$20k to invest

If you (or I) had $20k to invest, what would you do with it? Let’s say you already own a house and you don’t think you will need those 20k for another 15 years.

Re: $20k to invest

If you're in New York area best investment for $20K is put up a mobile masladosa cart that also do hot dogs and soft pretzel! not joking

^^^^^
people who do that in london around west end, earn £5000 daily. but 20k is abit too much for that isnt it.

if your investing it doesnt matter if you have a house and live it, you are gona invest in it so why would you live in it. but ye house is the best option as over the years its price will double.

Desi community puts too much investment in real estate but from what I have read diversity in portfolio is necessary and so I asked what other than buying a house.

why do you need to diversity your portfolio?

if not a house then a plot, real estate is by far the best investment these days.

if you dont want that then buy jewlary, gems, antiques, bonds, shares etc.

Donate it to charity. Send it off to a well known humanitarian org in Pakistan or any developing country (after making sure it falls in the proper hands ofcourse). Best investment of your life (and the next one) you'll ever make.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Captain sahib, a very noble suggestion indeed.

Being involved in charity work and fund raising, if I have learned anything it is that cash is not necessarily the best form of charity. For example if I take this $20k (which I don’t have at the moment) and buy a house and rent it out and pledge that whatever profit I will get from the rent and eventually when I will sell it, I will give it to 50% to charity, it will be far more and sustained contribution than if I just hand away the $20k to some organization.

Anyway, I am hoping here to be educated of some non-traditional investments.

2 things I am reading (learning) about is commodity futures and forex. Both look like capable of HUGE leveraging (being options, your volume is based on the change in price, not cost of the commodity / currency). But downside also seems high so I am going to learn learn and watch a lot before trying. May be you can take a look?

Send it to me, i can invest it for you... :D

Invest somewhere in China close to manufacturing factories...give it 20 years...and voila!...

I will buy LBTS.OB for $1.25 and sell it at $1.50 every other week. A true bumpy ride you know ;)

What is LBTS.OB?

And how does one invest in China's manufacturing?

forget Sara AJ....gimme! :p

oh yeah with regard to Caps suggestion..if you were giving in charity why not invest in some form of income certificate and give the return in charity..in the long run you'd be able to do more good..giving a bit regularly does more good than giving a lot at once..speaking from personal experience.

invest in a good holiday...you can take family if you want....remember charity starts at home, you cant just go around giving any spare money to those poor people who inhabit street corners and suchlike...

you'll remember the fun you had fifteen years later

King Fahd had 32billion, if he gave it away he'd not have 32 billion.... especially if he gave it away to the likes of Sara and Zakk

if you really wanna invest, go to your bank and if they have one, a financial adviser can help you with what you can do with it in whatever country you are in.

buying land may be a good idea...

here in the uk we can by a share in things like organic farming ventures etc...

Aao

for the record I'd give AJ an IOU for the money!..and AJ if you invest in organic farming..your third party credentials would be confirmed.

he doesnt want an IOU, he wants a good sound investment

you are guys are telling hoim to throw his money away on those poor people...if everybody thought like you guys there would be no poor people apart from poor Ahmedjee

Anyways having re-read what poor ahmedjee wrote...it appears the poor guy has no money for us to squabble over

What a waste of time this has been!

With the London olympics comming up in 2012 i know its a long way off but I would invest in a room in some good london hotel… It would pay for the deposit. I would hence earn a share of the incoem that the room generates but more importantly with all the development thats going on in london for the olympics my room value would increase and I would make good money during the olympics with prices increasing, maybe even sell the room during the olympics and keep all the extra cash

yes i agree… this is the way to invest. I happen to have bought a flat nearer to the area where Olympics will take place. A few work collegues have done the same share-investing in properties there. the average value of flats have gone up by 4% in the area since the selection of London as an Olympic Venue and we are still six years away !
u cant get a greater percentage return on ur investment then in property investment.

Yes share investment is pretty hot these days. Ive been hearing of lots of sikh families buying land like 10-15 km north of brampton. Right now those areas are pretty quiet but at the rate brampton is growing those lands will be in the middle of town in another 15-20 years.

What they do is 10-12 families pool in to buy land say worth $1M right now. In 20 years that land is projected to be atleast $40-50M. Or roughly around these lines.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Here is a responce I recieved in PM from Pristine Danda bhaijaan;

"1) Startups: Use this $20K to gain principal position in a good idea that can give you return multiples that are much much higher than any other investment scheme. It is only $20K, you are young and should have the appetite to get in early on situations that you know of that will yield higher than average returns in the long term. Term being 3-5 yrs, usually a start up will go through a series of financings, but if you are smart you will look at dilution in the aggregate value rther than shareholding. Piggy back off of someone's larger investment if you can. That way you can enjoy the tag-along rights.

2) SPecial Purpose Acquisition vehicles: These are public entities created to conduct roll-up strategies in a particulalr space, i.e. BPO or CRO or IT...benefits form consolidations and possible offshoring can yield dividends or returns around 8-20% a year. Price of admission is steep, $5K or above a share...but at 20% you shouldn't care. The way the investment is solicited is through PCS groups in Banks. Reach out among your finance friends and they might know of someone involved. Shares are sold before listing.

Hope this can pay for your new Summer House in 3 years time."