Re: "A letter from Pakistan"
Queerio calm down my little tapioca bubble.
the part about Bilal Minto's World Ka Center on 9/11 is n Pakistan being an utterly normal day - why wouldn't it be? when the planes hit WTC wouldn't 9/11 daytime be past in lahore?
The article however settles a number of arguements that we've seen in GS and debunks the myths that many pakistani's bring to bear as their side of these arguement:
Press freedom - ha! listen to what the pak student said...she'll get shot if she makes a documentary critical of mush.
TV - ha! so pakistanis get their kicks watching 10+ Indian channels, Iranian, french whatever other pakistani! so much for that arguement
Movies - "leaves much to be desired in terms of content and quality" is hardly an interpretation of "see how far we've come"
Now look at you people - how about addressing these, instead of (or in adn to) wondering if the author is really pakistani! why would she want to be in pak even if it's for a few months, if she didn't like pakistan?
^ working at her job perhaps at the university in lahore?
Re: “A letter from Pakistan”
Ha indeed. Anyone can say whatever. For example, you can say that if you get out of your office, the sky will fall. No one can stop you from saying that, but it doesn’t mean the sky will really fall when you step out of your office. It just means that you are extremely paranoid.
Occassional ghunda baazi against political opponents and riots etc have always happened in India-Pak culture, and hopefully will go away with more education and more respect for diversity in opinions. But to make claims, purporting to be factual, when anyone can see that they are blantantly untrue, just makes the reader question the credibility of the writer. This is what happened here.
^ "...that anyone can see are blatantly untrue..." ?
how?
Aray! poora thread dobara parho, bhai jaan. I explained in my first post in this thread, why her basic premise is flawed. Here you go.. the two earlier posts
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3324048&postcount=21
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3324067&postcount=25
And this is from another discussion in the last couple of days, which is essentially on the same topic
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3319848&postcount=24
Hey…What is the need for her to ‘educate’ Pakistani students? What happened to the artistic Sri Lankans or Indians…
Why did she find masterbating humor so funny and not something with more substance…
Well, she can stay in Lahore…![]()
Mushy has allowed far more freedom in Media then has happened in Pakistan at any point since 1958. That is to his credit..in fact Indian journalists have often commented how anti government the Pak Media were..and have said that they found the Pak Media far more critical of the government. That is probably accurate ..because of the lack of effective political opposition in Pakistan the press tends to be far more critical..
Although I should add people I know in the Media biz are increasingly self censoring..criticism of the Army is frequently from ex Army officers who are less worried of the response, also with the return to power of the Lota League democrats ..journalists in print media in particular ..who criticise are now worried about the midnight knock again..
yaar, all you people criticizing mush and believing this article… have you guys watched geo and indus and other channels… helll even PTV??? do u have any idea how different it is? if you havent, I suggest you go watch it for a week… you,d be surprised how open things are now… discussions going on, people openly criticizing mush and the government, normal awam questioning people in power openly on talk shows…
now compare that to zia era… and tell me, do u not see a marked improvement??? a major improvement i,d call it, and a step definitely in the right direction. So why still not acknolwedge it??? It cant change in one day. But its changing very fast, for the better. I have been watching PTV all my life… and so have many others… we arent blind. The way the article has portrayed the state of media and press in pakistan is a load of crap.
Oh and goodluck watching israeli programs on PTV :k: we might live to see it, who knows. Meanwhile, dont bring the shia sunni crap in everything. Yes its a problem, and they are doing what they can to counter it. None of us agrees to it. Its very unfortunate but a fact, same goes for other minorities. But that isnt really the topic of discussion here.
Here there is the people rights movement, there are the religious parties who want Islamic rule, and there are many people in this area who cannot stand another day of Musharraf’s Bush-sponsored hunt for Osama.
Yes I am American. And yes I don't understand ^. What is wrong with hunting for Osama?
Are there Americans in Lahore or Pakistan that are hurting Pakistanis? Is there something happening in Lahore or Pakistan affiliated with the search for Osama that is hurting the Avg Pakistani's?
too lazy to read ..