2nd Test - Lahore Apr 5 - 9

inshallah!

What a Game 1st day and so much extiement.

Thanks KK and my Pakistani friends for another wonderful day (actually night been here since 2 am) here on KK.

They have never won a test series in Pakistan. :slight_smile:

oho?

i didnt know that :D

is that so, dear indian posters?

ehsan bhai there is a first time for everything.

:snooty: :mocking:

sadly.. you’ll only do it (if you ever do it :P) after we’ve been there… done that… :sleep2:

A good day spoiled again by our careless “world class bowlers”. Could they learn “ANYTHING” from Umar Gul? Irfan Pathan hits 49, wow.

None of these two S’s knows how to remove tailenders, really.

Good job by Umar Gul :jhanda:

Now I wish our batsmen can capitalize on this and build some good partnerships for two more days then bowl India out again. :insha:

Aejaj, But this is NOT the time! May be some other time like year. :slight_smile: :bravo:

These two S's are not as effective as they used to be. I don't think they really want to learn.

The two S's are OVERrated and total crap! Idiots rely on pace rather than swinging the ball... they are more concerned with how their hair bounce when they run up than getting people out or atleast bowling nicely! Umar gul was underrated and some pundits here on gupshup were terrified that Gul should not be played against india... well he performed well.

sami aur shoaib ki tind karwao bass!

:dhimpak:

AND

AND

AND

AoA brothers :smiley: :wave: On behalf of Umar gul, i would like all of you to eat your words covered in Gulab jamun and i m sure you wont mind doing that coz you are as happy for him as i am. Just have a little patience from time to time :smiley:

Cricinfo writes:

Given how hyped these two men are, and how Shoaib loves to shoot his mouth off, even saying that he would like to captain Pakistan, it was a disgraceful performance. The bowling figures at the 38-over mark, when Danish Kaneria came on to bowl the first over of spin, said it all: Shoaib, 1 for 56 in 12 overs; Sami, 1 for 76 in 14 overs. Gul, no glam posterboy but an honest trier, had 5 for 31 in 12.

The LINK

Disgraceful!

[thumb=E]591326_3193062.JPG[/thumb]
The hero of the day.

Saby bhai, you naughty man. :)

A pitch made for pacers, and these 2 idiots can’t do anything useful, what are they waiting for?

I like Indian strategy of keeping all the bowlers on toe, one bad (not really so bad) game and there goes one out. Agit, Nehra, Pathan, Balaji, Zaheer, all of them will remain on their toes. While our two asses (I mean S’s) know that their seat has their name all over it and nobody dare touch it. :nook:

For the time being when everyone is maligning Shoaib and Sami to the hilt, i would not curse them for now. Agreeing with the fact that they are horribly disappointing in this series so far, i see no shortage of effort from these two. Shoaib is lacking in rythm and confidence for the first time since his come back in the team last year but he still is trying.
I thought they bowled well to the right handers, but i m VERY surprised why shoaib didnt go roudn the wicket, plus there is no reverse swing, no yorkers from both of them. Sami tried a few but came out all wrong and i didnt see Shoaib trying any yorkers at all.

I hope they bounce back in second innings when we will be close to inflicting an innings defeat on india after we score 500 :smiley: :jhanda: (sometimes no harm in being optimistic.)

India-destroyer Gul is cricket’s gain](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040405/3/31n7.html)

LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - **It is a miracle that Pakistan’s Umar Gul, who wrecked the cream of India’s batting in the second Test here, is playing cricket at all.

He had enough inspiration around him as a toddler to take to squash.

The lanky seamer hails from the same north-western Pakistani village of Nawa-e-Kali that threw up legendary squash champions, Jahangir Khan, Jansher Khan and Qamar Zaman.

It was Zaman, a former British Open champion, who introduced Gul to cricket by buying him a cricket ball when the young lad had no money to play with his friends in the village.**

Gul, who turns 20 on April 14, was picked for the talent search program of Pakistan International Airlines (PIA), where he was groomed by fast bowling great Wasim Akram and former international Rashid Khan.

“I saw Gul bowl at the PIA nets and I was immediately struck by the lad’s height and his natural bowling action,” Akram recalled.

“I thought we had someone here who could make it big and ensured Gul got all the help and facilities from PIA.”

Gul, who made his Test debut against Bangladesh last August, made an impression in the third Test of that series where he bagged four wickets in each innings.

He was, however, ignored for the first part of India’s long-awaited tour of Pakistan, missing both the one-day series and the first Test at Multan last week which the tourists won by an innings and 52 runs.

But a shin injury to Shabbir Ahmed hastened Gul’s return for the second Test here as Pakistan prepared a seaming wicket to hit back at the Indians.

And Akram’s advice to Pakistani bowlers – bowl straight, not fast – which was published in Monday’s newspapers rang in Gul’s ears as he marked his run-up at the Gaddafi stadium.

In a remarkable comeback, Gul took a career-best five wickets as India were reduced to 127-6 after electing to take first strike on the greenish wicket.

Only a defiant 112 from Yuvraj Singh helped the tourists recover to 287 all out.

Gul dismissed first Test heroes Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar in the space of six deliveries, and had stand-in captain Rahul Dravid and Venkatsai Laxman caught in the slips.

“To have such renowned batsmen against my name is amazing,” Gul said.

His only regret was that Akram, who was away in Singapore, was not around to see him bowl.

“When Wasim bhai was playing for PIA, I used to watch him more instead of bowling myself and the coach had to remind me that I was not there as a fan, but as a player,” Gul said.

Now, Gul is bowling and others are watching him.

For the time being when everyone is maligning Shoaib and Sami to the hilt, i would not curse them for now. Agreeing with the fact that they are horribly disappointing in this series so far, i see no shortage of effort from these two. Shoaib is lacking in rythm and confidence for the first time since his come back in the team last year but he still is trying.
I thought they bowled well to the right handers, but i m VERY surprised why shoaib didnt go roudn the wicket, plus there is no reverse swing, no yorkers from both of them. Sami tried a few but came out all wrong and i didnt see Shoaib trying any yorkers at all.

I hope they bounce back in second innings when we will be close to inflicting an innings defeat on india after we score 500 (sometimes no harm in being optimistic.)

here here.

word of sanity in the house.

i agree. they're definitely talent and shouldnt be crushed to bits right away.

Ehsan bhai, its all in good humor naa so no harm in trying some naughty stuff :smiley:

Umar tha man :k:

Lol Sabi :hehe:

I remember a few matches back there were a few who insisted Umar Gul was crap on this board and from memory only me, saby and ehsan rated him as a bowler. **We were right, you were all wrong. **

Umar Gul will always be dangerous on a wicket with some grass on it. Well done lad for shoving the critics words back down their throat :k:

The pace bowlers on both sides bowled quite well with the exception of Shoaib and Sami. Sami failed to get it in the right areas, and Shoaib bowled like a FAG. I’ve always been a big supporter of the Rawalpindi Express but he has shown zero heart in the last few games. If he doesn’t pull his finger out in the next innings he should make way for Shabbir.