A Mars a day helps you work, rest and sin

Peace Everyone

In case you do not already know … major chocolate companies are doing the stupidest money saving tactic by saving on vegetarian curding ingredients replacing this with animal rennet … ouch! UK went choco-haraam since 1st May 2007.

Be warned!

http://www.muslimdirectory.co.uk//viewarticle.php?id=183

Re: A Mars a day helps you work, rest and sin

jazakAllah for the info....................so no more chocolate from now on.

why are you still there?

Isnt rennet found in calves stomach? We eat calves :D so then why does it make chocolate haram?

No, it is NOT haram!!!

** I have found three opinions concerning cheese made with animal rennet.

Q1) One is that since the rennet is haram, the cheese is haram.

Q2) Another is that since the rennet doesn’t remain a part of the cheese- it is only used to separate the curds from the whey, the cheese is halal.

Q3. Another is that the Prophet (saws) ate cheese, therefore it is halal. I am not clear about this particular one and would like to find out in more detail, i.e. was this cheese made using animal rennet?

So, is cheese/whey made using animal rennet halal or haram, according to the Hanafi School?**

** A1**. In the Hanafi School, rennet obtained from an animal slaughtered by a non-Muslim or Muslim in accordance with Islamic law or contrary to it, in all cases is permissible, as long as the animal in question is not a pig.

Most well informed people are adamant that rennet, which is used to make cheese, is not derived from pigs.

** A2**. Rennet, Rennin as an enzyme is used in the food industry for the preparation of cheese by curdling milk. The only way to know whether the source of rennet is animal, plant or microbe is to ask the food industry about it or have it written on the label.

The lawfulness of rennet does not depend on the slaughterer being a Muslim or non-Muslim, in fact it depends upon whether there is life in it or not. The circulation of blood in an organ is the cause of life. No blood flows through rennet, therefore rennet is not a living thing. Therefore, it cannot ‘die’ and it is thus permissible to consume rennet.
[Muslim Food Guide, pg 25-30, http://www.halaal.co.uk ]

** A3**. It has been narrated in the major hadith collection s from Abdullah ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him and hi s father) that the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) was brought cheese in the Battle of Tabuk. He asked for a knife then recited ‘bismillah’ and cut the cheese.’ (Abu Dawud)

Cheese made with animal rennet other than a pig source is halal. The fuqaha explain, however, that it is better to avoid whenever reasonably possible when its source is unknown because of the difference of opinion between the Sunni schools of fiqh regarding its permissibility and the doubt therein.

And Allah alone gives success.

Ilyas Patel,
Abu Zahra Institute
Keighley , UK .

also a comment by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani:

http://www.seekersdigest.org/imagined-indications-of-blog-entries-innovative-as-in-bida-not-good-reasoning.html

Thanks playa. Thought so. Rennet is just a chemical, lol. Whoever started this thread, be careful when declaring things haraam or halal, some ppl will just listen without asking questions (hint :CareBear: hint). I couldnt live without Snikers btw. :D

You still need to call each individual company and make sure if the rennet/whey used in there is of pig, or other animals.

True that

^ Thats true KB…its best to be careful in matters of deen.
But I guess it can’t be made from Pigs as it comes from the fourth stomach of calves…Wallahu Alam

Please read wikipedia entry.

Cricketplaya:
What is the hanafi view on Gelatin/e ? According to one school it is permissible even if it comes from Pigs. I hesitate in following that opinion since Pig is najis. We are told to avoid everything from Pig. But a local guy told me that gelatin is permissible and quoted hanafis. He is a formal student of deen. Although not hanafi. So please explain using the same methodology used by you for rennet. i.e. quoting scholars.
May Allah SWT reward you for patience and effort!

If everyone put as much thought, energy and analysis into spiritual matters as they do in researching the most minute ingredient and campaigning against such Godly things as music, just think what we could accomplish

Yaar me don't believe in going to the chemical or molecular level. At a chemical level ingredients exists in all living beings. Even if you read the Quranic ayat where swine is declared haram, please notice the emphasis is on flesh. So the composition must represent flesh. So in other words by-products are not the same as their parent products.

The final form of it must be in a haram state so as to not consume it. And a muslim should not handle haram things by himself. In my opinion we have over-complicated this halal haram issue way too much by ingredient wars.

If ingredients were to make things halal and haram then surely grapes should be haram since they are the basic ingredient in wine.

not all of em are haraam or are they?

The Hanafi view on this is simple, gelatin is haram. The argument that some bring up is that it changes in the process is not valid since it does not go that far. The process is called istahala... we discussed this not long ago int his forum..

anyways, none of the 4 schools of thought say that gelatin is halal.

The thing is we don't understand the scholars who speak with such hikmah. They are not at our levels. They have spent their time in learning deen. A med student has to go through all that schooling to become a doctor. So does a student in deen, he goes through all that to become an Alim.

I trust the scholars over you. :)

^ Yes he mentioned Istihala. And I argued exactly the same that as far as I know Gelatin does not go through that much of a change as is emphasized in Intihala.
Although I am not hanafi but I prefer this opinion as it is the more cautios.
Can you quote some hanafi website or a scholar for my records only?
Jazak um Allahu Khairan.

Nothing that comes from pigs/made of pigs is allowed.

A person asked Mufti Desi if we can wear shoes that are lined with pig skin, so he said , According to Shariah, a pig is considered as Najisul-Ain(impure). The skin will remain impure even after manufacture.

Salaat is not valid in a pig leather jacket. It is necessary to make Qadha for the past Salaat performed in the leather jacket made of pig skin.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
FATWA DEPT.

How about laying off on chocolate because its a fatty sugar that kills your apatite but doesn't give you any nutritional value?

^that would be a matter of choice instead of haram or halal.

Islam says not harm your body... so no to chocolate would be a good step :D