A few good songs ..

So, I am bored outta my wits( wolf et server being down and all) and need to listen to good music etc.

I am not a big music buff but do enjoy some foot taping numbers or a few gayish love/sad songs. But I am open to trying out new things..

So ppl, go on.. suggest me some good music.. must be recent, NON-RAP/COUNTRY, old( only if it is really really good).. I have my kazaa open, will download them as soon as I get responses..

So go on..

P.S: pls list the singer/band too ( will be easy to search for it on kazaa)

Desi or Non?

Non.. preferably, but desi wud do if u got nothing non-desi coming to yer mind and are tempted to reply just in a smiley here..

at this moment only one song is coming to my mind:

Aicha - Outlandish

Off the top of my head…
(Let me know if you want specific songs from the artists where I don’t specify)

Jude :love: - King of yesterday, I do, The not so pretty princess, Everything I own, I will not die
Dar Williams - As Cool as I am, Are you out there, Christians and Pagans
Fountains of Wayne - (older ones)Troubled Times, Amity Gardens, Utopia Parkway, Red Dragon Tattoo, Sink to the Bottom
Tom Petty - Free Fallin, etc
Cat Stevens - Wild World
Ben Folds - Gone
U2
Stroke 9 - Letters, Washin and Wonderin
Travis - Sing, Flowers in the Window, Side
Dave Matthews, really almost anything
Weezer - anything from Pinkerton or Blue
S&G - Cecilia
Pixies
Indigo Girls - Galileo, Closer to Fine
Abba - Dancing Queen
Ramones
Sarah McLachlan
Guster - Center of Attention
Semisonic - Falling, In another life, Completely pleased, Fascinating new thing
Madonna
Liz Phair - What makes you happy, Polyester Bride
Aha - Take on me
Blink 182 - Going away to college
Elliot Smith - Walts #2
Bon Jovi’s oldies
NSync, BSB, Britney, Christina :snooty:

specific songs wud be better .. and what is all this? Have I been so out of touch with the present music scene to hardly recognise the names above or all this stuff dates back to 1523?

btw, aren;t ya too ancient to like nsync, Britney spears and stuff?

*Originally posted by Chandbeti: *

specific songs wud be better .. and what is all this? Have I been so out of touch with the present music scene to hardly recognise the names above or all this stuff dates back to 1523?

btw, aren;t ya too ancient to like nsync, Britney spears and stuff?

Excuse you. they were the highlight of my freshman - sophomore years of college.

And most of these are not really recent. You asked for good songs. Not the most recent ones.

Anyway, make do with what you've got here so far. More after dinner :p

Download Hey Ya by Outkast and dance around your room ... if you are bored .... :p

You can even do that with Shania Twain ... and I don't think she's 'real' country .... or even better .... arab tunes ... Sayedi Mansoor by Saber Alruba, Ellyellah Doob by Mustafa Amar ... can list more if you want :p.

^ Haha. Mehnaz, I do the same thing :hula:

Oh also – one desi song you’ve got to have:
Bombay Vikings - Kya Surat hai
Has the most brilliant rhyme “no one so saaaxy in the whole galaxy”

:stuck_out_tongue:

Mehnaz:

hey y'all, I have it already I think. Outcast has come out with a new song too I guess, which is topping the charts right now..I can't remember the name.

Arab eh.. Well, lemme try the ones u have mentioned first.

And as far as dancing around the room is concerned.. been there done that, doesn't excite me anymore.. ;-)

:eek: How can you get tired of dancing around your room? That is something I will never tire of. :blush:

How about Hey Mama by Black Eyed Peas?

Also, for arab tunes, there is also this one song that is partly in hindi. It’s quite good. Nari Narien by Hashim Abbas. Very catchy. :hula:

*Originally posted by CurruptAngel: *
at this moment only one song is coming to my mind:

Aicha - Outlandish

thanks and it is a nice song.. btw it is Aisha, not Aicha ( which means Maa ki in marathi :-p )

sahar: gosh girly, I said new has a higher preferance over the old ones.. and u keep coming up with songs from baba Adam's zamaana. :--p

Thanks anyways, some are real nice songs.

Mehnaz: yeah, it is a good song. Downloading it right now.

There's also that "Turkish Kiss" song.

Habibi
Aisha by Cheb Khaled (mostly French)

Alright, well if you want some more arab tunes …

Sheloha Shela (Yallah Yalah) by the Miami Kuwaiti Band
Meli Meli by Cheb Mami
O Jesasi by Shakira … it’s Spanish of course :stuck_out_tongue:
Main Mani by Dania Haddad
Chebba by Khalid

The Turkish kiss song is also quite good … the singer also happens to be hot. :love:

gosh.. the search on kazaa ain't returning anything for the Arab, Turkish songs u all suggested.

Any other source I cud download them from? ( don't ask me to buy CDs, I am a freeloader and proud of it)

I have some. You want?

CB, if you want to hear a really sad song that always tends to make me cry is George Michael's rendition of I Can't Make you Love Me. It really tugs at your emotions.

^ some of his lyrics are just so painful...

*Originally posted by Chandbeti: *

thanks and it is a nice song.. btw it is Aisha, not Aicha ( which means Maa ki in marathi :-p )

n/p

I also thought it's aisha at the beginning but that's how they have spelled it..."aicha"...weird I know! :-)

:smiley: You should listen to:

Thoia thoing by R Kelly

Toxic by Britney

(they’re cool if you like to dance :wink: )