8 Jobs in which women make more than men

My first ever thread in the science forum as the science mod and I’m going to take the piss out of men! :smokin:

I have bookmarked this report on women’s earnings (released in June) by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, so I can rub it on every guy’s face just because it lists 8 occupations where women make more than men!

And guess what’s at number 1: Science Technicians :smooth:

Women earn an average of $740 per week, whereas men earn an average of $723 per week in the science sector. :roman: Boo’yah!!! That just goes to show women are smarter when it comes to science.

You can check the rest of the occupations here: 8 Jobs In Which Women Make MORE Than Men (PHOTOS) | HuffPost Impact

Re: 8 Jobs in which women make more than men

^ a smiley is just not good enough, ur supposed to say bad things about men! :mad:

did you see the quality of those jobs? For most of the part, I find the listing offensive for women than anything

meh :bummer: true that. Its still a man’s world.

Well ladies, another reason for you to start embracing science and technology instead of fashion & beauty! :emmy:

I agree. What's really sad is that women likely make more money in these jobs merely because they're overrepresented in these jobs relative to men - so it's a skewed result.

well this thread just backfired :grumpy: men are still retarded and women are still smarter though! :snooty:

Yes yes, men are retard enough never to qualify for a school cafeteria worker .. :hehe:

I am joking :smiley:

On a serious note, I believe women are under-represented in the science sector. I observed this when I was on my internship and we, female colleagues and I, even had a discussion on this topic one day. There weren't many female heads of departments/directors in the company I worked for and the largest number of female workers was in the QA/QC department... departments that don't involve much physical labour... there were hardly any female workers out on the manufacturing plants or in the engineering departments... I'd like to think we're moving forwards and InshaAllah we'll have a balanced work environment in all sectors in the future.

The under-representation of women in science and technology fields is a very uniquely western thing. For example, it is more common to find female physicians in Eastern regions such as Pakistan and more acceptable, than say in US. It is very evident by this simple riddle:

A man and his son were in a car crash. The father died, but the son was critically injured and rushed to hospital. When he reached the operating table, the doctor on duty looked at him and said "Oh god, it's my son!!!" How can this be?

Ask this question in US, and the response will be a confused look, when the answer is the physician is his mom. Similarly, you'll find a lot more scientists in Russia than in the US, because the prevalent idea is that women should be home-makers or just trophy wives. A study or survey like this should be cross-referenced across cultures and countries to get the right perspective.

By the way, I am not saying that there isn't a glass ceiling in some socieitis. It's present everywhere.

Till now, its very uncommon to find a male nurse in pakistani hospitals,

Isn’t the medical field more balanced now though? :hmmm: Even in Pakistan, one of the most common career paths that women take is medicine.

I was thinking more on the side of science/engineering/IT… let me see if I can find some good surveys.

One of the main reason why you will find more women in medicine in pakistan because you will find more women in medical colleges in Pakistan. They are good studnets and high graders and get admission in the medical colleges at higher numbers than guys. Thank god we dont have gender based quota system in medical colleges in Pakistan.

This is the most recent survery I can find and this article detailing the survey’s findings was only published today.

A survey conducted by AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science) and *Science *at the request of L’Oréal USA suggests that “gender still matters with regard to women being able to be successful and to move ahead in science.”

Among the report’s central conclusions:

• Currently, more women are obtaining doctoral degrees than men but the bad news is that they’re less likely to enter and remain in scientific careers. ( :frowning: no fair) Beyond the doctoral level, the ratio of women to men starts to dip below one.

• Women represented only about 11% of all full-time faculty researchers in engineering and less than one-fourth of those in computer sciences.

• Only about 3% of computer scientists in the country are female and African American, only about 3% are female and Asian, and only 1% are female and Latino.

• Some 98% of all women who responded reported that they know a female colleague who has left the science field because she encountered barriers to her professional success. Balancing life and career and having/raising children were cited as the top two reasons why female colleagues left their science careers. Female respondents cited gender biases as the reason why female colleagues left the field almost twice as frequently as male colleagues (47% of females versus 24% of males).

• 61% of female respondents said that they had personally struggled to balance life and career. More than half of female respondents (52%) reported experiencing gender bias, and half (50%) cited challenges with child care support as a major barrier for individuals working in the science field. More than one-third (34%) of female respondents said that they had encountered limited access to mentors. Elder care was nominated as a barrier by 22% of women and 12% of men.

• The survey suggested that male and female scientists agree that the three most significant barriers include access to grants/funding, scarcity of job openings, and balancing life and career. But female scientists reported struggling with gender bias at work. When asked to rank 11 barriers to achieving their career goals, female respondents ranked gender-based barriers fourth, compared to male respondents who ranked gender bias ninth out of 11 total barriers. More than half of female scientists (52%) have experienced gender bias.

• About three-fourths of all respondents (74%) said they had sacrificed their personal goals to achieve professional goals. Female respondents were less likely to be married or in a long-term relationship than men (78% of females versus 91% of males). Female respondents were much less likely to have children than their male counterparts (53% of females versus 77% of males).

• Female respondents were also much more inclined to believe that government and corporations should play a role in breaking barriers that hinder women. Nearly two-thirds of women (64%) think government should play a role; less than half of men (45%) agree. The numbers were almost identical when respondents were asked whether corporations should play such a role.

• Future outlook: Despite the barriers, a large majority of survey respondents (81% of men, 72% of women) would recommend a science career to others, signifying that the rewards of that career choice outweigh the challenges and that science is a worthwhile and fulfilling path for both men and women.

You can read the rest of the article here: National Survey Conducted by AAAS and Science Confirms Continuing Obstacles to Women in Science | American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

I was scrolling down JUST to say that.

:no:

I was scrolling down JUST to say that.

:no:

I am suing Barbie for blatant sexism :mad:

I was listening to the radio radio, they did a study in USA of years from 2002 to 2007 (the did not include years after 2007 because of recession hit) and found out that median salary of female managers was 52 K while of male managers 75 K

AGREE WITH U CHACHA :omg: I cannot believe they are actually feeling Proud :omg:

Shak: Go back to Fashion & Beauty :barbie: (bhehe I’m not letting it go dude)

TLK bhai: This is just not done! :nahi: Managers of what though? I can expect such a huge variation in salaries based on genders in areas like the retail sector… but going back to the company I worked for, they had standard salary packages for everyone regardless of their gender.. :hmmm: plus, the salary was increased by the same percentage for everyone each year.

Clad: Chup karo tum :mad: mard hote he bleep hain!