Re: 2nd ODI after match discussion..
Inzi has never been called a great captain, the best comments he had was that his captaincy in improving.
And why the hell M Asif bowled on 6 overs. He should have been tried to break up the partnerships
Inzi has never been called a great captain, the best comments he had was that his captaincy in improving.
And why the hell M Asif bowled on 6 overs. He should have been tried to break up the partnerships
This is what went wrong:
For all our huffing and puffing about the difference in our bowling from the Indians, the Indians have actually bowled better than us. At least they don’t bowl to our batsmen’s strengths on purpose, with the exception of a few loose balls. On the other hand it seemed with Rana, Gul etc. that we were giving Indian batsmen boundary hitting practice.
Some observations from Cricinfo on our batting:
**Bowling out Pakistan for 265 suggests a strong display in the field but in truth Pakistan batted as if they had listened to their own hype. They were startlingly complacent and you can argue, in each dismissal, that they shot themselves in the foot ten times today.
Was batting first a mistake? Marginally so but only in hindsight, which is a fickle gauge anyway. It wouldn’t have mattered much, so poor was Pakistan’s batting; if it wasn’t poor shot selection, it was some comically shambolic running, most memorably in Mohammad Yousuf’s case.
Pakistan’s bowling - the admirable Mohammad Asif apart - has looked as ineffective as India’s is meant to be. Shoaib Akhtar’s injury and the dropping of Mohammad Sami suddenly - after India have amassed nearly 600 runs for 13 wickets at well over six per over - takes on an altogether more serious hue. **
http://content-pak.cricinfo.com/pakvind/content/current/story/236649.html
Aik hee match harnay pey sub kay chaku churian nakalain.....kabhee ki raathein baree tho kabhee ke din....
Probably the most tellin aspect was Sami's absence. Rana should be sent to Wana, hero number zero.
Kudos to India for demonstrating fighting spirit and the hunger to win.
Yaar Captain1,
Indian bowlers don't have the flash and egos of Pakistani bowlers. They don't have much pace either but they bowled with excellent line and length control from the VERY first delivery -- opener sent home on duck.
Pakistanis keep harping on the great Pakistani batting line up. I didn't see it. They played like amateurs. Yohana made a bad call and got run out. Inzi made a stupid mistake and don't get me started on lapaitoo Afridi. Their goal is to win matches and last night they failed miserably.
Indians capitalized on their strengths and exploited Pakistani weaknesses. That's talent. God forbid Pakistanis admit that Indians played better then
I am done with this discussion. I'll let you have the last word if you want.
Excellent post Gizzy, I agree that miss-reading the pitch is not THE issue. The bottom line is that Pakistan played stupid! I mean apart from Butt's out all of the other wickets were given away. Akmal, Yousuf, Inzi, Malik, Razzaq and Afridi. They were just plyaing stupid. That's all I can say and still managed to make 264. So many run-outs for what? What's the hurry and especially the situation Pakistan was in. Inzi has been a disappointment so for, I admit. The shot he played in the 2nd ODI was just unbearable. Also, when India lost Sachin and Shewag why didn't he bring the feilding closer? Everyone was around the boundry, why not bring people in and stop the singles? Yousuf, I have no idea such a good player would be so atrocious around the wicket.
Then we talk about bowling, I mean just look at past three Test matches. How many times in those 14 days a bowler had an advantage? 2 Days. First Day Karachi Test then 4th day Karachi Test. Why they don't make grassy pitches, I have no idea. On top of that they don't play Sami. Why? What's the reason? Gul and others are local boys. They don't have the speed. Indians can play them easily. They have problem with the pace. You put Akhtar and Asif together, Indians won't be able to chase 264. Why they need Arshad Khan? We all know the pitch did not favor the spinner from the start. Danish took tailenders and that's it. What is Arshad going to do in the One Days? Bring a pace attack.
This team can still go 4-1 if you ask me as long as they play smart, simple and stop shooting themselves in the foot.
Niz_b: I agree with most of what you said, but this:
Because I think in a crisis situation like this Afridi could have been sent it a little earlier up the order. We know he would not go and hold the wicket but if he doesn't get out then he could help stabalise the scoreboard a lot and then the taking off the pressure for the remaining batsmen to come. I know it is a gamble, as Afridi it is never possible to tell how long Afridi will stay on the crease. (like today: If that ball had ben hit a little straigh then it would go for a 6)
Ditto that!
Yeah, everyone is asking those questions, yet PCB still fails to deliver a green pitch which would support the Pakistani bowling lineup (which is not considered to be one of the best n the world) Then why not make pitches to support those bowlers, instead of making as we call them "Bowler ka murda-khana".
Lets hope, after today we dont get to see or hear about Arshad Khan again for a looong loooong time, they can send him to the Bermuda Traingle.
c'mon every1 admit it that the indians really outclassed pak today,who played really poorly.i just want to say 1 thing
MAKE AFRIDI OPEN KHUDA KEY BANDO :(
Bring Afridi in to open the innings instead of Akmal. Akmal is a technically correct batsman, and doesn't play shots over the head of the fielders. In the first 10-20 overs, we need Afridi who can accelerate the run-rate by smashing the ball over the heads.
Also, Afridi is NOT the crisis man. He is not someone you depend on when the chips are down. He's never played a good innings when Pakistan's lost quick wickets and he's required to play out the overs. Just like in this ODI, when Afridi cam in, we still had about 14 overs to go. The situation required him to stay until the end. Without doing anything special, he would've made 6 runs an over, and then tried to hit out the last 4 overs. He's been in this situation numerous times, and never to my knowledge, delivered. It's not that he doesn't know how to curb his instincts and play a grafty innings, his centuries in Tests are a testament to that.... it's just that his attitude is "if the other batsmen played insensibly, I sure as hell ain't going to stand around and make up for it..." Higher up in the order is a different matter, he can bat with gay abandon knowing the rest of the batting lineup is still to follow. Had Akmal been in this situation, Pakistan would've fared much better. Hence the need to switch Akmal and Afridi in the batting order.
The less said about Mo-Yo the better. And Younis Khan never looked like accelerating. He's just looks to be a different player in ODI's than in Tests. Shoaib Malik also seems to be out of sorts. Pakistan wasted a lot of runs by hitting straight to fielders and not getting singles. Inzimam and Mo-Yo are the only ones who can keep the scoreboard ticking by stealing singles and twos and punishing bad balls.
The only batsman who was impressive was Umer Gul!
3 cheers for umer gul ![]()
Even when Pak won in Peshawar, I had said that Inzi's captaincy has some serious glitches. Same thing today (or yesterday). However, it will be unfair to lay the entire blame on the captain alone. The batsmen scored 40-50 fewer runs due to their own stupidity. Starting from #1.
Lets see...
Butt: Dude, you are an opener. There is no excuse for you to get out on ball number 2 of the first over. You are supposed to play the moving ball. That differentiates an opener from a middle order batsman. Next time rauti soorat bana ke waapis na aana.
Akmal: Seriously, I think you are a technically correct batsman, but lately you are not firing at the opening slot. Needs some psychological coaching, perhaps.
Malik: No complaints. But dude, next time, can you factor in your running that the throw from the bounday may be accurate? After all, you are the one, who ran out an Indian batsman with a direct throw from the bounday. Trust me, you are not the only one who can do that.
Yousaf: I think, for you, there is an inverse relationship between the length of your beard intelligence in your running between the wickets. If its not the three steps you take after playing every shot, the non-existent second run you tried to score yesterday, without calling or looking at your partner was the absolute pits.
Inzamam: Is ODI really for you, sir ji? I mean, you are extremely lazy, slow and fat. Consider sticking to only the tests. That will help us a lot in captaincy on the field department as well. Plus the shot you played to get out, should be a criminal offense for someone with 300+ ODI's.
Younis: Really, no complaints, but please next time don't get out when you are the only one left and several overs to play for.
Afridi: Khoocha, tumhay tau kuch keh bhi nahi saktay. Tum akhrot hi rehna.
Razzaq: Only two gears, slow and fantastic... but dude, when you play a shot straight at mid-off, you don't run. Pallay baandh lo ye baat.
Rana: You are no Shoaib Akhtar in the batting department. So please don't try.
10 & 11: Irrelevant.
Re: our bowling and field captaincy, you guys have already said enough.
^^:rotfl:
IMO Pak lost this match due to 2 basic reasons:
They did not give a chance for Indian bowlers to screw up too much - 4 RUN OUTS. In spite of that they scored 265 and that should tell you that Indian bowlers were trying hard to do their usual race to bottom - except this time the Pak batsmen kept getting run out.
Sachin showed some mental toughness. You could tell that he was trying to remember the instincts (or whatever the term is that led to his being the greatest) of the past and it showed on a few occasions. That resulted in a 100+ start within 15 overs are so. When you do that, you have the opponet in mixed up hindlegs from which only really great players can recover and that too on special days.
Lets see...
Butt: Dude, you are an opener. There is no excuse for you to get out on ball number 2 of the first over. You are supposed to play the moving ball. That differentiates an opener from a middle order batsman. Next time rauti soorat bana ke waapis na aana.
Akmal: Seriously, I think you are a technically correct batsman, but lately you are not firing at the opening slot. Needs some psychological coaching, perhaps.
Malik: No complaints. But dude, next time, can you factor in your running that the throw from the bounday may be accurate? After all, you are the one, who ran out an Indian batsman with a direct throw from the bounday. Trust me, you are not the only one who can do that.
Yousaf: I think, for you, there is an inverse relationship between the length of your beard intelligence in your running between the wickets. If its not the three steps you take after playing every shot, the non-existent second run you tried to score yesterday, without calling or looking at your partner was the absolute pits.
Inzamam: Is ODI really for you, sir ji? I mean, you are extremely lazy, slow and fat. Consider sticking to only the tests. That will help us a lot in captaincy on the field department as well. Plus the shot you played to get out, should be a criminal offense for someone with 300+ ODI's.
Younis: Really, no complaints, but please next time don't get out when you are the only one left and several overs to play for.
Afridi: Khoocha, tumhay tau kuch keh bhi nahi saktay. Tum akhrot hi rehna.
Razzaq: Only two gears, slow and fantastic... but dude, when you play a shot straight at mid-off, you don't run. Pallay baandh lo ye baat.
Rana: You are no Shoaib Akhtar in the batting department. So please don't try.
10 & 11: Irrelevant.
Re: our bowling and field captaincy, you guys have already said enough.
Faisal Bhai, very nice. Really enjoyed reading ur post :)
I agree with some of you guys, lack of pace did really hurt us. When you have four medium seamers in the team, not only the bowling attack becomes so predictable, the shots selection and timing of the batsmen remains unchanged. The Indian batsmen were a having a good batting practice out there. They struggled in the test match because of the fast & medium bowling combinations.
Rana was better off in the past when he was a low key player and displayed discipline in his bowling. His recent taste of success and automatic ODI selection is making him little cocky. Rather than sticking to bowling basics, he chose to indulging himself in some sort of trash talk as he was getting wacked all over the place by sehwag. Rana should better get his act up otherwise his mediocre talent won’t take him anywhere.
If we are so hell bent on picking an offspinner as our super sub then why not bring back Saqlain mushtaq instead of Arshad Khan(no offense uncle). Atleast we can expect some wickets or “teesras” from Saqlain. ![]()
Anyways congrats to India for playing really good cricket allround!!Credits should be given where its due. They were under the gun,and easily could have folded out but instead outplayed us in every facets of the game.
okay I feel dirty now..I have to throw up :yukh:
:k: faisal. Pakistan deserved to lose this match. Fielding was bad, batting was equally worse and the bowling sucked more than anything
Ok guys, Pak lost and there's a lot of things to be learned. First of all, I don't know what in the world Pak batsmen were thinking about running between the wicket. Guys, could imagine 4 run outs in a one day game lately? The running between the wicket was absolute crap and I hope Pak takes a look @ it.
Really, bowling was really ordinary and guys we are missing pace big time. We got M. Asif and Rana Naved. In my opinion, they both are superb bowlers with good pace but to give India hard time, we need express pace and that job can't be done better by anyone than Shoaib Akhtar. I am more than sure that Shoaib will be back and InshAllah Pak will bounce back strong.
I think Shoaib Malik and Younis Khan are doing a great job but we need to stick close during the field as well. Inzi's captaincy, not the class calibre but he could have shaken the Indian batting by employing power play 2 as soon as Pak got Sehwag out. I wonder sometimes where his mind went? Also, making Arshad Khan supersub, seems to me all guppies are totally opposed to it and include me as well..
I believe we should employ either Yasir Hameed or even Yasir Arafat as super sub so we can have extra variety in the bowling dept. Oh well, one thing before I leave, I loved the comments and well articulated article written by fellow guppy "FAISAL." Really well done.
Aright, take care
Umer579
Great points by everyone.
Allow me to diverge the boat in a new direction for a few moments. I absolutely loved watching Straight Drive this evening. The inclusion of Imran Khan over Waqar Younis has gained my interest tremendously. All of Imran's comments were very candid, he praised and criticized very well (all three forms of Pakistani team), and invariably, also got into a little bit of heating arguments with Nasser Hussain with his own version of comments. Just goes to show what one man can change the whole scenario. I would have even loved to have a trio of Khan/Boycott. They would have ripped apart all aspects of Pakistani lineup equally and in a considerable fashion. During the test match season, understanding Waqar was a one separate issue (with his BUT-TAAA's and SHOULD-AAA's) and interpreting it was another nightmare. Imran, on the other hand, was brilliant. Not only he gathered his thoughts calmly and effectively, he was very patient in his concerns and questions, which made the viewing experience that much more desirable overall. Two thumbs up!
That has to be one of the worst aspects of modern Pakistani game. Since the English series, we have throughouly banked on Yousuf, over and over again, to run between the wickets effectively, but every single time, even while during his defensive mode, he would just pat the ball and run halfway down the pitch without even realizing and looking at the ball or the fielder. This has gone on long enough, in my opinion. It is about time this sort of behavior is forced to a complete halt. Understandably, he plays the anchor role in our side, and by wearing the label of one of the most senior cricketers in the team, one simply cannot repeat the same mistake, over and over again.
I wonder what kind of message Inzamam and Yousuf are sending back to the youngsters who are stepping their foot in International Cricket. With so much experience under their belts, at times the word "basics" just completely disappears from their dictionaries into thin air, with no signs of coming back whatsoever.