Re: 2nd ODI: Pakistan v England @ Leeds, Sep 12, 2010
Look whos talking ![]()
We could have done several things better
*Fawad is not the person to play in final overs. We shud have scored more than 300.
*Handling the bowlers is really wayward by Afridi. With so many left handers, Hafeez would have been used more than Afridi.
*Akhtar shud have bowled at the end instead of Gul.
*Mohammad Irfan isnt good enough for an international.
phoenix and samb.. one of the things i hate abt match/spot fixing is that..after evthing is done and dusted.. there always be fingers pointed at players and teams anytime anything unexpected happens.. thats the beauty of cricket.. the swings in play.. the change in abilities when under pressure.. and now it will be tainted cuz of a few people always ready to yell MATCH FIXING..
oh nahieen bhai...i really did not mean to say that today's match was fixed by any means...frankly speaking i have lost a bit of passion about cricket....i guess it has happened over the years especially when akram sold us....when inzi took over, my confidence came back but then last 10 months....anyway, i was just having fun by posting about jowa in this thread.....nothing more....
PD.. i dont blame you for being bitter or sour about it... I would be too..
We could have done several things better
*Fawad is not the person to play in final overs. We shud have scored more than 300.
*Handling the bowlers is really wayward by Afridi. With so many left handers, Hafeez would have been used more than Afridi.
*Akhtar shud have bowled at the end instead of Gul.
*Mohammad Irfan isnt good enough for an international.
Hindsight is greatest advisor. If Afridi can't score, Abdul Razzaq has not been able to score at good SR, who would you play? Atleast Fawad scored with SR of 100+. It was Hafeez who kept the run rate lower, look at his SR a dismal 63.
Even Akhtar could've bowled faster but then flying edges could've earned them a boundary. It wasn't really the last over that was problem.
Mohammad Irfan 's econ was 5.71, I don't know how it is worse than Akhtar or Gul's.
As for Afridi's handling of bowlers, I wouldn't defend him :D
I know. it even bothers me. and I rarely get accused of being an optimist.
Gul sucks man
I think Pakistan is playing good cricket under prevailing conditions. Its ok they lost both matches but gave tough fight and played better than what we thought it could be. And also you cannot expect 0 errors when Afridi is captain. Its imperative. Still, I would give them some room for this series. ![]()
Afridi wants to win but i don't think he has a plan. He could have put more pressure in the middle overs. There were a lot of easy singles throughout the innings.
With shoaib, gul, ajmal and himself in the bowling line, i don't think not having frontline bowlers is an excuse. 294 is a big total to lose a match.
He has come out as the saviour of Pakistan again but this a-hole started the whole domino effect by pulling out in the middle of the series and appointing a kid as a captain.
Things would have been very different if he had gotten us through this tour.
I wouldnt blame Hafeez, even his presence at crease alongwith Kamran made lot of difference, a wicket would have put the next batsman under pressure. AbdulRazzaq would have scored better than Fawad at end, though Asad played very well, i had thought that it was Fawad who should have come in place of Asad (wrote that too).
As for Akhtar, i think his shorter balls would have been more difficult for middle&tail to handle and he has a better yorker.
Irfan has pathetic fielding as well.
LOL...sahid masood is only against zardari....hassan nasar would be a better example.....check him out in chorahha...challo yaar...naraz mat ho..my bad...and I apologize...
I hate Hassan Nisaar. he is a karaye ka "intellectual". his only job is to spread pessimism in this country. pay him enough and he will say anything against anybody. never seen him say anything positive about anybody (except for MQM but we all know why that is).
I hate Hassan Nisaar. he is a karaye ka intellectual. his only job is to spread pessimism in this country. pay him enough and he will say anything against anybody. never seen him say anything positive about anybody (except for MQM but we all know why that is).
Wo kahan ka intellectual hai, ye kaam tu sara Pakistan ker raha hai, tharey pe baith ker galiyaan nikalna
there... there... it will be okay. you will get over this crime against humanity.
the good news for you though is that Tendulkar says that no Indian player has ever been approached by a bookie... except for Azharuddin... and Jadeja... and also Prabhakar... oh and who did Prabhakar accuse of bribing him? Kapil something... Kapil Dev, was it? anyway, all is well in sparkly and squeaky clean Indian cricket.
phew. that's a relief.
Wo kahan ka intellectual hai, ye kaam tu sara Pakistan ker raha hai, tharey pe baith ker galiyaan nikalna
exactly what I was trying to say. I edited my post to reflect what I meant to say.
When man its already over for us in this series
may be they will win the last match
there... there... it will be okay. you will get over this crime against humanity.
the good news for you though is that Tendulkar says that no Indian player has ever been approached by a bookie... except for Azharuddin... and Jadeja... and also Prabhakar... oh and who did Prabhakar accuse of bribing him? Kapil something... Kapil Dev, was it? anyway, all is well in sparkly and squeaky clean Indian cricket.
phew. that's a relief.
What a retarrded and irrelevant response to my genuine concern for world cricket.
Billy Doctrove's usual tendency to screw us over, dropped catches esp. Irfan's drop of Strauss and lack of urgency shown in the field by Afridi contributed to the defeat.
It was just poor field positioning from Afridi! He put the worst fielders in the most important catching positions. Irfan dropped an absolute dolly of a catch of Strauss at short leg and there were no slips given for the most part to any bowler today. It was just too easy for Trott & Strauss, they cruised to 50 & 100, they hardly broke a sweat, hardly took any risks, most of the runs were made with 1s n 2s. England weren't even bothered about hitting boundaries because every over they were getting 5-6 runs easily
In nutshell Afridi's defensive mindset from the outset cost us the game today. About time he engaged his brain in the field
Wide balls also did not help the cause. This team lacks the passion and hunger to win.
If Razzaq is fit he should replace Irfan in the next game. Asad Shafiq was impressive again with the bat
The Britons have been giving it loads recently about the "spirit of cricket" and the integrity of the game, yet the England captain Strauss was just blatantly caught behind off his glove and didn't walk. Is this not against the spirit of the game?
Asad Shafiq was impressive again with the bat
It's good to see some batsmen with solid technique coming into the ranks. Botht Azhar and now Asad have been impressive so far.