3rd ODI: WestIndies v/s India

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Get your facts right, in both cases I have condemned the attitude of the fans. Nowhere did I support it and that is my point here. Proctor by awarding the match to India has given into these guys.

Next time read carefully before jumping up and down. The point I am raising is one of the hooligans and not the team performances.

I was waiting for your responce.

Now shame on him.

Yeah, giving India the victory, and robbing Windes of an entire match.
Shame on Mike Proctor and shame on you! :nono: :nono:

Ah!

I'm enjoying this cat and dog fight.

You guys have made my day :)

Given…
Helloooo…
India deserved it. It takes a lot to score 200 in 27 overs. huh…

India should be put on a warning and if crown issues persist be abandonned as an int. venue-like Pak was after 9/11. safety of the players right?

3 matches, all marred by crowd disturbances… Shameful… And I also wish that our people (guys like jeera bhai) had the same enthusiasm for their team as the Indian crowd :wink:

Oh, and was someone here blaming Pakistan/ISI crowd riots? :rotfl: Kuch zyada hi pee li hai us ne…

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

Given.....
Helloooo...
India deserved it. It takes a lot to score 200 in 27 overs. huh...

They deserved to be disqualified if the Indian crowd threatens any international player next time.
Its their job to tell their people to what no to do!
Everyone looks up to them, not some BCCI official, Ganguly needs to tell the public to stop with this nonsense.
I remember when Pakistan played NZ in Karachi, and soemone from the crowd threw a bottle at Darryl Tuffey, and Rashid Latif when to the crowd and talked to them!
Something similiar needs to be done, or this exciting series will go down the drain. And people will stop coming to India, and their state will be just like the current Pakistani team. Being deprived of playing cricket at home for about 18 months.

Get your facts right, in both cases I have condemned the attitude of the fans. Nowhere did I support it and that is my point here. Proctor by awarding the match to India has given into these guys.

Next time read carefully before jumping up and down. The point I am raising is one of the hooligans and not the team performances.

Ehsan dont act like a saint - I have read all your rantings on Indian players, you are worse than Umair and some others. You are just too jealous too see an Indian victory.

My point was when England conceded a match you said "it took the gloss away from a brilliant performance by Pakistan and especially by Waqar and Razzaq" and nowhere you said that the match should have been awarded to England.
And in India's case you are jumping in & out of your pants saying Match should have been awarded to WI and Shame on Proctor. You think you are more qualified than Proctor ???

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

They deserved to be disqualified if the Indian crowd threatens any international player next time.

Oh really ?? Then Disqualify West Indies, England, Australia and Pakistan also

Something similiar needs to be done, or this exciting series will go down the drain. And people will stop coming to India, and their state will be just like the current Pakistani team. Being deprived of playing cricket at home for about 18 months.

Dream on !! I know that's what you wish for. But all I can say is keep dreaming.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Ehsan dont act like a saint - I have read all your rantings on Indian players, you are worse than Umair and some others. You are just too jealous too see an Indian victory.

My point was when England conceded a match you said "it took the gloss away from a brilliant performance by Pakistan and especially by Waqar and Razzaq" and nowhere you said that the match should have been awarded to England.
And in India's case you are jumping in & out of your pants saying Match should have been awarded to WI and Shame on Proctor. You think you are more qualified than Proctor ???

I will not reply to the first part because it is just trash.

On the second point I did not say that the match should have been awarded to England because the match ** was not awarded to Pakistan either**. Once again you got your facts wrong. Also dont quote me selectively, post the whole thing where i condemned the supporters in no uncertain terms. You are trying to mix apples with oranges, but then it is an old habit of yours, nothing new.

I wont be replying anymore and once again I will say that it was wrong for the match to be awarded to India.

Take a chill pill and next time be more objective in your comments.

I will not reply to the first part because it is just trash.

Oh really ?? Did they remind you of your old posts ??

On the second point I did not say that the match should have been awarded to England because the match ** was not awarded to Pakistan either**. Once again you got your facts wrong.

Pakistan didn't win it either. Match was conceeded by England.

Also dont quote me selectively, post the whole thing where i condemned the supporters in no uncertain terms. You are trying to mix apples with oranges, but then it is an old habit of yours, nothing new..

I posted the link of your old post (Didn't cut paste) but you refuse to accept it, so I had to cut and Paste. duson ki old habit par comment karne se pehle apni Old habits bhi dekh lo moderator saheb.

Its their job to tell their people to what no to do!
Everyone looks up to them, not some BCCI official, Ganguly needs to tell the public to stop with this nonsense.
I remember when Pakistan played NZ in Karachi, and soemone from the crowd threw a bottle at Darryl Tuffey, and Rashid Latif when to the crowd and talked to them!
so its ganguly's job to talk to people and calm the crowd and since he hasnt done it match should be awarder to Windies. grow up kid.If Rashid latif did it then it was good gesture on his part.Azhar did similar thing in calcutta.But they arnt bound to do it.Its just their marzi.Yes everyone looks upto them but managing crowd is not their job.

Something similiar needs to be done, or this exciting series will go down the drain.
*Exciting series. wasnt it a boring series between tow boring side and no one was intrested in watching it.How come suddenly it became an exciting one.Is it because its giving bad name to India. *

And people will stop coming to India, and their state will be just like the current Pakistani team. Being deprived of playing cricket at home for about 18 months.
Dont worry that will never happen.That is where people al over world differ on their perception on India and pakistan.Keep dreaming.
Teams all over world die to have a trip to India where as PCB keeps begging them and they dont come.

Mubarrak Ho

India ‘Gifted’ Match After More Crowd Trouble

RAJKOT, Nov 12: India were declared winners of the third One-day International against West Indies after the match was disrupted by crowd trouble Tuesday.

Poor crowd behaviour, which has marred the entire series so far, resulted in the game being called off and India being declared winners by 81 runs using the **Duckworth/Lewis method. **

**The home side, chasing a mammoth 301 for victory, were coasting at 200 for one in just 27.1 overs when West Indies all-rounder Vasbert Drakes was struck on his leg by an object thrown from the crowd while fielding on the boundary. **

Match referee Mike Procter immediately rushed to the field and asked the players to return to the dressing room.

Attempts were made to restart the game after clearing the section of the stand from where the object was hurled but play was finally called off 90 minutes after the incident.

“It was very disappointing,” said West Indies stand-in captain Ridley Jacobs.

Procter has been asked by the ICC to submit a report on the incidents.

West Indies now lead the seven-match series 2-1. Explosive opener Virender Sehwag was on 114 off 82 balls after a 196-run opening stand, an Indian record against West Indies, with captain Saurav Ganguly (72) when the game ended.

Ramnaresh Sarwan had earlier struck a career-best 84 as West Indies amassed 300 for five from their 50 overs.

It was an unfortunate end to a match that saw a brilliant batting display by both teams, particularly by Sehwag and Ganguly in a partnership marked by stunning strokeplay.

Undaunted by the required run rate of six an over, left-hander Ganguly started the India innings by driving Drakes through the covers for four and then hitting his slower ball down the ground for another boundary.

Sehwag punched paceman Mervyn Dillon for a straight four and then made room for himself outside the leg-stump and slashed him over the slips for a one-bounce four to third man.

Runs came in a hurry as India reached 68 for no loss after 10 overs before Sehwag opened the floodgates in the 13th over of the match, hitting occasional spinner Chris Gayle for three fours and a six to race to his 50 in just 38 balls.

Earlier, left-hander Chris Gayle led the West Indies batting charge with a 68-ball knock including 12 fours and two sixes.

He shared a 57-run stand with Marlon Samuels (18) but the main thrust was provided by Sarwan and Chanderpaul in a 149-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

OMG, what a joke, look at what other fans had to say about the crowd disturbance. I found this on another Indian cricket site.

***YogRaj(USA)(US) :
Conspiracy theory… (sorry for the typos in my last post…corrcted version…) I seriously believe the hand of pakistan…or at least pakistanis… behind the interruptions…simply because teams are not visiting their country citing unrest/terrorism…they want the same thing to happen to India…any takers?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

These people crack me up!

Omg!! :eek: :rotfl: :hehe: These people sure crack me up tooo! Damn, yeh log kab sudhrein gey…

Indiatimes Id:chandra_shekarj
Don’t you think it looks like some one is organising this trouble. First two matches we can understand, our feelings were hurt so we would emotionally done some unruly things. But in the third match we were in a very strong position and everyone wanted to see the merciless attack by Sehwag on the windies bowlers and this time the trouble occured by someone in the crowd. I think it is an organised crime by some antisocial elements. Probably ISI can be behind this…THINK !!!we may find an answer.
Wednesday, November 13, 2002 10:00:45 pm

by Wisden staff
Wednesday, November 13, 2002

A front-page report in the Times of India today speculated whether a major betting syndicate engineered the crowd trouble at Rajkot.
Referring to anonymous sources, the report claimed that bookies, who were part of a syndicate linking Mumbai, Delhi, London and other cities, stood to lose heavily if India won and could have tried to sabotage the game. If so, India being awarded the win sabotaged their plans in turn.

The report estimated that bets worth $2million (ten crore rupees) for a West Indian win had been placed in Rajkot alone. The bookies expected India to lose, and were offering odds as much as 84 paise to the rupee if India won.

Virender Sehwag and Sourav Ganguly upset their calculations with their 196-run opening stand. Crowd trouble broke out when India were coasting to an easy win, needing less than five an over with all ten wickets in hand.

A stray bottle was thrown at Vasbert Drakes during this period. Mike Procter, the match referee, was informed about it by the umpires, and his decision to take the teams of the field might initially have pleased bookies hoping for any result except an Indian win.

The report mentioned that its sources had said there was tremendous pressure from bookies in Mumbai and Kolkata to sabotage the match.

While no direct quotes were attributed to those anonymous sources, the very possibility of such a motivated sabotage attempt opens a new line of worry for cricket-lovers and administrators.

http://www.wisden.com/testbrowser.asp

Following is a great article!

Cricket ashamed!
Lenin Gani - 13 November 2002

What a shame that the third one-day international between India and West Indies had to be decided in the most unusual of circumstances.

The ugly side of a crowd once again was in full view spoiling a perfectly good game. There was crowd trouble also in the earlier matches, but nothing like on the scale witnessed in Rajkot yesterday.

Ironically that although this time with the home side very much in the driving seat, a mindless few went too far and injured two West Indies players.

This is cannot be cricket. People pay money in expectation of an exciting contest between bat and ball but so far in the seven-match series, there has only been trouble followed by more trouble.

Enthusiasm knows no limits in this part of the world. But this passion for the sport is fuelling another terrible aspect – crowd disturbances.

A semifinal of the 1996 World Cup between Sri Lanka and India saw the Eden Gardens virtually set ablaze by unhappy fans as Aravinda da Silva spoilt the script with a masterly knock. And match referee Clive Lloyd had to declare the eventual champions the winners as things got out of control. Four years on, another mischievous crowd trouble came into play at this very venue during the Asian Test Championship match between arch-rivals India and Pakistan. However, result was not the same. The whole number of spectators was driven out of the famous cricket centre and the game went on.

Cricket is becoming more global year-by-year, yet, at the same time supporters unfortunately only in India find it necessary to become hooligans. We always thought that football was a victim of its success, but, cricket is not far behind.

The recent incidents in our giant neighbour’s backyard have even prompted calls for a boycott of unruly venues by none other than its famous son Sunil Gavaskar.

“Crowds that cannot accept an Indian defeat should get no cricket whatsoever,” opined the Indian legend the day after the first ODI in Jamshedpur.

“The Indian board must seriously start thinking of not only banning venues where there is crowd disturbance, but also heavily fine the staging association for not ensuring proper conduct of the match.”

His view was shared by Indian board chief Jagmohan Dalmiya and he said the BCCI would have to think hard before allotting international matches to disturbance-prone venues. But all their words seem to have fallen on deaf ears.

Trouble continued to travel with the teams as they proceeded to Nagpur three days later.

Thankfully, Bangladesh despite its arduous struggle to establish a name in international cricket, it can at least claim to already have sporting fans. They show their support without getting overboard and every visiting team is invited to give their verdict on this issue.

© Daily Star **

link

Quit being paranoid and wakeup, Indian crowd are the worst in the world maybe after English football hooligans.

Look who is talking - I can bring at least 10 examples of Paki Hooligans both in and out of Pakistan. When it comes to hooliganism no one can match paki hooligans.

If they don't get their act togeather, cricket teams will stop coming to India for the sake of their lives.

I know you wish for it, All I can say is Dream on :)

Well the worst were the Indians, i havent seen that ever in any country, their own people putting flames to the stadium ... who can forget the INDIA SRI LANKA match, 1996 World Cup

but thats not my concern, India played well n i guess givin the match to India wasnt a bad decision at all, as according to the law either team should have played 25 overs, and that happend and India won it fairly, thou it was sad to see the public ruining an exciting match ..... i guess India should continue playing in major safe cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Banglore, Chennai etc as these stadiums dont have much trouble, but Calcutta is not in that list!!

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Look who is talking - I can bring at least 10 examples of Paki Hooligans both in and out of Pakistan. When it comes to hooliganism no one can match paki hooligans.

I know you wish for it, All I can say is Dream on :)

Asif_k Ji

Bhai Jaan - Pakistani Hooliganism is no Excuse whatsoever for Indian Hooliganism.

We should hang our heads in shame at Indian Hooliganism just as I am sure that Pakistanis would feel likewise

Have a Nice Day