2nd Test Australia vs. India at Sydney Jan 02-06 2008

Re: 2nd Test Australia vs. India at Sydney Jan 02-06 2008

^:)

where is some1.. love to hear his views.

Even an Australian wont want to come up with excuses like these. Disgusting.

jawab nahi de sakte to "disgusting" and "blind"

vineshvk, no australian commentator said the umpires were biased to my knowledge. they may have said mistakes were made. "bias" is a very strong accusation, and only indian media can make it so irresponsibly.

he must be on streets protesting against bhajji's ban :)

^^may be burning effigies of two B's and australia on the streets:D.there r lot of effigy burning going on all over india watch news channels with popcorn and coke.:D .arey itna hungama to world cup se 1st round par nikalne par bhi nahi hua tha jo ab ho raha hai streets par.:D:D

To be honest Indians have got the taste of their own medicine. They are notorious for excessive/wrong appealing and their umpires are incompetent. There are hardly any Indian umpires at the international level, let alone top level umpires.

Having said that, Ponting and his team are an arrogant bunch...the least they could do is agree on the controversial decisions. It seemed as if the umpires were facing the pressure of the 16th consecutive test win also.
It's about time technology is used more often to aid the umpires with their decisions.

This series was the best chance for India to topple the Aussies. They may not have this batting lineup next time they visit Australia. Indians can play the blame game after this test match but there is much to be desired from nervous Yuvraj, flat-track Dhoni, clueless Jaffer, choking Tendulkar, cautious Dravid, mediocre Sharma and now missing Harbajan.

So Ganguly deserved to get out .On the same way what about Andrew symonds.Was he deserved to score that much runs ?

As far as I am concerned this is a clear case of three things:

1> Ponting's impotency. He wanted to set right the fact that his team lost the previous series to India. By hook or by crook. Unfortunately now he stands disgraced as a crook for his personal lack of integrity.

2> Umpiring incompetence. If you give the benefit of doubt that Buckner was not biased or bribed. You have a choice of utter incompetence and malaise.

3> Harbhajan's immaturity. Everyone sledges. Aussies do it worse than anyone else. But they seem to stop just at the edge but Harbhajan, if he said it, just went beyong that limit. By whisker.

I am proud my country is standing up and telling of the arrogant. ICC has to start behaving or BCCI can and should whip them to shape.

Some1 was right, cricket dominates Indians lives. They can’t even take a defeat without the whole nation on the streets burning effigies. It seems the hype is so high that the whole nation believes that the only way they can lose it by their opponents cheating or the umpires being incompetent. :smack:

Havent seen that part of the match, but from what I read, no. But come on, all India needed to do was survive 70 overs. against part time spinners. rahul dravid being given a wrong decision and ganguly possibly, maybe, not getting a huge piece of luck that he may've gotten is putting focus where it shouldnt be.

Look we lost the match in Melbourne fair and square .We didn't whinge or cry .It is not look that we all out for 200 ,we scored a huge 500+ runs took a lead not a very common sight in world cricket nowadays .

Umpiring errors can be overlooked .I mean 2 or 3 ,not like 9 or 10 decisions .

We are playing on 5 day pitch .Such decisions can put under tremendous pressure .What do u mean Ganguly luck .A lot of batsmen get beaten and give catch to the slips .It is slip feilder's duty to catch it fair ,that doesn't mean that batsman can be given out .Fantastic stories !

@Ehsan's post above: ^ Actually making a living - roti kapda makan - come far above cricket or bollywood for most Indians including middle class. But that still leaves sufficient time for some demonstrations which I call 'standing up to the goras'.

But obviously it thrills you to consider the matter silly. So be it - it must be so. 137/6 in a high scoring match however does mean something but that must also be dumb Indian thing.

Man, what are you smoking? First of all, I do not see a single question mark in your post but then I thought may be you forgot to put one coz of the adrenaline rush, but nah, no questions either. Let's first frame a question and then I'll try to answer it.

So which issue is more provocative for Indians

Harbajan's Ban

or

"Cheating" but umpires?

If mistakes are made consistently against one team, then I dont know what better word to describe the phenomena.
I know u dont have time to see Indian matches, but at least see the highlights and then comment.

for me its something to debate about. News from India was boring. This really drives the spirit up. :slight_smile:

that phenomena is known as "bad luck" :)

Common thing that binds the two and for me the most imp. thing is the dishonesty shown by the Australiens especially Ponting. They took complete advantage of the incompentency of the umpires and then in some places were clearly dishonest. A world beating team with 15 consecutive wins are expected to be a little more sporting. Harbhajans ban was a result of proctor taking the word of Australiens (again especially Ponting), while in this test match atleast they have been clearly dishonest at number of times and their integrity have to be questioned.