24th Men's Champions Trophy - Hockey

The guy in the article just simply took words from my mouth.
One thing he forgot to mention is that not only Pakistan bring a good attitude to the field but also a better team.

I almost thaught my post was deleted like on World & everyother forum..::eek: :nono: :2guns:

and holland won the tournament so double mazza for me :hula:

HOLLAND SIMPLY THE BEST TEAM IN THE WORLD!!!
Noone can beat them when it really matters! :hula:
just look at the last two Olympics and again this tournament!

Pakistan: they played well :k:, but never looked to deserve a place in the final, so third best is where they stand i think…

Bara teer mara hai, aik match jeet ke… :rolleyes:

India tak se to haar gaye thay.. :frowning:
I mean last match..

:hula:

Indians :stuck_out_tongue:

haar gaye thay and then we kick back :hehe:

http://www.smilies.nl/bounce/huepfenicon111.gif

*Originally posted by Spock: *
PT, I gotta hand it to you buddy... This piece of article you posted probably explains the true reason why the great BJP government does not want to let their cricket team play Pakistan...

Spock Ji :

My congratulations to the Pakistan team at winning the Bronze Medal.

Whether it is Cricket or Hockey it does not matter who wins or loses. All we want is that the game should be played.

The main reason the Indian Government - BJP or otherwise - is not allowing the Indian Cricket Team to Play the Pakistani Cricket Team is just plain Money.

The PCB has been complaining that they have lost over USD 30 Millions due to Foreign Teams shying away from playing Cricket in Pakistan especially the Indian Team as only when India play Pakistan that the two teams bring out the best in them and this brings in the biggest of crowds.

Again with Pakistan playing West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Australia in Sharjah, Colombo, Morroco and Nairobi etc. the PCB earns a pittance in Sponsership and nothing in Attendance Ticket Earnings.

In addition the locals do not get the benefit of seeing their Own Heroes play. This is the psychological aspect.

You can criticise the BJP Government as much as you like and many of us Indians will understand your reasons, however, the non-playing of Cricket between Pakistan and India is plain and simple about Money.

I hope my Pakistan Friends will realise that I have No Axe To Grind. The loss of USD 30 Millions last year is documented in the Pakistani News Papers.

It is sad that the Indian government has to resort to such tactics of hitting the Pakistani Cricket Board and eventually Pakistan in such a manner but All Is Fair In Love And War.

*Originally posted by bdsurti: *

Spock Ji :

My congratulations to the Pakistan team at winning the Bronze Medal.

Whether it is Cricket or Hockey it does not matter who wins or loses. All we want is that the game should be played.

The main reason the Indian Government - BJP or otherwise - is not allowing the Indian Cricket Team to Play the Pakistani Cricket Team is just plain Money.

The PCB has been complaining that they have lost over USD 30 Millions due to Foreign Teams shying away from playing Cricket in Pakistan especially the Indian Team as only when India play Pakistan that the two teams bring out the best in them and this brings in the biggest of crowds.

Again with Pakistan playing West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Australia in Sharjah, Colombo, Morroco and Nairobi etc. the PCB earns a pittance in Sponsership and nothing in Attendance Ticket Earnings.

In addition the locals do not get the benefit of seeing their Own Heroes play. This is the psychological aspect.

You can criticise the BJP Government as much as you like and many of us Indians will understand your reasons, however, the non-playing of Cricket between Pakistan and India is plain and simple about Money.

I hope my Pakistan Friends will realise that I have No Axe To Grind. The loss of USD 30 Millions last year is documented in the Pakistani News Papers.

It is sad that the Indian government has to resort to such tactics of hitting the Pakistani Cricket Board and eventually Pakistan in such a manner but All Is Fair In Love And War.

bdsurti, its not money brother... I respect your opinion, but I am not convinced... Cricket is followed with alot of passion in India, which is why the Government, in the interest of the country does not allow its cricket team to play Pakistan. I once heard from my servent, who hails from kashmir that whenever Pakistan won a match against India, they would go out and celebrate in huge crowds, and then the army dispersed them...

Same here bdsurti.
I don't think money is the factor in this issue.
Why does India refuse to play Pakistan in Sharjah, the money in Sharjah doesn't go to Pakistan cricket does it?

Spockji : You said -

bdsurti, its not money brother... I respect your opinion, but I am not convinced... Cricket is followed with alot of passion in India, which is why the Government, in the interest of the country does not allow its cricket team to play Pakistan. I once heard from my servent, who hails from kashmir that whenever Pakistan won a match against India, they would go out and celebrate in huge crowds, and then the army dispersed them...

UMAIR316ji : You said –

Same here bdsurti.
I don't think money is the factor in this issue.
Why does India refuse to play Pakistan in Sharjah, the money in Sharjah doesn't go to Pakistan cricket does it?

I would not enforce my views on you gentlemen, especially when I, an Indian Hindu, am addressed as ‘’brother’’ by Pakistanis and Muslims.

It just goes to prove that Maanavta i.e. Insaniyat , despite all the efforts of our leaders to the contrary, is still alive and kicking – especially kicking our leaders, in their fat behinds, who refuse to take heed.

• The Money Issue : Your are aware of the Pakistan vs West Indies Test Matches. It attracted crowds and sponsorship from ARY. Fine.

However, when there is an India vs Pakistan Match, then the Passionate Crowds are spilling on the streets and Sponsorship is from Coca Cola or Pepsi Cola, large Consumer White goods Manufacturers, Car + Motor Cycle + Scooter Manufacturers and many more – too many to enumerate here. There are Millions and Millions of US Dollars attracted, in TV Broadcasting Rights, to this Match as in addition to 140 Million Pakistanis there are 1,050 Million Indians.

Thus the amounts are so huge that I am sure a series of Matches between Pakistan and India in Sharjah would earn may be US Dollars10 Million for Pakistan Only. You might argue that the figure will be only USD 5 Million, but, still it is a Large Sum of Money for the PCB.

In addition there will be Hundred of Millions of US Dollars to be made by the Dawood and Chotta Shakeel Combine. This is the second Group that the Government of India is hitting hard – much harder than the PCB and Pakistan.

-Muslims (Kashmiri and Indian) supporting Pakistani Team against India. I would not like to argue, but, the following are also true and guess who gets hurt :

In Sri Lanka : All Sri Lankan Muslims support the Pakistani and Bangladeshi Cricket Teams when they play against Sri Lanka. This does indeed make the Sri Lankan Muslim community very Popular with the Rest of the Sri Lankans. Or is it otherwise? Is this due to the fact that there is a BJP Government in India or is it due to the Kashmir problem?

In Bangladesh : The Biharis who migrated to the then East Pakistan these days support the Pakistan Team against the Bangladesh Team – we are all aware that even though Bangladesh was formed in 1971 our Bihari Brothers refuse to assimilate with the Bangladeshis and are awaiting repatriation to Pakistan. Again this must be making the Biharis very popular with the overwhelming Majority of Bengali Speaking Bangladeshis. Or is it otherwise? Is this due to the fact that there is a BJP Government in India or is it due to the Kashmir problem?

We all know that the Pakistani Origin community in the UK (even those who are Second and Third Generation) always support the Pakistani Team against England. This makes the Pakistanis extremely unpopular with the ‘’LOCALS’’. You will remember Norman Tebbit’s ‘’CRICKET TEST’’. The ‘’LOCALS’’ are mystified when the British Citizens of Bangladeshi Origin also support the Pakistani Team against England. The East Pakistan / West Pakistan conflict is the basic reason for the mystification in the minds of the ‘’LOCALS’’. The ‘’LOCALS’’ are further perplexed by the support given by British Citizens of Indian Origin to the Pakistani Team.

Do you think the Kenyan Majority was EXTREMELY HAPPY when Muslim Kenyans cheered the Pakistani Team during the Kenya Cup?

*I am saddened to admit that the support given by the British Citizens of Indian Origin to the Indian Team against England is also raising the hackles of the ‘’LOCALS’’. *

The ‘’LOCALS’’ very rightly state ‘’You come and live in our society, take our Jobs, use our Schools whereas when it comes to Loyalty then it is the opposing Team’’

So Brothers it is time that our Leadership made us to be Faithful to Our Salt. Or as we say in India ‘’Jiska Loon Khaon Uskay Goon Gaon’’

I am still an Indian Citizen so I have no problem of supporting any Team in England.

I trust my words above are taken in the Spirit that they are offered. There is no rancour in my words. All I have done is to explain things as I have seen and understood them. They are not meant to hurt any feelings, and if they do then you have my apology in advance.

I hope you answer similarly

P.S. The Indian Cricket Team is regularly beaten by Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa, England, West Indies, Zimbabwe and even Kenya. India still plays Cricket with them.

Let us hope India - Pakistan Cricket is revived soon, but, it will take the two governments to sort out their other problems. It is regretted that the Indian government had to resort to this i.e. using Sport for solving Political problems. Well, I have said it before : All Is Fair In Love And War.

Yup, I must trust your Servant now, Even Players like Md. Azharuddin,Salim Durrani, Syed Kirmani, Abid Ali and many other players used to clebrate on the cricket Ground itself After every loss to Pakistan.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Yup, I must trust your Servant now, Even Players like Md. Azharuddin,Salim Durrani, Syed Kirmani, Abid Ali and many other players used to clebrate on the cricket Ground itself After every loss to Pakistan.

Bhai Asif_k : Take it easy Bhai. No need for Caustic or Sarcastic Remarks.

I have explained to Spockji and UMAIR316ji. Of course this is not what they want to hear.

It is just that the Indian Government seems to be able to play Politics with in the field of Sport to enable them to sort out various problems with Pakistan. Not Fair, but, When Was Life Fair?

I am sure that the Indian and Pakistani Governments will sort out their problems and whenever that be it will not have been a day too soon.

Bhai Asif_k : Take it easy Bhai. No need for Caustic or Sarcastic Remarks.

I have explained to Spockji and UMAIR316ji. Of course this is not what they want to hear.

It is just that the Indian Government seems to be able to play Politics with in the field of Sport to enable them to sort out various problems with Pakistan. Not Fair, but, When Was Life Fair?

I am sure that the Indian and Pakistani Governments will sort out their problems and whenever that be it will not have been a day too soon.

No use, hes just a cry baby, and he takes everything personally and starts crying if we tell him our views... He is associating the Muslims of Kashmir with all the Muslim cricket players...

btw bdsurti bro, if you say Money is the reason why the team isnt playing Pakistan, why doesnt the Government of India declare that openly? Last time I heard, they associated cross border terrorism as the reason they dont allow their team to play Pakistan... If thats the reason, how come they allow hockey (and other games) to be played?

No use, hes just a cry baby, and he takes everything personally and starts crying if we tell him our views... He is associating the Muslims of Kashmir with all the Muslim cricket players...

btw bdsurti bro, if you say Money is the reason why the team isnt playing Pakistan, why doesnt the Government of India declare that openly? Last time I heard, they associated cross border terrorism as the reason they dont allow their team to play Pakistan... If thats the reason, how come they allow hockey (and other games) to be played?

Spockji : The Indian Government is neither able to convince the Government of Pakistan to stop the cross-border terrorism nor have the Pakistani government hand over the Twenty Criminals – the top two being Dawood and Chhotta Shakeel.

The Indian Government, in its Wisdom, states that this has got to do with Cross Border Terrorism. Read the Pakistani Newspapers, some time back there was a very detailed article about India hitting Pakistan’s foreign Exchange Earnings by stopping India-Pakistan Cricket Matches also that last year the PCB lost about USD 30 Million due to cancelled tours and India not playing Pakistan even in Sharjah. I have read this article on another Forum and will search for it and copy it to you here. The Indian Government does not have to go on the rooftops and proclaim that in order to stop cross border terrorism from Pakistan they are stopping the Cricket Matches. Everybody knows the Reason, whether they understand them or not is another matter. IT IS NOT JUST ABOUT MONEY, IT IS USING THE MONEY ANGLE FOR GETTING AT PAKISTAN AND THE DAWOOD CHHOTTA SHAKEEL COMBINE. This is called POLITICS.

So the Indian Government has taken the action of not allowing the Indian Cricket Team to Play Pakistan thereby hitting both Pakistan and the Dawood Chhotta Shakeel combine where it really hurts i.e. in their Pockets. By India not playing in Pakistan and not having Pakistan play in India, Pakistan suffers – financially and the disappointment of its People who are unable to watch the Cricket Matches – though this is also with the West Indies, Australia, New Zealand and possibly South Africa and England will join in.

I suggest this matter has had the death beaten out of it. The Indian Government has stopped the Indian Team from playing Cricket with Pakistan as Pakistan sponsors and does not stop cross border terrorism. Well, let the two Governments sort the matter out. Other sports do not attract the huge sums of money that Cricket attracts in India and Pakistan.

In the meantime we mortals will keep on ‘’GUPSHUPPING’’ and hoping that India and Pakistan Cricket Matches resume in the near future. And when they do let the best team win.

Finally my thanks to the Moderator(s) of this Forum who has allowed a discussion about Cricket, Indian Govrnment's non-coperation with Pakistani Govrenment, Cross Border Terrorism and Loss of revenue by PCB and Dawood Chhotta Shakeel Combine i.e. everything under the Sun except Hockey on this Hockey Thread without rapping our knuckles.

So Spockji if we have to discuss this any further then we must find the right Section of the Gupshup Forum.

Happy Huntings

Cross Border Terrorism

Loc != IB. Hello!!!!

How do you say it's a Crose Border Terrorism then?