23rd March?

Some of you may be wondering what all the fuss is about whats so great about 23rd March for Pakistani’s…?

Surely Independance day was the 14th right? So what are we celebrating exactly? :konfused:

Well for those of you who mgiht not be aware heres a brief History lesson.

Pakistan emerged as an Independant Dominion in 1947 it was the result of the Partition of British controlled Indian Empire (what my brethren refer to as Hinudstan).

Pakistan gained official Independance on the 14 August around Lunchtime when under the watchfull eyes of Qaid e Azam and all the other heroes of the Independance movement the Flags were raised outside Lahore… India did not get it’s Independance for some hours later… :champ:

Anyway Pakistan was up till 1956 still and Independant Dominion however it all changed with the 1956 constitution. This superb document detailed the official constitution of the new Nation and it formally declared Pakistan as an Islamic Republic. Officail state Religion was not stated till 1973.

The constitution was the most important document in our Nations history not only did it make Pakistan what is recognised as the Worlds first Islamic Republic but it also put on paper the basic laws of the land which for the first time in almost 150 years granted the Majority of Muslims in the region the freedom they had fought so hard to gain.

While technically speaking Pakistan is not the Worlds first Islamic Republic becuase Madinatul Manuwarah was our Religions original state, and as recently as 1934 my Uighyur cousins had established the Republic of East Turkistan (which was brutally wiped out by China)

Yet Pakistan in 1956 was the only Islamic state in modern History to have achieved a constitution to the effect that not only was Islamic principles and doctrine going to be a big part of the Countries Political climate but also the first in the region to be declared a Republic, not a Domain, not an Empire, not a Principality or Dictatorship and definatley not a satelite state. Only one other country at the time had been created on simmilar grounds of Religion and that was the Zionist State of Isreal.

True today Pakistan seems like a country Islamic in name only but let us not forget the sacrifice of those before us never shall we ever forget what it took for those brave souls to allow us to enjoy our freedoms today.

Sure our beloved homeland is in dire straits but it was born in times of turmoil too and so long as we live we must never forget our past and we must do all we can to keep it alive for the future!

The very Earth, Salt, Milk and Water of that sacred land flows through my blood vessels and I will never ever forget my homeland… it deserves to be remembered for every inch of it flows with the shared blood of those that fought for it both before and after me…

Pakistan Zindabaad! :jhanda:

Re: 23rd March?

23 march pe qarar daad manzoor hui thi.

I am literally grateful to all those who got us pakistan. no other country can take the position of pak it will always remain no1 for me.

pakistan rocks :jhanda:

happy 23 march day to all

ps. nice sharing faris

23rd March is also special for Indians, since thats the martyrdom day of Bhagat Singh and his comrades Rajguru & Sukhdev :indiaflag:

Oh yeah that too…

Bhagat Singh Shaheed and all those with him and the later hero Udam Singh are real brave men who deserve respect. :jhanda:

Pakistan and India were home to some truly brave and inspiring people had we not been divided no power in the Wolrd would have matched a united India-Pakistan but sadly it was not to be.

Pakistan Zindabaad!

Hindustan Zindabaad!

:jhanda:

oh acha acha

Happy 23 march day to indians. :)

What is March 23rd significance? Was this the day in 1956 that the Pakistan Constitution was written?

PS - did not know March 23 was special for India also.

**70 years ago, on 23rd March, thousands of Muslims from all over the
sub-continent gathered in Lahore. They had one dream,
one vision and one mission. On that day,
under the able leadership of Jinnah and others,
the struggle for Pakistan started with full force and it
ended with the creation of Pakistan.
“Wish u a Very Happy 23rd march”

Pakistan Zindabad :jhanda: :jhanda: :jhanda: :jhanda:

How can we forget Ghazi IIM-Ud-Din Shaeed? Though he killed a Hindu who belonged to my community ,he did it for a cause and he was stubborn and brave . Such heroes deserve my praise. :slight_smile:

Yes and officially became an Islamic Republic on that day too 23rd March 1956 is perhaps just as significant as 14th August for it laid down in writing the core principles of our nation. :jhanda:

Happy March 23rd to all Pakistanis!

:konfused: How is he connected with 23rd March ?

And pls do not club a religious fanatic with true heroes. Who is next on your list - suicide bombers ?

^ I suppose your right Il Udeen Shaheed has no connection with the 23rd March Constitution day.

Though it can be argued as to his heroism, true he was a fanatic and was shaheed for his beliefs, but when you consider it Udam Singh, Mangal Pandey and many tohers can indeed be clumped together becuase to some extent they were all fanatics, but lets not divulge into the depths of the human mind and mix hatred and vengeance as well as other emotions.

Pakistan and India deserve to have pride in thier respective Constitutions… Insha Allah one day both nations will enjoy full powers they deserve. :jhanda:

can i write a column here???

Sure you can :)

23 March holds a Significant place in the History of Pakistan
Lahore Resolution [1940]

From March 22 to March 24, 1940, the All India Muslim League held its annual session at Minto Park, Lahore. This session proved to be historical.

On the first day of the session, Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah narrated the events of the last few months. In an extempore speech he presented his own solution of the Muslim problem. He said that the problem of India was not of an inter-communal nature, but manifestly an international one and must be treated as such. To him the differences between Hindus and the Muslims were so great and so sharp that their union under one central government was full of serious risks. They belonged to two separate and distinct nations and therefore the only chance open was to allow them to have separate states.

In the words of Quaid-i-Azam: "Hindus and the Muslims belong to two different religions, philosophies, social customs and literature. They neither inter-marry nor inter-dine and, indeed, they belong to two different civilizations that are based mainly on conflicting ideas and conceptions. Their concepts on life and of life are different. It is quite clear that Hindus and Muslims derive their inspiration from different sources of history. They have different epics, different heroes and different episodes. Very often the hero of one is a foe of the other, and likewise, their victories and defeats overlap. To yoke together two such nations under a single state, one as a numerical minority and the other as a majority, must lead to growing discontent and final destruction of any fabric that may be so built up for the government of such a state".

He further said, "Muslims are a nation according to any definition of nation. We wish our people to develop to the fullest spiritual, cultural, economic, social and political life in a way that we think best and in consonance with our own ideals and according to the genius of our people". On the basis of the above mentioned ideas of the Quaid, A. K. Fazl-ul-Haq, the then Chief Minister of Bengal, moved the historical resolution which has since come to be known as Lahore Resolution or Pakistan Resolution

The Resolution declared: "No constitutional plan would be workable or acceptable to the Muslims unless geographical contiguous units are demarcated into regions which should be so constituted with such territorial readjustments as may be necessary. That the areas in which the Muslims are numerically in majority as in the North-Western and Eastern zones of India should be grouped to constitute independent states in which the constituent units shall be autonomous and sovereign".
It further reads, "That adequate, effective and mandatory safeguards shall be specifically provided in the constitution for minorities in the units and in the regions for the protection of their religious, cultural, economic, political, administrative and other rights of the minorities, with their consultation. Arrangements thus should be made for the security of Muslims where they were in a minority".

The Resolution repudiated the concept of United India and recommended the creation of an independent Muslim state consisting of Punjab, N. W. F. P., Sindh and Baluchistan in the northwest, and Bengal and Assam in the northeast. The Resolution was seconded by Maulana Zafar Ali Khan from Punjab, Sardar Aurangzeb from the N. W. F. P., Sir Abdullah Haroon from Sindh, and Qazi Esa from Baluchistan, along with many others.

The Resolution was passed on March 24. It laid down only the principles, with the details left to be worked out at a future date. It was made a part of the All India Muslim League's constitution in 1941. It was on the basis of this resolution that in 1946 the Muslim League decided to go for one state for the Muslims, instead of two.

Having passed the Pakistan Resolution, the Muslims of India changed their ultimate goal. Instead of seeking alliance with the Hindu community, they set out on a path whose destination was a separate homeland for the Muslims of India.
March 23 is indeed a significant holiday. My only wish is that I wish that the people who were the majority of the delegates on that day were still apart of Pakistan. But in 1971 the Lahore Resolution lost half of its sprit. What little is left of its sprit we must work to keep it together.

Very informative post. :jhanda:

Nice thread Faris Bhai :k:

@waleedhbk! its 71 yaar not 70 :slight_smile:

A belated thank you!

a belated welcome :)

Yes, evey murders can be a hero for you. Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri is hero and he should be free as he has done great service to our nation. This frantic mentality has made Islam a religion of terror. If you feel offended by someone’s remark, you can present a counter-argument instead of killing. By killing, you prove the point that you don’t hv courage to stand diverse viewpoints and mentally you are weak & frustrated. Every murderer highlight his/her cause behind every homicide but it is can not be justified in present socioeconomic scenario. If you justify killing of humans in any society, you don’t know you can be the next victim. :smack: