i know this one individual, around 68 years old, still working, from Poland. i think he’s Jewish. He is one of the most intellectually-gifted people i have ever met. His mind is razor-sharp, his intellect and grasp on information/knowledge is breath-takingly precise, moreso than from people less than half his age. He is, technically speaking, one of those ‘geniuses’ you read about in the papers, but you wonder if they actually do exist in real life. He reminds me of that Russell Crowe (?) character from that movie, “A beautiful mind”.
It was a surprise to me, therefore, to find out that he has lived his life mostly alone - never married, very very very limited circle of acquaintances/friends; outside of work, he is extremely private and reclusive. The word ‘hermit’ comes to one’s mind. A person as intellectually gifted as that - why do individuals like him become reclusive in life? Is it due to their mental capabilities that they aren’t able to find someone on the same mental par as themselves? i don’t know why, i just find it kind of sad, extremely sad actually - he’s got to be easily a very gifted individual, but when it comes to the public life, he is extremely reclusive and withdrawn. Why?
It’s kind of sad… i don’t know. :~( People like him should be enjoying their lives, should socialize to a comfortable extent… why do people withdraw into themselves when they have, intellectually, so much to offer the rest of the world?
Maybe that’s his own way of dealing with the environment around him. But it’s just kindof sad - that a person who is so intellectually gifted by God’s Grace, would deliberately choose to lead such a ‘lonely’ life. Or maybe his books are his best friends… i dunno.
Ok first of all I havent seen the movie.But anyway I think sometimes people such as him cant stand to be around people ,because maybe they feel they dont need others.I dont think this is such a bad thing, although you're right.... society could benefit a lot from such people.
I dont know why but sometimes people in our society (or any other) tend to be so pathetic. They'll argue over petty issues, and such.So people like the guy you're talking about would rather avoid the rest of the world.Life is so full of shallow people who worry about stupid issues.Maybe this guy is tired of that.
His mind is razor-sharp, his intellect and grasp on information/knowledge is breath-takingly precise, moreso than from people less than half his age. He is, technically speaking, one of those 'geniuses'
that reminds me of a guppy aswell :D
he has an anwser or a question for all(most) all my questions :p
respect everytime I see him :)
BTW loved a beautifull mind, one of my fav movies :)
besides that Nadia, everyone should enjoy his/her life, not just some one who has something more or better or less then others. All humans have equal rights.
On average some peeple, who have a wayyy higher IQ tend to be less socially skilled.
If you check the defenition of the word 'NERD' its NOT someone whose lookibg dorky or something, but some one has a higher IQ then average, and lacks social skills and has problems bonding. This is out of their control.
ok this has nothing to do with ur topic, but i dont care
ur such a cutie Nadz ur threads arent boring at all!! very insightful and meaningful :k:
i would post a reply to all ur topics, but i aint smart enuff to do so… hehe
in regards to ur topic.. i think some peopel just dont need to be around others or dont need to communicate to enjoy life.. they’re happy to be on their own or with limited contact with human race
it may seem sad to us, but for them its just life.. the way they want to live it
Sadzzz, You rock Thanks yaar… ahem, i was just feeling a bit down - as though pata nahin i am some old boring fuddy duddy around here whom everyone tries to avoid cuz i write about stupid things :halo: Chalo khair, that may still be the case but 'least i got you and a few other good friends to reply to my moronic threads
By the way, thanks so much yaar… i appreciate that.
MQ, Thanks soooooo much. You’re so kind.
Prex, It’s a very interesting movie isn’t it. i enjoyed it thoroughly as well, but i don’t think i would watch it again. It’s just too sad.
>>On average some peeple, who have a wayyy higher IQ tend to be less socially skilled.<<
i have noticed that as well.
>>i think some peopel just dont need to be around others or dont need to communicate to enjoy life.. they’re happy to be on their own or with limited contact with human race<<
Yeah you know what… i don’t blame him one iota. This world is so full of stupidities, injustices, racism, blah blah blah… as a child he’s seen the end of WWI and all of WWII, lived in Poland during Hitler’s reign, he’s lived through all the Nazi-inflicted injustices, been through the Vietnam war, no wonder he is so reclusive. For him, the world must seem to be spiralling into chaos. Why bother to associate with people when the majority of individuals must seem so unjust to begin with. Jaise ji raha hai, i think it’s the best way for him.
hehehe so now i get it u cheeky thing.. it was just a way to get us to reply hmmm :)
yeah, i think there are a lot of people out there like that. He's prob an extreme case. But, I see so many people like that here as well... not to the same degree.. but people who say they can survive without others.. all they need is their own family... and thats it..
its often the other way around.i for instance have met quite a few very intelligent people, and have never found a genius in my life.
the 'genuisery' that a lot of people display is their ability to learn,grasp and apply more than others and this ability is helped by a lack of skills in other avenues.
a hell many amazing artists also have poor social skills.
which means that superior intellects are 'produced' by poor social skills etc.this is pretty much what Praete is saying, the only thing i wanna add is that geniuses don't exist, a lot of it is plain learning and the need to succeed somewhere and this is abnormally helped by bad social skills.
nadz why do u think he has a beautiful mind? share more about him… ?
aur yaar, i often feel, Islam has challenged us by telling us to balance deen and duniya…jus the other day i was thinking, how easy it would be if we could retire to a mountain peak and live alone…we wont commit half the sins like lying, jealousy, backbiting etc if we dint have to interact
to be in the thick of things and be a good person still, thats admirable i reckon…otherwise its escapism dontcha think yaar?
like u i also saw some folks like that in college too…so nice and so kind…and truly intelligent and knowledgeable..but loners…hmmm…i wonder why its like this?
Degas, i’m afraid i don’t see any link, that has nothing whatsoever to do with this thread. If i want to discuss my personal issues, i’ll open a thread with the title “Let’s discuss my personal issues”. Otherwise, i’d like to keep that out of discussion. Besides my parents, i don’t think anyone around here has any right whatsoever to make any comments about that.
Ghulail, Interesting comments. Thank you.
Irem, >>why do u think he has a beautiful mind? share more about him… ?<<
It’s his intellect, the breadth of his knowledge, the pattern by which he links different issues and then explains that context and pattern. His mind works so fast, he can think faster than he can articulate it. It’s weird…i can’t explain it unless you listen to him. Maybe as Ghulail stated, he was very hard working when he was younger; i’m sure he must have been! He breathes, lives, and eats books. You know at his age people are usually planning (if not actually living out) their retirement, but he’s planning on publishing a book next year which is almost completed. i don’t know how many books he’s written. All he does is live in his world of books and academia. i wonder if he ever feels lonely? But then i don’t think so…he has found solace amongst his books.
You know what, Irem, i think that approach works for him…who is to say that by socializing with others, he would have been any happier? Maybe not, eh… sirf Allah jaanta hai.