A bit of a silly question

I just wanted to quickly ask whether smelling something causes the fast to break? I had a quick smell of myself to make sure I smelled ok - has my fast broken?

Re: A bit of a silly question

lol. i dont think so.

No itna kecha nei hota

you heard right. but its not like you are passing by and smell something and then you loose your fast. Its, if intentionally you smell something, like eg, if you go in the kitchen and see there some food and it appeals you and you pick up the plate, take it to your nose and INHALE the smell in sense of thinking 'wow kitne mazay ka hay' so yeah, I have also heard ke iss se bhi roza toot jata hay!!

Hmmm…

I found this:

If one is fasting and perfumes oneself and accidentally inhales some of the perfume, will it br.

It talks about a smell having a perceptible body, like smoke which would invalidate the fast. How do we know if something is perceptible? Is it something we can see of the scent?

If people around you are dropping down like flies, I'd say if nothing else, you've broken their fast! :)

^:cb:

I dontg know about perfume/ body etc. I just shared what I knew :@:

Peace Disney Princess,

**Actions That Void The Fast

1. Intentional eating or drinking.
  2. Intentional vomiting.
  3. The menses and post child birth bleeding.
  4. Sexual intercourse.
  5. Deliberate eating or drinking during fasting hours.
  6. If anything enters the body through the nose or mouth; this includes smoking or sniffing any powdered substance.
  7. Having any conjugal relations during fasting hours.
  8. Unintentional eating or drinking due to forgetfulness or rinsing out the mouth or bathing do not make the fast invalid.
  9. A Muslim is expected to remain away from all bad actions during his fast. He should not tell a lie, break a promise or do any deceitful act.
  10. Fasting is not allowed during menstruation of women. They are required to make up the days lost during this period at some other time.

It is permissible to use all kinds of perfume while fasting except bukhoor (incense) for it is better to avoid it.

Read more:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-and-scripture/441926-ramadhan-al-kareem-the-blessed-month-2.html
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-and-scripture/512582-a-brief-summary-of-the-rules-of-fasting-2.html

Are you serious? I doubt about it. Islam itna strict thori hai

Lol, luckily I didn't smell. :p

I think the general consensus is that the fast is not invalid if you smell something, provided it's not smoke.

Queen_24 and TLK - I've heard the same about food which is why I was unsure.
LK - Thanks for the links - nothing is mentioned about smelling yourself or perfume, so I'm guessing it's all good. :)

No thanx :)