5 Questions

I saw this on a book blog and was really amazed by the vaiety of answers. Thought to see what my GS biblios think.
Have at it.
@Muzna
@khatti
@muqa

And anyone else that I missed.

WHAT BOOK DID EVERYONE LIKE AND YOU HATED?
BOOK/S THAT PUT YOU IN A RIDICULOUS READING SLUMP? (and why)
NAME A BOOK YOU WISH MORE PEOPLE KNEW ABOUT
NAME A BOOK/S YOU WISH TURNED INTO A MOVIE
FAVORITE BOOKTUBER/S

Re: 5 Questions

Done.

What about you?

You’ve given me atleast three books that I want to read. Did you know I was initially named after Qurat-ain haider.. my dad’s name is Haider so my mom wanted Qurat-ul-ain. My dada g changed it two weeks after. He named me after his brightest student. ha!!

okay so yeh.

WHAT BOOK DID EVERYONE LIKE AND YOU HATED?
The Alchemist. I just can’t connect. I’ve read it twice.

BOOK/S THAT PUT YOU IN A RIDICULOUS READING SLUMP? (and why)
Dracula and Wuthering Heights, mainly because I couldn’t find anything as good to follow up. These are truly my all time favorites.

NAME A BOOK YOU WISH MORE PEOPLE KNEW ABOUT
The End of Your Life Bookclub by Will Shwalbe. A son talking about his mother who lost her battle to cancer. He spoke about her as a mother, professional and a humanitarian. Not only did I learn tons of lessons but I thought it was a beautiful ode to a loved one.

NAME A BOOK/S YOU WISH TURNED INTO A MOVIE
Pir E Kamil with Sheheryar Munawar as Salil

FAVORITE BOOKTUBER/S
The Modern Miss Darcy - Modern Mrs. Darcy | redefining the accomplished woman

Salil? You mean Salar?

I don't think that they would ever turn Pir e Kamil into a movie, and its better it is not done considering the controversial topic and fundamental spree in our part of the world. Otherwise, I really liked the novel, when I read it first time.

Haan Salar - good god I can’t remember names for the life of me.

Yes, the context may not go over well. But the question was, what do you WISH!

1. Alipur ka Eili by Mumtaz Mufti (I hope muqqawwee is not going to beat me for that)
  2. Definitely Wuthering Hieghts
  3. Jesus of Nazareth
  4. Agree with Muqqawwee on Raja Gidh.

yes, its a wish that I named ‘Raja Gidh’. It can not be dramatised or turned into movie, till a substantial editing of the novel is performed, which will obviously take soul of the story.

Another such novel is ‘Na junoon raha na pari rahi’ by Zahida Hina (it has been translated into English as well). Its story of a Muslim girl from India, who traveled to Pakistan just after partition in search of her fiance, but couldn’t find them (actually, they knowingly ignored her and advertisement published in newspapers). She had to take refuge of a Parsi family and at the end of the novel, it is disclosed that son of the Parsi couple was interested in the girl. The novel is beautiful depiction of Parsi traditions and history, but I don’t think it can be turned into a movie at least in Pakistan. India can, but they are totally behind commercial crap like coming ‘Dil wale’ :bummer:

PS: Na Junoon Raha na Pari rahi was translated as ‘All Passions spent’.

Alipur ka Eili..... I didn't read it completely, as I get a copy from library of State Bank and my friend (whose uncle was an employee there and on his name the books were issued) insisted to return that shortly. So, I had to leave that and somehow while going through the first chapters and mufti ji's phrase (dil malish karne laga), I never dared to take that book again. Though I heard lots of reviews about the infamous characters and character assassination of his father by mufti ji.

Muqa - you do know you ruined 'Na junoon raha na pari rahi"
Why'd you tell me the ending
@TLK Why Wuthering Heights?

Muniya queries Muqa

What about you?
Khabhi kithaab pari hai?!! bOloo!! TeLLoo!

No. Its still not ruined. The story is still untold.

Na Janoon Raha Na Pari Rahi (Paperback) ki English nahi mil rahi and the urdu is $33.00 WTF

The Weary Generations is on kindle for $10. I can dig that.

"Khabhi kithaab pari hai"

Kabhi kitaab padhi hai

Here is English version for India for INR 225. The book is out of stock though :bummer:

All Passion Spent | Zubaan

BTW, English version is available on Amazon:

All Passion Spent: Zaheda Hina: 9788189884901: Amazon.com: Books

Was that book about Bangladesh was written by Amitav Ghosh. 'Shadow Lines'.

No. It was a lady. Will post name here in 12h. Her acquaintance gave us the book to read.

Gosh, it's Ghosh

Because mera dimagh sirak gaya thaa. It was back when I was eighteen or so when I wanted to read the classics