a beautiful piece of Islamic history

:salam:

subhanallah,this was something really beautiful that i found out recently…

after Hz Umer(RA)'s demise, when there was a confusion whether Hz Usman (RA) or Hz Ali (RA) would be made the next caliph…there was voting done between the two…

Hz Usman (RA) gave his vote to Hz Ali (RA) and Hz Ali (RA) gave his vote to Hz Usman (RA)

this was the spirit of selflessness, trust and loyalty among the sahaba,

Re: a beautiful piece of Islamic history

*Originally posted by irem: *
this was the spirit of selflessness, trust and loyalty among the sahaba,,,

Could you care to post a reference? May be there is ONE case like that.

Shibli Nomani in his book "Al Farooq" describes the scene after the death of the Messenger. It didn't look any different than the political campaign between Nawaz Sharif, BB, and MAToo Mullahs.

Mr. Nomani tells how the followers of Abu Bakar and Ali fought tooth and nail and how Umar used his sword to make a decision.

Murder of Usman while Hussan was standing guard is at best questionable. Cutting the throat of noble Khalifa while the poor fellow read Quran. It was pretty gruesome even in those times.

The war between Aysha and Ali is something that didn't show the tolerance between Sahaba the way you paint it.

The bottom line is we can't get much about "vote" from the tribal system of 1400 years ago. Peaceful transitions in power were pretty difficult in those days.

p.s. I realize that M is lurking somewhere waiting for a reference.

p.p.s Nasim Hijazi is not a good source of history.

hmmm, my dad was telling me the story orally so I don't have a source unfortunately :S

anyways...as for the events you've described...you can choose to see the glass either half empty of half full...thats upto u...

but the way i see it, a lot of the discord was created by third parties...

"The war between Hz Aysha (RA) and Hz Ali (RA) " :there were many twists involved in this...for example when Hz Ayesha (RA) camped at a place on the way to Hz Ali (RA) she was deceived by her commanders...and after the war Hz Ali (RA) let Hz Ayesha (RA) go respectfully and safely...

so there are many positive things to look at too...

p.s. btw, what is "MAToo" :-)

Re: Re: a beautiful piece of Islamic history

Oh auntiobl :kiss:

Yes, Yes Im still waiting for references from you in two other posts, have we forgotten them already?

Anyway I dont need references from irem for this, since I have read the same from a number of sources and believe it to be true. Including * as-Suyuti’s - Tahrik al Khulafah Rashideen*.

:slight_smile:

p.s. btw, what is "MAToo" :-)

If you dont know what it means that you don't deserve to know.
Thats what madhanee told me earlier in the day :D

antibol no offence but your posts are always the same "MAToo Mullahs" get a life.

Re: a beautiful piece of Islamic history

It would be good if someone can come up with the reference, which hadith is this from?

Re: Re: a beautiful piece of Islamic history

*Originally posted by little human: *

It would be good if someone can come up with the reference, which hadith is this from?

LH, M has provided a reference, jazakallah M

*Originally posted by M: *

Anyway I dont need references from irem for this, since I have read the same from a number of sources and believe it to be true. Including * as-Suyuti's - Tahrik al Khulafah Rashideen*.

I'mKoool ic lol :D

Re: Re: Re: a beautiful piece of Islamic history

*Originally posted by M: *
....Yes, Yes Im still waiting for references from you in two other posts, have we forgotten them already?

These MnM's ask for references and then go to the mods crying uncle uncle. The MnM MAToo supporters make so much noise that mods have to oblige them by "eradicating" those "offending" threads.

I know the MnM MAToos need to be spoon-fed. If the thread comes back I'll post all the references.

Now kick some MAToo terrorists A$$

....anyways...as for the events you've described...you can choose to see the glass either half empty of half full...thats upto u...

Oh I see the glass full for sure. Only in this case not just the glass but the whole jug is filled with tribal rivalries, blood, and Biddu gore.

....my dad was telling me the story orally so I don't have a source unfortunately.......

Oral histories are great. I loved them listening from my elders (first my great grandfather, and then grand parents from both sides)

Then one fine day you graduate from high school and start learning at your own. The Shibli, Moe-doodi, the novels of Nasim Hijazi, the Quran, the Hadees, everything you can find in your family library and beyond. Then you realize that oral stories don't give the whole picture. They are simply bits and pieces of a romantic world

......but the way i see it, a lot of the discord was created by third parties...

"The war between Hz Aysha (RA) and Hz Ali (RA) " :there were many twists involved in this........

Third parties? Hahaha! Blame it on the minority Christians and Jews. Easiest cop out for the infirm mind!

We ought to learn truthfulness, trustworthiness, and tolerance from the life of Messenger. After that we apply these golden principles to 21st century. Going back 1400 years Arabia will simply give us tribal feuds and bloody warfare.

Pakistanis have to evolve their own political and economic system based on the current standards.

Re: Re: Re: Re: a beautiful piece of Islamic history

:hehe: Making accusations without any proof?

Ive never once contacted the admin/mods of the religion forum or asked a thread to be removed. I was actually waiting for your reference. Maybe you can ask them to bring it back?

And anyway since youve started a similar topic
Bible and Muslims , and Ive again asked for some refernce for what you’ve claimed then maybe you can provide it there. If you have any?

Half your arguments involve ‘MAToos’, look beyond that and youve got nothing much else to say or back up any of your claims.

Until then Sufi saab, have a nice day :slight_smile:

Merey khayaaal main... agay paani kaafi gehra hai. Dubki nahi lagani chaheye.