29 TV channels now broadcasting programmes in Pakistan.

Mashallah. The free media getting even more freedom.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=81921

Memon said 29 television channels were broadcasting programmes and the remaining ones, who would agree to abide by the law, would also be allowed to resume transmission.

Re: 29 TV channels now broadcasting programmes in Pakistan.

why couldn’t this be posted in related thread :aq:

BS... I hope none of the other chanels agree to be muzzled by the dictator and his chamcha's.

That’s far, far more channels that were available during the times of Nawaz and Benazir, when we only had PTV for news and information.

Anyway, the likes of Geo and ARY must be feeling really betrayed that these 29 channels are broadcasting freely in Pakistan now. :slight_smile:

^ and this is something really we should be proud of. These channels have to survive, that is why they kneel against dictator, otherwise they can go bankcrupt in a month, they don't have very strong financial backings. Where as ARY and Geo belong to biggest media and gold tycoon groups. They can feed their employees, satellite fees and relocation costs.

However Pak-Ind series is a bigger blow for Geo, they lost Rs. 1B already.

Govt, media agree to resolve issues

Islamabad (APP) - The government and representatives of publishers, editors and working journalists sat together on Thursday to review the media-related issues and agreed to move forward for their resolution. Newspapers, news agencies, books registrations (amendment) Ordinance, 2007, Ethical Code of Practice contained in the Pakistan Press Council Ordinance, 2002, which had caused concern to the media organizations, will be suitably amended through mutual consultation, it was decided. It was also agreed that the media bodies would provide names of their nominees for the Pakistan Press Council by the first week of the next month. It was further agreed that the matter regarding registration of FIRs against the journalists would be taken up at the appropriate level.

**The decisions were taken at a joint meeting of the heads of CPNE, APNS and PFUJ with the Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Nisar A Memon here. Hameed Haroon, President APNS, Syed Fasieh Iqbal, President CPNE, Huma Ali, President PFUJ, Qazi Muhammad Aslam, Secretary General APNS, Wamiq Zuberi, Secretary General CPNE, DR Tanvir A Tahir, Executive Director APNS, represented the media bodies.
In his remarks, the minister said, “I am against physical action against any citizen of Pakistan, especially the media”. He reiterated his trust and hoped that building of a conducive environment was necessary between media and the government for the holding of free, fair and transparent elections in the country. Nisar A Memon expressed concern over the untoward incidents of violence against the media representatives at some places. “Journalists are like my children and this is the message I conveyed to the Governors and CM of provinces,” the Minister said adding that any issues relating to the media be conveyed to me for resolution’. The Secretary Information and Broadcasting, Syed Anwar Mahmood, Additional Secretary, Fazalur Rehman Malik, PIO Rashid Ahmad and Director General (IP) Syed Fayyaz Hussain also attended the meeting.

http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/nov-2007/23/index16.php

The press has never been abused and brutalised in Pakistan as it is now.

What was that:

Long live free media in jails. :jhanda:

Meaning 29 channels decided to bow down to the dictator in order to save their own business.

ARY has come to an agreement with the Pakistan govt, and will be allowed to resume broadcasting as well, so now it's upto 30 channels. :)

The channel is back on cable networks in Pakistan,’ ARYOne news director Mohsin Raza told AFP

from a pakistani reader in US: I am a doctor my family is also highly educated now since i start watching geo i came to know how bad pakistanis are i feel shame to be a pakistani how they are fighting.How you geo you prove on media that pakistan is a worst country every thing is wrong its adminstration is wrong and 100 percent corrept you are the only honest other every body is wrong and corrupt. Who say you are a pakistani you are not a pakistani you are some worst animal who continously destroying my country name why you are doing this for money curse you people.

Now instead up 1 PTV we have 29 PTVS....which begs the question why do we need so many PTVS? Kia eik kafi nahi thaa Mushrraf ke tareef kernay kelyia?

Mashallah. God bless the Free Media. :k:

Yup, all restored in less than 3 weeks. :)

^ what about terrorists, is the country free of terrorists now?

Alhamdulilallah. All fuss about nothing. :)

yes nothing, no one was arrested, honey and milk continued to flow in last 3 weeks.

Captain bhai, it is time to rejoice. Thanks to the temporary emergency Pakistan will remain on the growth path and not move towards anarchy. Pakistanis have never had it so good. Enjoy, Enjoy. The channels are now coming back. :)

yes, the anarchy of constitution and justice.

I don't see any Anarchy in this area. :)