Re: What should be Pak’s squad in ODI 4
selections ke hangamay charon taraf ![]()
Re: 4th ODI Pak- Ind Feb 16 - Multan D/N
Salman Kamran Malik Yousuf Inzi Younis Afridi Razzaq Rana Asif Sami
Super sub (Yasir Arafat)
I think they will drop Rana and will include sami in place of him. Rest of the squad will remain the same.
Re: What should be Pak's squad in ODI 4
I......I......I don't understand. I mean, 2+ years have gone by, and we are still waiting for Sami's "fireworks" in the team? What in the barnacles happened to "merit-based" performance? Irshad/Nazir/Gul all await their turns while bhatija Sami is constantly given chances upon chances, time and time again, just to "prove" himself.
One game he is going to take five wickets by accident, and will, once again, glue his name in our squad for a period of next 15 years.
Here is my eleven
Saima Jaffery
Aesha Chaudry
Shagufta Imtiaz
Naila Wicket keeper
Rehana Captain..
Bring it on! 5 hi kafi hain
I did not see it last night, as it was late, but who ever I talked to, those who saw Pakistan bowling to India yesterday were saying that Asif and Gul's first ten overs were great. Ball missed the bat and the stumps a number of times. They were just unlucky on not getting more wickets. It seems to me that those who are asking for Gul's head are going just by scorecard and had not seen the game. Which is pretty bad.
Although I do agree that Pakistan should now plan to chase, and thus get a batsman as a super-sub. Preferably a fast stroke-player, who can open the innings with Butt. Prior to that, Butt needs either a psychological coaching class, or a taweez from a puhnchay huay peer saab.
I saw every minute of that game. Gul bowled well, sure. But I am just saying Sami should be in for pace at this point. Gul got hammered in later overs and had poor outings in the first two matches. He cannot be put into pressure situations right now. If Gul must stay, then Rana should go. But Sami needs to be included for his pace. He will cause some disturbance. I am simply saying this to shake up the line up a bit. I am not saying give Sami another chance, but with Shoaib out, he is our PACE option that we must take. He will go for runs, but may take some important wickets. remember these are bATTING CONDITIONS, and no bowler will do amazing in terms of figures.
I do agree, and I would rather have Imran Farhat open the innings, since his batting style and choice of shots perfectly fits the description of an "opener". He is flashy, flambouyant and florid. Him or Faisal Iqbal, either one of these two will work in our favor, at least that's what it looks like on paper. There is no need to have another bowler/spinner in the team, as there is no need after witnessing belters after belters of pitches.
Sami, taking wickets? Won't that be a sight for sore eyes! :)
Mohammad Sami
overall 74 609.3 2986 105 5/10 4/25 28.43 4.89 34.8 3 1
Rana Naved Ul Hasan
overall 39 326.1 1770 68 6/27 4/25 26.02 5.42 28.7 3 1
Irfan Pathan
overall 51 439.5 2193 85 5/27 4/24 25.80 4.98 31.0 2 1
Lets compare then shall we.. Pathan has played 51 matches at a rate of 4.98 ECON, with 85 wickets. Sami on the other hand, 74 matches at a rante of 4.89, with 105 wickets
Now, everyone would say Pathan is MUCH better than SAMI
so why is it that
Pathan averages nearly 1.7 wickets per game
and Sami averages a close 1.4 wickets per game
Sami's average is with par with a lot of bowlers around the world.
His pace is possibly the top 10 in the world
and possibly #3 after LEE and AKTHAR. WHY not choose SAMI.
He doesnt have discipline but is a wicket taker
And me saying discipline. Besides Pathan and Asif, no bowler in this series has any sort of discipline in bowling
niz_b, I agree with your team, except I'd kick out Butt, Younis, Yousaf, Inzimam, Afridi, Sami, and Rana. Other than that, your team looks good.
Ehsan Bhai,
Aap ke liye tou Dhoni and Sreesanth he kafi hai (poor guy had 4 catches dropped today off his bowling):D
Sami is not a wicket taker and Pathan should not be used as a benchmark to compare if someone else is a wicket taker. Although I am in favor of Sami playing the next match I was just cleariying that I am not dillusional about Sami's abilities and his record. He is quick no doubt but he concedes too many runs and doesnt take nearly enough wickets for a strike bowler.
In anycase my starting line up for tomorrow game would be
Salman Butt
Imran Farhat
Shoaib Malik
Inzamam-ul-Haq
Younis Khan
Shahid Afridi
Abdul Razzaq
Kamran Akmal
Mohammad Sami
Yasir Arafat
Mohammad Asif
Give Rana Jee and Yousaf Sahib a little jhatka plus I have always maintained that if we want to keep Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi and Abdul Razzaq then we are playing one middle order batsman too many. We need specialist openers, not make shift ones. In the recent past we've had Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Imran Farhat, Younis Khan, Taufeeq Umar, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal all tried as openers. We need specialist openers in ODI's followed by Malik and two middle order batsmen, thats a total of 4 batsmen before the explosive lower middle order of Razzaq, Afridi and Akmal comes into play. If the top 4 can keep wickets in hands without keeping a blazing run rate then the 3 can come in later stages and take care of the problem. In the last 10-12 overs it is not too hard for these 3 to score 100 + runs which means if we can maintain an average of around 4ish we'd do just fine with such an explosive lower middle order.
Sami should purley for his speed, when nothing else is working sheer pace can sometimes rattle the batsman. If Shoaib was around it would have been a different thing but right now Sami should come in for Rana.
Mera diya hua mashwara maan hee liya aapney aakhir kaar. :p
Konsay wala? About keeping Malik? Of course! He's been the hero of the series so far. mera bas chalay to main khud open karoon butt ki jagah.
^ na yaar! Sehwag heard Shoaib is not kheling so he lost interest
I have to admit, the "costed" and "losted" were the funniest ones of the lot. :p
IMO
12/ S-S Umer Gul
noticeable factor is that both the team has written off good spin bowling a good bowler may go for runs but he has habit of picking up wickets Pakistan should make good use of Malik and sort of Afridi;s bowling and they have to be innovative maybe some flight control and different line and length
Inzamam to establish hospital
By Our Sports Correspondent
LAHORE, Feb 12: Emulating Imran Khan, Inzamamul Haq has also started the noble mission of establishing a general trust hospital in Multan. Inzamam made the announcement at a press conference on Sunday.
He said that both the Indian and Pakistan teams would inaugurate the first block of the hospital on Tuesday before the fourth One-day match on Thursday.
The name of the hospital is Bakhtawar Amin Memorial Trust Hospital.
fair enough. i totally agree on your analysis on sami and exclusion of rana and yousuf are justified. Yousuf needs to wake up for sure