Re: 24 year old Lahori man marries a 30 year old texan woman
@ all of you
The woman does look frightened. I feel so bad for her though, she had no real family unit when she was growing up. All I hope for is that she thought the whole issue out before she jumped into a marriage like this.
^^ it's the mother in law I dont like the look of.
Le das! Enu poorey Amreeka 'cho GINGER hi mili si? ![]()
Baal theek tarhan se katwa le to acha bhala handsome larka hai, aisay hi apni jawani ka berang-o-bemaza gori ke peechay satyanas kar diya.
He’s on the Internet and every Paki knows this website so I bet he’ll end up on here googling his story, just wanna say bro hadd-e-desperation, green card lo aur wapis Pakistan ja ke kisi namkeen si larki se shaadi kar lo, yeh to ek dam pheeki hai.
#1) Yes they do. It is also a less of an issue of them blessing it, but more of an issue of how well they would accept him, so its not about a problem for her, but a problem for him.
#2) Yes they do.
by that token someone from a village in Mississippi is going to be very compatible with someone from a small village in NWFP?
but is that the case.
No, I said small town Texas (where life has a country/slow paced lifestyle) v/s someone from Lahore. If she has had conversative upbringing and has similar values that our Lahori dude espouses, things could work out -- assumption is that they both have values in common, have had similar lifestyle etc. Had she been an Manhatanite, things could be different -- assuming different values here and not implying that Manhatanite can't be conservative.
but here it is indeed the case.
oh wowwwwwwwww jus wooww
LI
She lives in a suburb of austin, Texas.
if you have been to austin texas you would know that its not some hick small town. It is actually more progressive than dallas and houston.
And its not a question of small town middle america values. What is acceptable in small town middle america is still something that is not very acceptable in Pakistan.
some simple things, meeting her ex boyfriend, who is now just a friend..wifey going out for girls night out with her pals drinking. wife in a bikini at the pool..
These are things that are commonplace...however not something a freshie out of lahire can necessarily agree with, and thus the difference in lifestyles would become an issue.
Why are people coming on this thread and acting all holier than thou with their "OMG I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU GUYS ARE SO JELOUS...MEAN COMMENTS..BLAH BLAH BLAH...LOLZRLOER!!!111"
Fact is that this is ridiculous. No one is jealous of anyone. They both barely know anything about each other AND there are huge cultural differences to boot. If it was a Bulgarian man marrying a Canadian woman from Beaver Creek, I would still be criticizing it since its ridiculous. Just because he is Pakistani doesn't mean we should be supporting him no matter what. There's no lack of Pakistani bashing here so I don't see why this is particular bash-fest is shocking.
Flame on fellas, I say!
but is that the case.
As long as the someone in mississipi is a guy.
(NWFP one too)
All of you futt the shut up and learn to mind your own futtin business.
People please let the couple be. May Allah give them happiness and a long blessed married life. Gammay you paki shame on you for posting this. And shame on DAWN newspaper. Are they seriously running out of musharraf ribbon ceremonies to write about? I thought DAWN was supposed to be pakistan's premier newspaper. They cant even get a half decent website without any gaudy dizzy moving image gif ad banners stuffed between every news heading!
guys it was in their local news section on the oline edition . its not the front page so relax. take your thumbs out yo butt..ok?
wtf is that suppose to mean?
And its not a question of small town middle america values. What is acceptable in small town middle america is still something that is not very acceptable in Pakistan.
True. There are exception though. I saw this BBC clip about Muslims converts from conservative white backgrounds in Middle America -- I think a guppie had posted that. Austin is very progressive town, I agree, but may be at heart she is that kinda conservaitve. Would that be true of every one from small-town-middle-America or Austin? Most likely not. However, in her case she is (and also in the cases of those who convert to Islam).
some simple things, meeting her ex boyfriend, who is now just a friend..wifey going out for girls night out with her pals drinking. wife in a bikini at the pool..
These are things that are commonplace...however not something a freshie out of lahire can necessarily agree with, and thus the difference in lifestyles would become an issue.
Out of this list, I think her past could become a problem for the couple but not insurmountable. As regards other activities (bikinis, drinking), she is Pakistan because by her admission she prefers a conservative lifestyle; she falls in the group I mentioned above. Otherwise, you are correct that generally speaking a fresshie out of lahore will not agree wiht many things.
challo ji dekhtay hain yeh oont kis karvat beth-ta hai :)
guys please no personal attacks or cursing or you'll have to say bye bye to the thread.
I agree. There is no reason this should be in a newspaper.
well dawn is a rag now, used to be good but the standards have slipped so much there.
come on why yo gotta be like that… i thought u loved gamma :love: