A compliment. Positive or negative?

When I joined Wetcanvas 9 months ago, I received this compliment by a christian artist about my art.

Artist James: Maria, your paintings has a religous touch. What ever you paint sounds like religous. Even if you try to paint a vehicle or still life, it will look religous.”

I like this compliment soooooooo much that I couldnot forget it even after 9 months and its still fresh in my mind. Other people didnot like it and took it as my disrespect. What do you think?

Re: A compliment. Positive or negative?

It depends, i think he deliberately said it as religious and left out his personal tastes for it.. if ur a religious person, religion will coem across in ur artwork naturally , even if u don't intend it to.. diff ppl c diff things.. n when someone says "i don't like it" most likely it'snot coz it's bad but coz they can't identify with certain aspects of the artowrk..

Now every1 says all the guys i draw look like grls.. I dunno why :(

hmmm are you sure u were not repainting the last supper or trying to paint David. :hoonh:

Sara, I think you need some improvement as my sketches and paintings of guys look like guys and of girls look like of girls. Just do more practice and join wetcanvas......:)

Uncle, I dont interept other religions. I am Muslim, Al Hamd-u-lillah. And I also dont paint prophets........I paint portraits though.

Now I days I am illustrating stories of animals found in Quran...:)

oh mention not bhateeji :)

**James* Bhaand*

^ :smack:…are you christian, Chacho?

what made you think that ? :)

Because Artist James is christian. And his ID is Artist James........not James Bhaand.

did the guy knew u before or was he just saying it as he saw ure work the first time.

if the guy knew u before then it is somewat linked with ure life.

but if not then he might have observed something near to nature in ure art.

it's a good comment i think. ( the other ppl may be jealous) :D

So uncle Falker must be a Jew :smokin:
cause I think Falker sound sooo very archaic Hebrewish :o

He just saw my work.....he dont know me personaly. And no, others are not jealous, they are adorable and cute.........as they love me.............:)

Ab aap ko Uncle batayain gay…:slight_smile:

hey i was just kidding :p

Congratz and keep it up

Awwwwwwwww you are so cute chacho. Kash mairay real chacho bhi aap ki tarha cute hotay…:rolleyes: :slight_smile:

You have to choose :snooty:

Falker or me :mad:

:rolleyes:

It depends. If you are the one who finds criticizing every religious act and people who follow religion as having super dooper FUN, then it is an obvious disrespect in your eyes; On the contrary, if you are the one who finds satisfaction in heart from the teachings of your religion then it is a matter of Proud and Thanks to thy Lord.

offcourse its a compli ... if u r religious ...

Well said.

Chacho, is baat ka keya matlab hai?:rolleyes:

Falker is not my real chacho. Aur apnay real chachaaon ko main chord naheen sakti kiyon keh, “Fate choose our relatives, we choose our friends”:crying: