Messenger Service.

source code hai??? i just wana check for backdoors before i test this on my PC

it looks good from the screenshot :k:

MSN Messenger 8.0 Official Planning/Feature List

** Tabbed Chatting.**

- Reduce resource hogging 

- All pending friend request invitations could show up in one window 

- Compact the conversation window by giving the ability to hide buttons and the TO: line, and consolidating the text. 

- Ooh! Can I color my main window like I can a conversation window? 

Self Expression.  It’s all about image.  I want to pick the persona I project and to who: 

- More statuses 

- I want to appear as different status to different groups 

Or be able to sign in to side by side versions of messenger, running a different passport on each. 

- Or the ability to have different personas within one passport/login and choose which contacts see which. 

- I want to “borrow” other people’s display pictures. 

- It’d be great to show video as a display picture 

IMing. Reach out and touch someone…or not: 

Offline Instant Message 

-I need a way to know that people have left their computer for a long time (like vacation).  

Contacts. IM is about three things: me, my friends, and more of my friends. 

-Better ways to find new friends 

Group conversations 

- Interoperability (msn, yahoo, aol, etc…) 

- See contacts in columns to see them all at once. 

- Send a contact (drag from the main window onto a conversation window) to someone. 

Quality. There’s no such thing as Software welfare – so Messenger should always work: 

- Improved Nat traversal. (Better connectivity for Voice) 

- I get kicked offline a lot – I’d like improved connectivity to the network. 

Function. Featuring: more features:  

- Scripting and plugin abilities 

- All features available in all regions 

Anyway, nice work dude. :k:

source code hai to, per kia kerna hai uska meray bhai??? It’s not opensource, i am sorry i can’t provide you with the source code. If you dont want to risk your user-id/password, I can PM you a test user if you like.

Well, its just a part-time or hobby project of mine, I dont work on it fulltime, so it’s little bit hard :slight_smile: to compete with a team of MSN developers working full with all the possible help available and knowing the OS better. I am not trying to implement everything that MSN has, instead, I’ll first try to make a complete, usable and stable client (with server) and then see what I can improve.

I think if you make a web based client that would be worth ur time. Since alot of web 2.0 applications are very interactive and I think an IM client would be awesome! I am willing to help ya on web based client if you want..

Yep, thats good idea. But i first want to complete this stuff, I’ll be updating this thread with the progress. I hope to be ready with this client/server thing early next year Inshallah. I’ll then look at webbased version then.

can you tell us what platform you are using ..?? language? which MSN Protocol does this support? u knw details like that help..

The platform (i guess you mean OS) i support is any Win32 platform with IE 5+ installed. The package for download is a UNICODE version, so you can only run it on Win2K or above (Win95 series also support UNICODE but then one has to install MLU ‘M$ layer for Unicode’). I have a Win95 onwards version too, if someone is interested i can put it up for download. As with language, its done in C++ (M$ Visual Studio as Devlopment Env) using plain Win32 API (no MFC here) and some third party libs like OpenSSL and xpat-parser for XML parsing. Currently it supports MSNP10, i’ll be moving to Ver 11 soon to support nudges and personal messages. Let me know, if you have any further questions…

As you said that you are doing this as a hobby then why not just release it as open-source and watch it fly in no time. I liked the interface. Keep it running.

The reason for not making it opensource is that I have put a LOT of effort in making this GUI to work, and on windows its one of the harder things to do, if not the hardest and all this without using any libs like MFC (I have made my own lib for GUI, a smaller skinnable version of MFC) and also written a helper OO-based lib for some Win32 APIs & I don’t want to make those libs opensource.
BTW: Geocities have a bandwidth limit to downloads and probably some of you might have gotten this ‘Bandwidth limit reached’ message when trying to download it. I have now uploaded it to another site. Here is the link.

but sharing these libs will ensure that the BUGS (and i am 100% sure that there are billion bugs, as its the case with anyones code) are fixed and you will get new ideas.. if u are afraid that ppl will use ur lib without giving your credit where its due then u need to look into GPL licenses and see what it really is before saying no to opensource.. :) its ur call at the end of the day coz its ur code ur efforts..

Just wanna add something here, open-source does NOT mean GPL. You can release the code with your own terms of use. vBulletin and Invasion BB are just to examples. They are open source but not free OR allow anyone to use thier code.

I know the benefits of making the project opensource, but the reason for posting my client here was to get you people’s opnions about the application & only shery has been kind enough to say something about the application :). The other opensource clients like gIAM and Miranda are multi protocol clients, and if I think that I should also go multi protocol, then surely i’ll be making it opensource as its a lot of work to do only by myself.
BTW: Anyone knows why there is no “edit” button in my posts??? I want to edit a link in my earlier post and i can’t seem to find the edit button :(. Anyways, you can find and better and updated version of my client here.

You have 24 hours to edit your post. After you can ask the related mod to do it for you.