Re: 5th ODI: India v Pakistan at Jaipur - Nov 18, 2007
that is Dhoni’z ishthyle ![]()
Us me to jin lag rahe ho.
Chalo ji jan chuti....
Good Sada pak jeeta ...Aur bharat series ...
Aisa laga na hum sab ne mil kar match dekha hai:)
Maza aaya!
Good performance by Pakistan today. Finally Malik decided to take a more prominent role with the ball. He should bowl more often. Sohail Tanveer has bowled reasonably well in this series and should be more of a permanent fixture in one day side.
If Pakistan wants to be contender they have to drop Afridi and not worry about it.
Similarly it is time Ganguly retired gracefully. Sehwag is neither bad nor good at the moment. Sreesanth and Irfan Pathan should be given preference. Donno how long Harbhajan and Kumble can be spinners. New ones have to be developed
*If Pakistan wants to be contender they have to drop Afridi and not worry about it. *
What are you talking about buddy? Do you know who Afridi is??? If he's fit and alive, he'll play for us and abuse the Indian bowlers. Yes you are right we don't need Afridi to win but he just speeds up the process..
^ He strikes so rarely that most of the time he only helps the opposite team. If you are satisfied with mediocre team performance with rare and occasional reult, sure.
I am glad that the series is over and it is safe to safe to say that the Indian team was the better team between two. I did not watch any match due to my self-imposed ban in view of situation back home but based on cricinfo articles, Pakistani team lacked its typical flair and aggressiveness.
As far as this match is concerned, let me say that India actually fielded a very strong batting lineup. It is one thing to say that India rested four of its main players but in reality the nucleus of India team remained intact. Had India rested any two players of gambhir, yuvraj, dhoni, tendulkar or pathan, only then I would have considered Indian team playing without its real match winners. To be fair, the only match winner player that India rested was harbhajan who has proven its worth in last few matches. On the contrary, Pakistan rested one of it best batsman of the series, younis khan, one of its best bowlers of the series, shoaib and one of its best all-rounders, Afridi. As a matter of fact, Pakistani bowling was only consisted of three full time bowlers and two totally part time bowlers whereas India batting lineup went as far as number 9. In essence, it is fair to say that both teams were under strength and hence leveraged each other perfectly.
As far us yuvraj’s dismissal is concerned, it is part of the game. In last few matches, few decisions went against Pakistani players on crucial occasions but I won’t use them as an excuse for Pakistani defeats because fact of the matter is that Pakistan was always trying to catch up with India in those matches. Same analogy applies to this match. India was never in control and was always trying to catch up with Pakistan. Some Indian posters on this forum are unfairly attributing Indian defeat to bad umpiring. The fact of the matter is that Indian batsmen really struggled on a relatively bouncy pitch. Here is what cricinfo has to say:
“Yuvraj struggled horribly early on, getting off the mark from the 11th ball he faced, a fortuitous inside edge for four. His timing was awry, and when Anjum thumped him on the helmet with a well-directed short ball, it exemplified India's travails”
and here is something for the pak team, again from cricinfo:
"India today looked to be out of place, whereas Pakistan's energy levels were hitting the roof. But my question to them [Pakistan] is - where was this attitude and aggression when it was needed the most in the last game?"
]
Great night, everyone. Loved reading the thread. Boyz played well. ![]()
Cricbuzz: Pakistan end series with consolidation win
I always thought such win was “consolation” win ![]()
It’s just a typo, dont worry ![]()