36 Years Ago - They Died So That YOU Are Free Today

“We are at war”, declared F. M. Mohammad Ayub Khan, N. Pk., H.J. at noon on September 6, 1965, when after checking from all fronts he confirmed that India had invaded Pakistan with all its might and there was no question of there being any stray border incident. It was no exaggeration when he said, “The hundred million Pakistanis whose hearts beat with the sound of ‘None except Allah is worthy of obeisance’ will not rest until the Indian guns are silenced for ever.”

As the hordes of the Indian armed forces poured across the border for the next 2 weeks, they were met by the valiant men of the Pakistan Air Force. On land or in the air, there was no hiding from Pakistan’s Shaheens.

Whilst they helped bring eventual victory, many in the PAF had to make the ultimate sacrifice to ensure freedom for future generations. This is a dedication to those brave shaheeds.

They died for our freedom, for my freedom, for YOUR freedom.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Shaheeds1.jpg

(From left to right)
Squadron Leader Alauddin Ahmed, Leading Airman Anwar Hussain, Flight Lieutenant A S Khalid, Flight Lieutenant A T M Aziz

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Shaheeds2.jpg

Flying Officer M A Khan, Flight Lieutenant M A Butt, Squadron Leader M A Qureshi, Squadron Leader Muhammad Iqbal

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Shaheeds3.jpg

Squadron Leader M S A Siddiqui, Squadron Leader Munir Ahmed, Flight Lieutenant Siafullah Khan, Squadron Leader Sarfaraz Rafiqui

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Shaheeds4.jpg

Flying Officer S S Azam, Flight Lieutenant Yunus Hussain

[This message has been edited by mAd_ScIeNtIsT (edited July 11, 2001).]

So true scientist. We are so very forgetful and ungrateful. I wonder how thr familes are doing now. Evn now our Pakistani soldiers continue to put thr lives in danger so that we can continue to have a home called "Pakistan". I remember a young captain who got killed in t/ Kargill fiasco (thanx to Nawaz Sharif) and 2 days after he got killed, his young widow gave birth to a son. He never got to see his child. Such tragic stories are quite rampant among t/ families associated w/ t/ Pakistani Military, but hey what's more important? A latest Indian movie w/ some bimbos jumping up & down in or around a bush w/ an anti Muslim/ Pakistan story, or our Pakistani pride?? You should have posted a half naked photo of an Indian actress and see t/ response you get!

May Allah reward them for their sacrifice, ameen.

yea if they did not secrify, our country would not be in that position as it is now.

I think har pakistani key andar itna jazba to hai hi kam az kam keh jab bhe moqa mila wo apney duhsman key khilaaf kissi sey peechey nahi rahey gey.

Its only due the reason that we are at First Muslim and then Pakistani.

Allah ham sab key Imaan mazboot karey aur ikhata rehney ki taufeeq ata farmaeyey Amin.

I bet it is very hard for You to love all of everybody in the whole
world. There are few people in my family and I could never do it.

I still think this is one of the best war speeches ever*

**The hour of trial for a hundred million people of Pakistan has struck…

The Indian rulers were never reconciled to the establishment of an independent Pakistan where Muslims could build a homeland of their own. All their military preparations during the last 18 years have been directed against us…

Now that the Indian rulers, with their customary cowardice and hypocrisy have ordered their Armies to march into the sacred territory of Pakistan, without a formal declaration of war, the time has come for us to give them a crushing reply which will put an end to India’s adventure in imperialism…

The hundred millions of Pakistanis whose hearts beat with the sound of La Ilaha Il Allah Muhammad ur Rasul Allah will not rest till India’s guns are silenced forever. The Indian rulers do not yet realise what people they have taken on. Dedicated to the faith and convinced of the justice of their cause they will fight as one man in the name of God whose promise to mankind is that right shall triumph. A state of emergency has been declared. We are at war. Our brave soldiers have gone forward to repel the enemy…

We are invoking the United Nations’ Charter to exercise our inherent right of individual and collective self-defence recognised in Chapter VII of the Charter. My dear countrymen, in this hour of trial you have to remain absolutely calm. You must know that each one of you has to perform a supreme duty which demands complete dedication and devotion…

Be prepared to strike and to strike hard; for the evil which has raised its head against your borders is doomed to destruction. Go forward and meet the enemy. God is with you.

Pakistan Paindabad.**

• other than Braveheart's: Ay, fight and you may die, run and you'll live. At least a while. And dying in your beds many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they'll never take our freedom?

Is there a website dedicated to 1965 war With photos from the fronts and details of various battles???

I have gone through Nytimes for that period and it was pretty interesting. I have also seen memorobilia at the PAF museum in Karachi. Wonder if there's also a website...

The best website I can find has no pictures, but lots of details. Try the PakDef site at http://host7.hrwebservices.net/~pakdef/ and click on the section marked 1965 War. It gives a great deal of detail regarding both the Air War and the Ground War (though the ground war section appears only half complete

)

May Allah swt grant all the Muslim ummah to
succeed and defeat the enemies of Islam
May Pakistan continue to survive and shine
as the green emblem in the sky
Thanx dude for showing me some of the jawaans.

** Mu Hu Hahahahahaha!**:hoonh:
"Quote the Mu,“NeverMu!”

Ghalib, the website is http://www.pafmuseum.com.pk/

Willing to sacrifice all and every thing for the pure land.

I love the images and the post.

Thanks for sharing.

" I am empowered to do what makes sense!!!!!"

thanks Astronut

thnanx for sharing

PAKISTAN ZINDA BAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

.. take precaution against 'advertising links'> =)

[This message has been edited by confused (edited July 12, 2001).]

Very very nice post and pictures.
Thanks for sharing these memories..

Long live Pakistan (Ameen)

Thanks MadScientist or the history lesson, FunkyD for your opinion, and peacemaker for teh speech (it was amazing!!). I thought I would put my two cents worth too.

You know how we Pakistani's always are fighting amongst each other? We did the same thing around 1965 too. We were fighting amongst ourselves too then. But when we were attacked, we became united. So if today we say that we don't have unity, wait till someone attacks us. We will be united and will fight together, side by side with those we had our feuds with, against the enemies of Pakistan.
But sometimes these domestic disputes make you weak. There wouldn't be anyone left to fight if we kill each other. so let's pray and promise each other to only fight against the enemies of Islam and Pakistan. This country is the only country in the world to date that fought for it's freedom in the name of Religion. This is true. So let's show the world that what we fought for, we're going to preserve it.