In Desi society, a working woman is still labelled as ‘Buri Aurat’ and ‘Kati Patang’ by a group.
Is she acceptable in male dominated society?
Does desi society or any other society capable of providing equal opportunities and treatment to ladies?
In Desi society, a working woman is still labelled as ‘Buri Aurat’ and ‘Kati Patang’ by a group.
Does desi society or any other society capable of providing equal opportunities and treatment to ladies?
Re: A daring lady in Desi culture
i think things are changing now. With the increasing inflation, its being understood that both would have to work to make ends meet.
I think it is changing...I have been working since I turned 18...no one has ever said anything to me...they have all been quite proud of me actually!
i think things are changing now. With the increasing inflation, its being understood that both would have to work to make ends meet.
Is this limited to income participation or also our societies make ladies part of decision making
kuch khwateen tou baRi banday maar hoti hain, unkay mian dartay hain unsay... :)
kuch khwateen hoti hain, lekin in majority cases ladies huwa to hear: ziada tar tar ki to zaban kaat di jae gi.
Recently I visited community health centre and an uncle came on counter and asked ‘koi physician bethta hai’. They replied ‘lady doctor aane wali hai’ and the person asked ‘yahan koi mard doctor nahi’. They replied no and I found the person was not happy hearing this.
Are you talking about Karachi?
All this was applicable in India a generation ago. Now it is irrelevant :)
In rural areas women participate in agricultural works ....and even help their husband in earning bread and butter for their family...
this phenomenon is going on for centuries...
if we look at the role of western women in their society ....they also started working in all fields and areas at the beginning of this century as per my limited knowledge
Are you talking about Karachi?
yes, Karachi
All this was applicable in India a generation ago. Now it is irrelevant :)
again the question is, are the Indian ladies independent enough to take decisions or they are involved in decision making process?
In rural areas women participate in agricultural works ....and even help their husband in earning bread and butter for their family...
this phenomenon is going on for centuries...
if we look at the role of western women in their society ....they also started working in all fields and areas at the beginning of this century as per my limited knowledge
yes are right that western women started working in different walks of life a century ago and they were also limited to 'chadar and char deewari'. Do you think acceptability of working woman for economic purposes is equal to actual empowerment of women?
again the question is, are the Indian ladies independent enough to take decisions or they are involved in decision making process?
entirely depends on family, but as of now, I don't think educated family ever restricts anyone beyond star plus soaps:)
yes, Karachi
lady doctors are quite common now in Lahore. Daewoo buses started hiring women attendants for their buses, which used to seem like an absurd idea but now many buses have picked up that idea. While I do agree that some stereotyping is there, but things have changed a lot especially in cities.
yes are right that western women started working in different walks of life a century ago and they were also limited to 'chadar and char deewari'. Do you think acceptability of working woman for economic purposes is equal to actual empowerment of women?
it is not about women only our entire society is based on culture of jiski lathi usiki bhains...and respecting hierarchy is in our nature....
how much young man in our society is free to take his own decisions regarding his career and marriage etc....
Recently I visited community health centre and an uncle came on counter and asked 'koi physician bethta hai'. They replied 'lady doctor aane wali hai' and the person asked 'yahan koi mard doctor nahi'. They replied no and I found the person was not happy hearing this.
Its preference.I come back from the hospital too if there is no female doctor at the moment.I dont go to male doctors.
it is not about women only our entire society is based on culture of jiski lathi usiki bhains...and respecting hierarchy is in our nature....
how much young man in our society is free to take his own decisions regarding his career and marriage etc....
Yeah its more of wht u said I suppose.jiski lathi uski bhains
In Desi society, a working woman is still labelled as 'Buri Aurat' and 'Kati Patang' by a group.
It still exists in every society.If you google stay at home moms vs working moms ,you'll see how many consider stay at home moms superior to working moms.
But ofcourse there are ppl pro it n against it in every culture.The difference is in the proportion.
PS: I dont multi-quote when I'm posting from my mobile.Its not v easy to reply that way.
But they portray extra powerful and James Bond types ladies in star plus soaps ![]()
It still exists in every society.If you google stay at home moms vs working moms ,you'll see how many consider stay at home moms superior to working moms. But ofcourse there are ppl pro it n against it in every culture.The difference is in the proportion.
PS: I dont multi-quote when I'm posting from my mobile.Its not v easy to reply that way.
It was prevalent even in literary scenes in Pakistan. poets like Parveen Shakir, Zehra Nigah were considered to have published someone's poetry in their names