Sehwag - Does he hold any value, at all, as an opener? Apart from his heroic of a start in that one Tamasha match in Abu Dhabi vs. Pakistan and considering the fact that he rarely has been seen “in touch” with his bat, is he bringing any worth in his slot? Seems as if Dravid is likely to remain content with him down the road and for the World Cup, knowing fully well that when he fires, India has a good chance of gathering a large total on the board, but the big question remains - if!
Why in the green earth is Dravid coming in as an opener? Granted that the batting order was shuffled during the test series against Pakistan to accomodate Sehwag on a temporary basis, but why in the world is Dravid continuing his run at the top? Has India run out of openers? As been mentioned before, why not provide the debutant Wasim Jaffer with an extended opportunity to settle down and see what he can accomplish in One-Day cricket. Robin Uthappa is also another possible prospect that can be looked upon, alongwith Sehwag. Both of them, albeit very trivial and debris in nature, can form a pair, if anything.
Irfan Pathan and Suresh Raina at #3 position? There is absolutely no need to thrust the two pinch-hitters in this position, unless the situation faithfully demands. Both of them are very much capable of steering the middle and lower-order in their own manners and fashion, and even though, during the recent test series against Pakistan, Irfan was seen as a successful promoter in #3 slot with a strike rate of almost ~83 (supportive of good batting figures), it is about time Chappell puts his experimentation aside, burn those papers in garbage, and form a proficient line-up, starting from all the way at the top. The main reason this has become so much of an experimentation, from my point of view, is the lack of a decent and specialist opener. Once that slot is filled by any of the replacements (for Dravid) mentioned above or an individual (or two) from the domestics, either Dravid himself can be dropped down to #3 slot or Yuvraj Singh can take that place, as they both are strongly capable to nudge the ball around and tick the scoreboard while blasting boundaries when needed.
Furthermore, in the manner in which Kaif had batted in the past couple of games, he seemed to be completely relying upon other batters (Yuvraj in first ODI and Sehwag in third ODI) in order to improve his own score. At least that is the way things have looked so far at this point in time, since his ‘return’. One would like to think that he is on the right track of finding his old self once again, but it might not help in the long run if things don’t change from hereon now. This dependency needs to be removed. Although things did look on the bright side today for Kaif, he managed to put up a solid partnership with Yuvraj, which encompasses my last point below -
One of the only positives we can confidently attest to, as of today’s batting performance by India, is the partnership of Yuvraj and Kaif, which, by all means, should be the main focal point in all future games. One needs to guide the other, all in all whilst sticking to the basics of the game. The successful path of accomplishing such a task is, firstly, to have two permanent openers in the team on a long-term basis, then look at your middle-order options and shuffle them around as needed. Thrusting Pathan and Raina at #3 unnecessarily puts a weight of pressure on Dhoni and Kaif to perform with the bat, who might not be on their best during that particular day. This extra layer of burden and dependency should be scraped, once and for all.
Re: A corridor of uncertainty at the top order. Has India run into a dead-end?
Sehwag and Tendulkar/Jaffer to open.
Dravid, Yuvraj
Dhoni, Phatan and Raina
Sehwag is Sehwag, you can't change him. There is a certain way he can play and that's bang bang. He is not a technical batsmen, no reliablity factor. The best he can do is smash the top bowlers of the opposing team to demoralize their plans, which is great. I think its the coach and the captain's responsibilty to address and find out the best way to use and utilize his talent. He is not going to give you 70 off 40 balls all the time so there must be some patience involved, but if given consistent opening partner, he'll eventually come through in a series.
You are right, Dravid should never ever open. Extremely dangerous to loose a batsmen of his callibare so early. Dravid is their best and most reliable player, he needs to be first down. He along with Yuvraj can give India the platform they are looking for. After that Dhoni, Phatan and Raina can chip away as many runs in the last 15-20 overs.
Good Point Dhobi Bhai.
There is no point wasting Dravid as an opener. Even if it is stop gap arrangment considering Sachin is out, it will still make sense to either send Dhoni there or try out Raina. Kaif should play up the order. Either at number 3 or 4 or he should be let go to bring in Uthappa or any other Regular opener. Dravid should be at number 3 or 4 all the time and Yuvi at number 5.
Irfan Pathan should be used at #3 only when some quick fire runs are needed. Other wise he should bat number 8 or 9.
So me either of these 2 situation should be considered
Man with a Plan Bhai, nice post.
Fair_&_Balance Bhai, even though I partially agree with your analysis to send in Uthappa as an opener (although not at the expense of Mohammad Kaif, however), I personally would rather prefer to see Dhoni in his lower-order slot with the usual role of pinch-hitting (or rotating strike, as situation demands) position, rather than at the top. It would be a complete waste of a batsman of his temperament to unnecessarily be put into a position where his services are not terribly needed. I see Dhoni as no different than both Sehwag and Uthappa at the top order. If the latter two can (consistently) stretch the run-rate as far long and wide as possible, then replacing one of them with Dhoni would be an inappropriate decision. Looking at the lower-bottom order, Irfan and Raina are particularly above-and-beyond their capability to score runs on their respective days, but that shouldn't take away Dhoni's credibility and what he can accomplish on his own. Simply for support purposes, I would personally rather see Dhoni maintain his position, but a couple of reports have started to surfaced on sending Dhoni as an opener. It is like going in with one batsmen short (that too, in a squad consisting of five bowlers).
Hence, I am in complete agreeance of your selection of situation #2.
Fair_&_Balance Bhai, even though I partially agree with your analysis to send in Uthappa as an opener (although not at the expense of Mohammad Kaif, however), I personally would rather prefer to see Dhoni in his lower-order slot with the usual role of pinch-hitting (or rotating strike, as situation demands) position, rather than at the top. It would be a complete waste of a batsman of his temperament to unnecessarily be put into a position where his services are not terribly needed. I see Dhoni as no different than both Sehwag and Uthappa at the top order. If the latter two can (consistently) stretch the run-rate as far long and wide as possible, then replacing one of them with Dhoni would be an inappropriate decision. Looking at the lower-bottom order, Irfan and Raina are particularly above-and-beyond their capability to score runs on their respective days, but that shouldn't take away Dhoni's credibility and what he can accomplish on his own. Simply for support purposes, I would personally rather see Dhoni maintain his position, but a couple of reports have started to surfaced on sending Dhoni as an opener. It is like going in with one batsmen short (that too, in a squad consisting of five bowlers).
Hence, I am in complete agreeance of your selection of situation #2.
But you cant have both Uthappa and Kaif in team unless you drop Raina. I guess thats what you are suggesting.
Dhobi bhai yaar kiya aap nay time waste kar diya mera :khi:
bhanse kay agaye been bajanaye say koi fayeda hota hai kiya, same goes for India and their opening solution, perhaps they are taking que from Pakistan problem solving skills for openers
oh haan and seriously, Dravid said in the interview after the game that all the guys were new....etc Now he knew that when they landed there and I think the sole responsibility is on the shoulder(s) of think tank (captain, coach and the techie/stats ppl) and elaborate to the team the condition of the pitch and WI itself.
Man with a plan, Sehwag is Sehwag only when he performs. He hasn't done jack ever since his idiotic "I love Pakistani bowling" comments. Baray bol ka mun kaala, thus there is a God :o .
To tell you the truth, I would rather go with one bowler/all-rounder less, including an extra specialist batsmen in the opening slot who can cement his place in the team on a long-term basis. One of the most likely candidates for this type of role could be filled by taking out Ramesh Powar (and/or Ajit Agarkar). Everyone in the team can afford to bat and bowl with some decency, and one doesn't need to fill the entire team with all-rounders while overlooking specialist individuals for specific positions. Even the likes of Dhoni can bowl, if needed be, which is rarely seen in modern day cricket and such an option does not offer much of an advantage. There should be a considerable balance between players who are skilled in their own fields rather than packing a team with all-rounders from every corner.
To reiterate, India can afford to lose a few matches here and there if and when Munaf is whacked all around the park, but I very much believe that we are bound to know his full potential after he is provided with at least a handful of chances. Going back to tried-and-tested methods is a temporary fix. If nothing else, the selectors can always include Agarkar in place of Patel, provided the latter is deemed as incompetent. But one at least has to hand him an entire series or two to test his skills. Putting him on sidelines should not be considered, in all likelihood.
May I ask who is included in the long list of "so many openers" for India?
On another note, Pakistan can also be included in the same equation, as above. The number of openers we have managed to force in the opening position, ever since the duo of Sohail/Anwar has left the scene, has simply crossed it's limits.
Good posts Dhobhi... you are more or less on dot...
Its back to Ganguly era where you continue with favorites despite failures... i.e. Sehwag and Kaif..
The innings of Kaif are more or less making scores and doing disservice to team..
Though Dhoni impressed with his application during 4th one day... he will go long way.... though Mr. Dravid and Mr. Chappel should keep exprimenting rather than stop........ if they really want to get it right.....
The slow pitches need application and creativity, it seems to be missing and Dravid's getting out on the top, seems to be messing up things big time.....
Dhobi bhai excellent post throughout asusual from you,but i have to
disagree
with you on agarkar issue, you can not deny his place
when he is in form of his life or may be carribean wicket
suits his bowling what ever may be the reason he seems to
be bowling with excellent control right at the moment.
getting to munafpatel i am sure he's gone get chance in test,
let him taste some more success there, if he is as good bowler
as u think he will eventually make in to the one days.
hey don't get me wrong i am not agarkar fan.
It is high point india stop experimenting and go with 2 specialist
openers. dravid should bat #3. may be they need to sacrifice power
given the conditions.
kaif coming to indias resque every other match is not pretty
picture he will bat for himself rather than for team,
but i don't wont to blame him given his poor form.
In subcontinental pitches you can consider pathan,
agarkar ,powar & harbajan as all rounders even agit agarkar
but not out side subcontinent. as soon as india lost top 3 wickets
it is damage control batting rather than posting decent totals, they
were just looking to bat out 50 overs.
I still think India is king on the subcontinent where their batting line up combined with flat wickets negate any weaknesses in the bowling. What they need to work on is their plan B i.e. defending totals with their bowling.
The underlying problem with India is their obsession with batting, and this results in a tendency of packing a side with batsmen and all rounders. This also screws up the batting order where players like Dravid are made to open so that extra batsmen can get in the side.
If you need to defend a total, you will need specialist bowlers to get wickets. Even on lively tracks, trundling in at 70 odd mph will not help your cause. It might get you a couple of wickets with the new ball but that doesn't necessarily result in victory.
I would have VRV Singh in the side just for the raw pace. Another concern for India is the unwillingness or reluctance to bowl at full pace. Many times even early in their spell I have seen bowlers like Patel and Sreesanth bowling well below their max speeds. It's a bad sign and Chappell should ensure they don't go the Pathan route.
I know and that’s exactly what I said, they have to realize that he is not that big of a playmaker. Majority of his records have been on dead wickets, but if India really wants to comsume his ablity they need to give him a consistent opening partner. Just like before he had Sachin with him, where he would eventually come through by finding some kind of flux.
Only if bowlers can bowl the short pitched stuff accurately to him, he would never be able to score big again. Simple as that. What’s more pathetic is that these days he is usually getting dismissed on shots that he scores so highly off.
Remember the time when Wasim use to take out Adam Gilchrist so early in the inng with a vex of humiliation. Right now he is like the most feared batsmen in the world. If Sehwag was from Wasim's era, he would have a record of ****. If Sehwag have 11 hunderds in Tests, 9 of them are in subcontinent wickets that are dead. In earlier days, bowlers would take wickets regardless of condition.
Right now there are few bowlers that are known for variety. That's is why he got his career 'extended' and he probably will have a decent career with some inngs but trust me they are not worth celebrating. The bowlers of today are either fast or just not consistent enough with their effort.
true, just look what the england bowlers did to him, bowling quality is going down..who r the best bowlers in the world rite now? mcgrath, pollock, and warne, and they all will retire in a year or so...then theyre wud be no world class bowlers left in the world, icc will have to make green tops just to make the contest evenly balanced between bat and ball.