By the way, pls be warned, I am using the term ‘few words’ rather loosely here, so if you are allergic to long posts, then press the ‘Back’ button now
First of all, thanks to all the out-going mods of this forum. This is a tremendously difficult forum to moderate and all of you put in a lot of hard work into making it work.
And now to our dear members who participate in the Religion forum, most of you know who I am. For those who don’t, here is a primer …
I am just a moderator here and am not a scholar or a mufti, so please don’t look at me to resolve issues for you that have been simmering for centuries. I don’t know every thing about Islam (or any other faith, for that matter), which is probably a good thing because I don’t get offended if you disagree with me.
This is a place for gupshup and discussion. Please treat it as such. Do realize that the chances of you convincing someone to change their position here based on your arguments are between nil and 0.1%. If you get too angry too quickly, then you are at the wrong place. Feel free to provide your opinion (as dicey as it may be) in an appropriate manner so that people can make their own opinion about the issue (and you!). Calling others names generally lowers the standard of discussion.
For the purpose of moderating this forum, I consider myself non-denominational. So if you intend to send me angry PM’s saying that I should not allow a shia/wahabi/sunni/hindu/christian/whatever to post something here, then you are wasting your time. Also warnings to me saying that just because I am not deleting your opponents point of view is going to land me in hellfire are also equally misplaced.
And lastly, I will be reaching out to some of you (and that can mean you) to solicit ideas on how to make this a better place. If you have a great idea and you are uncomfortable putting it in this thread, feel free to use the PM facility and send it to me.
I am all done for now. This is, by far, my shortest introduction post. Consider yourself lucky.
Muharram jaisa difficult time tu guzar gaya tu becharey mazloom moderators ki chutti kar di, ju becharey logon ki galiyaan khaa khaa kar apna stomach tak kharab kar chukey hian
Anyway, Allah unko iska ajar de. ameen
Hahaha... Code Red, your posts always bring a smile to my face. Are you sure you were not a court jester in a pichla janam (and that makes me an emperor, which is not a bad thought, actually)?
In any case, I am answering your statements/q's in reverse order:
Amen.
Yes, it is always a tough period to moderate. Kudos to all of them. Alternatively, while Muharram is still going on, you can appreciate we are not off the hook yet. Plus, Religion Forum forum does not usually discriminates based on time of the year. :)
Yes.
Poora introduction time ke saath mil jayay ga.
I live in California where cigarette smoking is (almost) a crime.
Buhat.
Faqay pooray hein. Rozay Allah behtar jaanta hai.
Alhamdollilah.
Insha Allah.
That is part of the introduction whch is on hold for now. ;)
Religion forum main mundlatay daikh ker kuch andaza tau ho gaya tha-
Khair Andesh Pir sahib Moratorium shareef is back-
Aish karo logo-
I just was going to start a thread on good work by previous moderators.
Great work bachoon Taaliyaan
Bao saab... thanks for the kind words. No Moratorium this time, for as long as possible. Thats an easy way out, but we'll see. As Bush uncle says, all options are on the table. :)
Thanks to all those who replied in this thread and posted 'welcome'.
I suggest that we have a moderated discussion on some topics but have specific goals for teh discussion, we seem to have the same dozen discussions that everyone spins their wheels in and then people give up.
problem is topics become too broad, no one knows what is going on, trouble makers jump in, discussion just disintegrates.
maybe a couple of topics per week or fortnight, with specific questions and specific goals, maybe one of the goals is that the group comes up with the next set of questions to discuss and address over the next week/fortnight.
problem is topics become too broad, no one knows what is going on, trouble makers jump in, discussion just disintegrates.
maybe a couple of topics per week or fortnight, with specific questions and specific goals, maybe one of the goals is that the group comes up with the next set of questions to discuss and address over the next week/fortnight.
Good ideas.
I think as a start we need a critical mass of members who share the vision that we can make this a great place for discussion. I call them 'facilitators'. They facilitate good discussions. These people may not agree on issues, but as long as they can debate in an educated manner, that will improve the quality of discussions manifold and also teach other members the etiquettes of online discussion. Also, once we have a core team of facilitators on hand, implementation of all such good ideas will then become easier.
Also, while I hope we have more productive discussions on topics, I am looking forward to some people to step-up and initiate more interesting debates. We need to get over the same old shia-sunni-wahabi arguments. For some it may be adding a lot of value, but for most, these are now just repetitive.
Moderated discussions on some select topics may be one way of bringing some 'method to the madness' (figuratively speaking only) on sensitive issues, though it hinders free flow of ideas. Not entirely a bad thing, of course. Unless someone decides to sue us for infringing upon their First Amendment rights. :)
just to clarify, i think i misused the term moderated discussions, i dont mean that we have the moderated discussion i.e. mod approves every pos before it shows up. I meant that it just is managed a little more closely, and any tangen yip yap and flames and respinses to those are tossed out so the discussion stays on target