It pisses me off when I meet people who have “Pakistan-mein-hamarey-paas-yeh-tha” attitude. I mean COME ON! First of all you are not in Pakistan anymore, and second of all it doesn’t matter what you had in Pakistan, talk about what you have here in the US. You don’t even have a freaking car, let alone the fact that you now live in a tiny apt. with other roommates and have no nokar chaakar. Some people need a reality slap. Have you ever met people with such attitude?
I would rather not mention it as it may offend some people, although there really isn’t to get offended about, but we have some sick-double-minded people here, so forget it
So, have you ever met such people abroad who want to have an impression/pressure on you based on what they are/were in Pakistan? How do you react?
This instance that caused me to open this thread was my recent contact with an International Student from Pakistan. When he came here from Pakistan a few years ago, my friend and I took him around the university, helped him find a place, and showed him around. He always mentioned how he was in Pakistan and he's so used to that. I ignored for a few times and then his life went on and so did mine. Now whenever I see him, he tries to pass by without even looking at me. Tota Chasham kahin ak. I still say Salam and I know it pisses him off, but guess what, I am earning sawab.
Another instance is when we met some door k rishtey daar a few months ago, they also kept mentioning "Pakistan mein hamari itni property hai"........"Pakistan mein hamari bohat zameen hai, aap chahey kisi sey bhi pooch lein".......and the dude works on a gas station here and everyone in his family is working because they can barely afford with just his income.
Exactly. Nobody forced you to move. You had a choice to stay there with your nokars and big houses and so many cars. It just bothers me when they still have such mentality. It’s not like we are gonna die if those people don’t talk to us, just because I try to be nice to them, that doesn’t mean I need any favors from them!
yeah, i kno wat u mean. i meet those kinds of aunties/uncles all the time, unfortunately. i absolutely loathe when ppl talk abt how corrupt Pakistan is and they r sitting in Amreeka/UK/Canada. i mean if it bothers u so much, go do sumthin abt it. ur not really helping by sitting abroad and complaining. plus u have no right to complain if u r not trying to do sumthin abt it. ppl have weird complexes...dunno y. they just need to accept that this is NOT Pakistan, and it was their choice to move....no one made them. :( it's so frustrating
that reminds me of a time when an uncle made me cry, we were having a perfectly healthy discussion abt Pakistan. he was saying how corrupt it was, and i was telling him in a very polite manner wat i stated above and that he is Pakistani too, he can’t deny that fact no matter how White he tries to act. so this guy lives in Amreeka and has left his wife & children in UK w/ no way to support themselves and has 2-3 wives here i mean i really think ppl shud look at themselves before trying to preach to other ppl how corrupt something is. the world has gone mad :rotato:
Nobody practices what they preach. We can just point fingers but can't do anything about it. I am not perfect either and I thank Allah for everything I had in Pakistan and for whatever I am here. I wasn't super rich back in Pakistan and I am not a millionaire here either.
People need to compare apples to apples. But desis tend to compare apples with bananas.
agreed. neither am I, but like u I always thank Allah for everything. plus I believe that wat's done is done, we shud be optomistic and look toward the future w/ good intentions and InshAllah Allah will make things easy and prosperous for us. ppl need to realize that no one cares wat they had in Pakistan? u r in Amreeka now...and even if u r still rich, u shud be thankful. u have no one to impress. when u die u r not going to take nokar chakar or ur big house(s) with u, the only thing u have to show Allah is the good deeds u did in the world...so there is no point or good in being so materialistic. another thing is that there r more imp. things than ur material possessions, ppl can take away ur money and expensive things. but no one can take away ur knowledge, self- respect, etc. that simple as that.
Actually people who live in America and yet keep repeating what they had in Pakistan or what they were in Pakistan are the ones who do not have much here. That's why they keep saying they were rich in Pakistan. Who knows if there's any truth to it? May be they are saying it just to make themselves feel better?
In other words, someone who's really good at something will not boast around how he's really good at something........someone who's very educated and humble would not brag how educated and humble he is.......someone who prays 5 times a day will never boast how he prays regularly.........In my opinion, as I've seen, the only people who brag are the ones who didn't have that to start with.
oops sry abt that random post but i am really bloody vexed at this specific moment in time,..............the women had 2 visit me 2day......................AAAAARRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH........................
made me cry so much,..............:(
Edit: It's one thing to flood in someone else's thread hoping you can get away with it, but you are flooding in a MOD's thread? What are you thinking? I have merged your posts, please don't flood in any thread as it's against the rules - Shikra
another thing i hate is how ppl in pak tened to think that...amreekan grls and families hv nothig to do with islam and theyv forgotten aobut ther roots
in pak they wereshcoked wen i knew how to read namaz