A brief introduction to the world of Quwwali

As some of you may be aware I am a fan of Quwwali music.

It is a very diverse, ancient, awe inspiring and artistic aspect not only of South Asian culture but also the culture of many nations.

It has a long an beautifull heritage and I describe the historical aspects of Quwwali in the History section with relevance to the Sub-Continent.

Speaking of the Subcontinent it seems that lately there are few if any desi folk who do not know at least something of a Quwwali be it the tune chorus or whole devotional piece.

Quwwali is a very important aspect to the culture of South Asia and it’s roots are also as diverse as the Music itself.

Not only in India or Pakistan but across the entire expanse of the Islamic world it was a very special form of devotional Music the likes of which cannot be matched anywhere.

The main styles in the Sub-continent can be broken down into two main styles. The Native ancient styles of the Sub-Continent itself which share great simmilarity with the classic Vedic Sagas and Native Ragaa’s. Then theres the outside styles that have been influenced by other cultures.

In terms of the Sub-Continent itself the art of Quwwali is very rich and it is regardless of religous views very inspiring.

The styles in India tend to reflect a more classical outlook and have changed relatively little… however the pool of styles itself has somewhat dwindled and is not anything compared to the qauntity of styles from Pakistan.

However the quality is still very good and one can still pick out the distinct style of Indian especially south Indian Quwwali, which in my opinion is first class and has a charm of it’s own.

In both India and Pakistan from humble Sufi Shrine to a Mehfil e Sammaa at a Lords Manor Quwwali can be heard almost every week.

I want to know how many of you are fellow fans of this beatifull aspect of our culture and how much you know.

Just for the record, Modern styles of Quwwali are something that I tottaly abhor and find as irritating as those who try to tell me that such activity is haraam when for centuries it has done nothing but help the cause of Islam and has helped gain more peacefull converts than any sword waving fanatics or Music haters… if anyone wishes to discuss the religous matters involved please feel free to open a thread in the relevant section and I will join you.

Suffice to say that I believe Quwwali is a great part of our heritage and we should do what we can to preserve and appreciate it.

Re: A brief introduction to the world of Quwwali

Thanks for the insightful analysis Faris bhai, I love qawwali, and the coded message it delivers right inside the heart. The music and lyrics in devotional songs rarely engage the intellect, it's audience is the soul and the heart.

Well said :lajawab:

There are so many distinct styles of Quwwali and even the Turkic and Persian styles are of great power… the various Sufi orders are most noted for this styles.

I will post some videos soon Insha Allah just sorting through them at the moment.

:konfused: South Indian Quwwali ? Do you mean from Hyderabad ?

Yes theres Hyderabad and other places including some West Coastal enclaves which have a distinct style or leh.

Some of my favourite Quwwals are from South India. :slight_smile:

North Indian Quwwali styles are not that different from the styles in Pakistan afterall many Delhi Quwwals left India for Pakistan. :jhanda:

However Southern India still has a unique and rich Quwwali tradition which is hard to find anywhere else. :lajawab:

humein tou loot liya mil ke husn waloonge*tali*

goray goray galoon ne*tali*
kale kale baloonge *tali *

^ Adab Adab! :smash:

That is not a Quwwali it is a song. :slight_smile:

:hmmm: i posted in this thread

where is my post gone :konfused:

Waleed bhai you posted in the Historical section this is the culture section but feel free to share your favourites with us as you have a very nice and distinct taste in true Quwwali on this section.

I opened a historical thread to talk about the History of Quwwali and a section in Culture to show what Quwwali's are to us personally and how they shape our culture. :)

Maybe if you guys think appropriate I can merge them to make it better for you... or if you think separetly they are better then they will be separate. :)