3rd Test - Thu 24 - Mon 28: March 05 Pakistan Vs India

Re: 3rd Test - Thu 24 - Mon 28: March 05 Pakistan Vs India

Jai Hind!

If India loses this match, this series is drawn and remain on top since they won the last series

If India draws this match, they win this series, putting them up on a 2 series win streak

If India wins this match, they wil the series 2-0 and puts them up on a 2 series win streak

*so come on Indians - win or draw this match will ya! *

Jai Hind

Insha Allah Jai Hind

Jai Ram! Jai Hind!

aap ki nappy kaa time ho gaya hai.

:rocketup:

AQ ji hum baray log haen match shatch dekhne ka time nai hota KYA :smooth:

to quote Spockji, phat guy kya?:smiley:

India all the way to a glorious victory.

Jai Hind

Insha Allah Jai Hind

Jai Ram Jain Hind

I just know one thing IF India scores 383 then Pakistan will definitely lose the match as well the series!!

Happy now !!!

What a lame post. :mad:

I think I can see how this match will play out on the 5th day (and at the risk of immodesty I am usually right ) :

As long as Sehwag is at the crease, the run rate will be over 4.0, so one would say that India is playing for a WIN (by default). Once he gets out, the run rate will drop to around 3.0 and within a span of 15-20 overs(post Sehwag’s dismissal), the target would seem to be outside India’s reach and the Indian batsmen would settle down to holding to their wickets. It will just need one good 100+ partnership in the middle order to ensure that India survives the day and it seems highly likely that it will happen.

The reason Pak lost at Calcutta on the 5th day…is that they lost wickets at regular intervals (starting from the 1st ball of the day) and pitch was much more bowler-friendly than what we have here in Bangalore. Plus Pak had only 9 wickets left on the last day. Even so when the last Pak wicket fell, only some 20 overs remained in the day…

All I am saying is that the Indians have to bat really badly on a not-so-batting-unfriendly wicket against a mediocre bowling attack to lose the test match. I don’t see that happening.

So DRAW it will be.

ps> I am accepting bets.

and btw, the Indian GAME PLAN would be the following :
Let us all play our natural game till TEA TIME. Depending on the match situation at that point of time, we will decide whether to push for a victory or play for a DRAW.

See I have everything figured out !!

Pardon my ignorance but I really dont understand the concept of "draw"?? I mean if Indians are unable to score 383 then what will happen??? Pakistan will win right???

Are you a lady by any chance? If so, please refer to the ‘Quickie’ links at the top for directions to the CAFE.

^ This is the first time ever I am watching a TEST match! You’re being rude :mad:

no - the match will end up as a draw - which, at the moment, likely to happen - India is leading 3-test game series by 1-0 - they care less about winning this test match - in order to save the series - Pakistan would have to bowled out India tomorrow to win the 3rd test match and level the series (1-1)

Well in my humble opinion there are only 2 possible results of this match…either India will win this match (50 %) or it will be drawn (50%). I am not being pessimistic but I am saying this based on my observations of this whole series. Pakistan always needed at least 4 full sessions (even on bowler-friendly pitches) to get rid of full Indian batting line up. So there is absolutely no way that Pakistan bowling would be able to get rid of all 10 Indian wickets in 3 sessions on a batsman-friendly pitch. If some one thinks that it is a fifth day pitch and it should take turn, he is living in a dream world. It is still a pretty compact wicket with no serious problem. I mean come on guys… lets be realistic. On the very same wicket, just 12 hours ago, Pakistan scored 261 in 50 over and none of the Indian bowler was able to create any trouble for paki batsmen. Now if some one things that arshad khan, kaneria and razaq are better bowlers than harbhanjan , kumble or bala jee, what can I say..

Bottom line is that so far sehwag is on wicket India will go for win. Now million dollar point is that if sehwag scores a blasting century such as 100 of 100 balls and by the time he departs, if India’s score is 240 in 50 overs , all India needs is 120 more runs in 40 overs and they can easily do it if they have 6 or seven wickets in hand. I have seen Dravid doing it so many times before. He really knows how to finish the job. Please don’t forget that yesterday 360 runs were scored in 85 overs and only 6 wickets fell down. Therefore, my experience is telling me that if sehwag stays there till lunch, India will win this match for sure. Even If sehwag departs on the very first ball of the day, India will still save the match without any problem and it will be a draw.

Having said that I totally agree with inzi’s decision of declaration because he did not have any other choice. Actually test cricket is very interesting. Pak lost the control of the match when Indian’s last wicket wasted 20 overs and put together 53 useful runs. Those 20 overs and 53 runs changed the whole match. But it happens and it is part of test cricket.

My heart is all for Pakistan. I love my country to death and I pray that we win tonight. Miracles do happen……

On the contrary, India has every reason to initially try and hope for a win cuz that would make’em #2 on the ICC rankings - I agree with Some1 in that India’s gonna play its natural game until tea and then either continue or conserve for a draw. Contingency planning as it should’ve been done by Pak in the last match.

Probabilities again:

Draw: 75%
Pak Win: 14%
India Win: 11%

if Sehwag gets a score of above 70...India is gonna win...but if we get Sehwag out under 50 then it will be a draw...I dont see Pakistan winning unless Kaneria puts up a mriacle performence.

Pakistan was exactly in the same situation on the last day of the second test and Kumble ripped through the batting line. Pakistani bowlers, especially Kaneria, will have to bowl their hearts out tomorrow. We HAVE to win this b!tch. :soldier:

i agree. i think india will try to acieve the target. its not impossible. on 3rd day they kep a good run rate. we have weak bowling attack. it can turn agianst us. I think pak had a chance to win the game when they bowled 9th indian batsman out. since then they wasted over 3 hours of match. this will come nd haunt inzi. its all his fault. the moment he left the ground, younsi brought in afrdid who got the wicket abruptly.

i would blame inzi for a draw or a pak loss. india has a slim chance as they do not have players who can bat fast other than tendu and sehwag. pak gets one of them, it will bring a draw.

yes danaria can play a vital role but again they way inzi is managing(conservetively), we had no chance to win. Similar way if india tries to go for nig hits in first 2 hours, pak should put more pressure in. forcing them to play shots... lets them do a mistake. i would say if someone make 30 runs in 3 overs and then gets out, its worth it. score should not be an issue at this moment.

then if he sees that our bowlers are not gripping it right, scores are coming fluently, then he should move to plan B: to spread the field to stop the score...

in short, "The fate of this match willl be defined by either captain. If ganguly gets it right, he might be bale to win the series 1 - nill or 2- nill. Other hand if inzi gets it right he willl b able to draw it. "

lets see who does what

inorder for Pakistan to win this match means they have to bowled india all out before they reached the target. If they cant then it will be a draw… ODI rules doesnt apply here…

and they couldnt score the given target but still dont get all out then its a draw. and if they do achieve the target then they win :slight_smile:

You cannot base your prediction on what happened yesterday for 3 reasons :

(1) Yesterday Pak had nothing to lose when they batted. They did not need to preserve wickets. Indians would soon be in danger of losing the match if they go into the attacking mode and lose a few wickets in the process.

(2) Yesterday most of the Indian bowling was done by Tendulkar/Kumble combination , bowling from round the wicket with the main goal to stem the run flow instead of taking wickets. This will not be the case with Pak bowlers.

(3) And finally, though Sehwag is an aggresive player…he is no AFRIDI…he cannot be expected to set the ground ablaze in the manner Afridi does.

Jeezs MY Afridi did it again.:frowning: I missed such a wonderfull innings coz i was away.He will Make pak win today…My heart says so…lots of Kisssus to my Afridi