5 years ago...

Inspired by a blog I’ve read somewhere on the web…that was only about programmers/ developers… like what we were coding 5 years ago.

sometimes its nice to look back at what we were doing, a certain period of time ago, and try to figure out whether we need to turn around, keep going, take a break, bring some change or what? this time its not about programming or something specific, lets look back at our lives generally 5 years ago…i’ll start myself.

When I look back, in the start of the year 2002 I find myself deciding whether to take one more year of my BCS course to make it BS and completing required credit hours or not. Was employed by a software development firm in Karachi, and was working on first of its kind project, an instant messenger which could let us communicate in Urdu and English in a single window the IM-way. Back then, used to work mostly in VB and ASP.

in the start, i was having a very hard time due to some relations…ALHAMDULILLAH the friends i had (and I still have), helped me find my way out. They proved not only to be friends, but teachers, guardians, supporters, critics (in a good way) and what not. In healing the wrath of time, the biggest part was of my parents of course. Things changed, I see myself being attracted more towards religion – than I ever was, and calmed.

Used to spend a loooong time roaming in PAF museum, walking with railroad tracks, reading books, articles on web and yes the good old msn : ) Joined gupshup again.

Today, living with a very helpful and caring person – my wife, i hope to keep moving in the same direction, with a little more dominance of Islam, INSHA ALLAH.

Where were you 5 years ago? Where are u today? Where u want to be next?

Being in café its of course going to be flooded, but along with flooding, lets plz just post a few on-topic replies too : )

waves

Re: 5 years ago…

5 years ago… hmmm..

I graduated exactly in this month :slight_smile:

9/11 had just happened in the final semester… and the whole IT industry went down… Job market was zero for a person like me…

I tried changing the profession from Programmar to Network Administrator then from Hardware Sales Rep to Desktop software and network support…

finally, I have somewhat a decent profession as a Storage Area Network Administrator .. working on Fiber attached Storage Solutions… A job well paid and a job above the scale of Network Security…

I do not know what future holds for me but I know one thing that I have come a long way

Looking back in time now I realize that life has taken many sharp and blind turns and at times I felt some of them were U-turns as well… but good thing is that I never faced a red light… sometimes, I did cross a yellow light :cb: but that’s that… I dodged the cop on every such light:barbie: …
or better, Allah protected me all this time :slight_smile:

It amazes me how time flew… slowly and gradually, things did happen when I thought there was nothing more in life… Life goes on!

5 yrs ago…

Feb 7, 2002 :hmmm:

Working hard for my GCSE :bummer:

Re: 5 years ago...

i hated where i moved to. i hated the people, the school, the teachers, the dumb courses i was taking. i totally missed my old friends. i had a pretty good idea where i wanted to go after graduating from highschool.

now, i love where i live. i made tons of friends, and got used to the lifestyle here. learned a few lessons here and there. reinvented myself a few times. now, i don't know where i am going after graduating university. so no idea where i will be in 5 more years. old most likely.

ehen seems like there is U and an upside down U going on right now.

feb2002 ? i had started second college of my life, switched/ended all previous friendships, put love life to a slow gear, started giving more times to friends, Qrius baji was getting married, was working a lot of hours at the place where i'm now fulltime, to afford the trips.. had my own rishta somewhere in the pipeline in karachi, was worrying about that, was making very low income and not-so-respected field (by desis) ..

was learning java scripting, lil bit of vb, asp was taking its shape in the pws enivornments, .net wasnt visible those days, was concentrating more on the securing info sector of the networking.. gym/healthy stuff was nowhere to be scene, and not knowingly i was getting caught in the physical and mental complexities of the body..

sighz yeah that was 5 years ago :-) have a 2 or 3 month memory gap.. but have nothing against the past, feels million years ago though :-)

5 yrs ago…
at this date I was chakar kaating apni university ke paaglon ki tarha.. Kionke after a week I was about to get married :blush: and my thesis viva date was the same as my walima date :smilestar:
The supervisor wasnt agreeing on changing the date, saying you can come to the university in the morning of your walima… :rolleyes:

Yeh haal hai in jaahilon ke :hoonh: kehnay ko PHD thay :emmy:

But at the end I managed to get them to change the date.. :hayaa:

The bottom line is.. Five yrs ago, my life changed completely :blush:
not because of my thesis :smack:

Paanch Saal pehlay yeh Naa-Cheez, Saudi Arabia main huwa karta tha… aur guzishta 2 saaloun say yahan Dubai main houn… Irada tou yehi hey kay bus yeh saal (2007) yahan aakhri saal ho aur uss kay baad apney WATAN wapas lout jain aur wahin kuch kaam-shaam karain… Aagay jo ALLAH :swt: ki marzi

Issi ummeed par hain kay hamara Aaj aur aaney wala Kal hamaray guzrey huway Kal aur Aaj sey behtar ho - dounou jahanou k liya… :blush:

:k: Dubai Dubai hey aur Dubai kay Guppies ki kia baat hey… :k: :lajawab:

same location in AZ taking care of little Zafeerah and enjoying life:blush: :clown:

5 years ago …7th feb 2002,was getting ready to join AIMC, was damn excited,the feeling of being able to get through a medical institution was so great,but dint realize k itnaaaaaaaaaaaaaa perhna perey ga lol:smack:
had a get together of all my friends back there in pind,oh i miss them :hugz:
anyhow 5 years seems to pass in an eye blink n now being a year behind becuming a doctor gives so different but hell of a responsibitliy kinda feeling
in these five years hav experienced so much woooooooooooooow thhat lol i cud never ever hav thought of

beri ho gyi hu:chai:
:cb:

pata hi nahiin chala 5saal kaise guzar gaye

5 Years ago.. I was working my arse off to maintain a balance between my studies and work..

Today working as Senior Commissioning Engineer for an Engineering company and also running my own consultancy... get paid really WELL.

DOn't know what future holds for me, but one thing is for sure, that it would be better then today...Insha Allah

i was working as System Engineer in Motorola Semiconductors ( Hong Kong )

and now bk 2 study … completing my CCNA and CCNP :bummer:

very nice topic Aceones : )

five years ago aaaaaaaaah u just hit the right point which make twiist in my life..

i graduated in sep 2002 n Then i found my Aim of life ..and choosed best line for my life n after words

when every any one ll ask to me ..if u got chance to re start ur life then from wheres u want to start? ...i must say from 2002 or 1424 hijjra : )

**Feb 2002 - seems like a long time ago!! I was performing Hajj. Although when I look back to that particular time, it seems like yesterday. The memories are so refreshing and powerful.

Feb 2002 was a good time in my life. I had accepted a job offer for when I completed university in June that year, and I was just finishing off my final courses at university and preparing for my finals - in subjects that I liked and was good at and was sure that I would have no trouble doing them.

There was a LOT of hanging out with good friends happening... good times.

:bummer: i honestly can’t remember that far back.

Feb 2002 - my life, my perfect world had just shattered (first pregnancy miscarried on New Years Day 2002) and I was still recovering...............
My mum was in India (for first time since she came to the UK at the age of 8) and I was stressing about my sister being with this gorah......
I was also preparing to host Eid for the first time since having got married 6 months before

Now, I am at a better stage in my life than I have been for quite some time, Shukr to Allah and am now looking to head to career success, life success yet again Insha allah

excellant thread

5 years ago

I was in my first year of my worldly education, entered into 8th grade. My first class was ESL (English Second language). On the first day I was cursed by couple of students :grumpy:. I knew at that time I have to work hard to make way out from there. Went through all the obstacles, and didn’t do too good in my first semester. Second semester was little better.

My father and brother were looking for a job but only thing was offer is to sell beer and wine. My father and brother rejected to do any thing which “zameer” wouldn’t allow them to do. Finally begins with our own business. We all work hard and got established.

Move to the next level, 9th grade, until 10th grade I stayed honor roll student. Only academic but also in sports I proof myself. These were first accomplishments towards my goal and felt a lot better than first year I started. Graduate two years early from high school and shut mouth of a lot of people who always look down on me, because I did not have any worldly education before. :mocking:

First year of college wasn’t good either, but in last two years I earned my honor roll status back. I am happy and ALLHAMDOLIAH, ALLAH has blessed me with everything, there is nothing I can ask for:rose:. INSHALLAH will be graduating in 2008 summer and getting married. Learn a lot in these five years, I’m completely changed.

:slight_smile:

Insan, you’re engaged? :eek:

Mubarak hoooooo :balley::hugz:

Ok for me5 years ago…February 2002…

only thing that I remember is that I HATED the idea of getting married nad having kids before 30. :hehe: oh yeah..i was taking drivers ed…thinking if I got my license, i’d get lots of freedom, go here and there and wherever I wanted…thinking that after high school, i’d move out, and live in a dorm..

yeah i was very delusional then :halo:

cant remember that for back, i was working for CASGC, dont remember the past 8 - 9 years.