2012 June/July brides!

Not long to go for us! I’m at the end of June, hopefully this thread will be a handy relief during the last few weeks of stress and pressure! :slight_smile:

I’m still waiting for my bridal gharara to be made, and then my naani will be bringing it over mid-May :slight_smile: Got most things sorted, just need to do the centrepieces, favours, cake, cards, little bits and pieces and need to sort my mehndi artist out. All with my final exams finishing the week before the Big Day :bummer:

Insh’Allah it’ll all go fine though! I’m remaining optimistic lol, only time will tell if that was a mistake :stuck_out_tongue:

Re: 2012 June/July brides!

I'm getting married July 7th! Getting soooo close. This wedding thread has been such a relief the passed few months. I'm the first one in my family to get married and we don't have a clue! Plus all of a sudden we can't remember what went on at all the other weddings we were a part of in the past so all this advice etc. helps a lot. My shaadi ka jora is coming in the end of may my khala is bringing it and I should be getting my mayyon/mehndi outfits this weekend.

I still don't feel like I'm getting married in 2 months, from what I hear it won't really hit me until like the day of my mayyon :-)

Same! I'm the oldest aswell. And yeah you're so right, this forum is SO amazing, I'm so glad I found it. Another thing me and my mum have found helps is by watching loads of wedding video trailers so we can get loads of unique different ideas rather than just the standard fare.

I know what you mean :/... less than 8 weeks left for me and I haven't really thought past the waleemah lol, just been so wrapped up in wedding planning biz.

2012 June/July brides!

hi mine first week of june not far hehehe

congrats dolly!

Dolphin- I've been watching those too! You're right they are really helpful although now I feel like I'm setting myself up for disappointment because I know no matter how much money I spend and how hard I try, it won't turn out as great as these weddings in pakistan are. Omg the makeup is better, the outfits, the photographers, the venue's, etc.
Anyways, everything is so expensive! How have you guys been cutting costs down? My fiance and I are saving a bit by not hiring a videographer or DJ, I'm relying on a few friends to provide the music for the mehndi and make video's of everything.
Any other June/July 2012 brides out there? Join in :-)

2012 June/July brides!

Dolly im the same as you Insha'Allah! Excited!

I'm getting married in 30 days inshAllah! The major stuff is done. Just gotta finish up with my favours (I made personalized favour inserts and need to put them on the favours - have done most), already bought vases for centrepieces...need to order flowers soon for the centrepieces, LED lights just came in today! Then gotta start with the seating plan and the board with table numbers. And there's a few more things left and I'm so stressed about it all! It's overwhelming.

Good luck to all you brides! InshAllah everything will go smoothly.

hey were are u based on? and where and what you got as ur favors?

Yeah I get what you mean, Pakistani weddings do seem amazing. Insh'Allah, I'm just aiming to have a unique, special, beautiful modest wedding because at the end of the day, it's about the marital union of two people that want to spend the rest of their lives with each other, not about wanting to impress the random aunties that are gonna badmouth you anyway.

We're saving quite a bit by not having a mehndi or a DJ for the wedding. Also, one of my ex-schoolfriends is an amateur photographer, her work is pretty good and so we're getting photography for like 1/6th of the price. I'm wearing artificial jewellery on the day and my cake will come from a local bakery. Oh, and we're not hiring flashy cars as me and my mum will both be getting ready at the venue with the MUA, so there's no point going back home and then coming back just to be seen in the cars lool. My bridal is being made in Pakistan for less than £1000, if I'd got something from the UK I'd have spent ATLEAST £2500 for something decent.

I'm in Toronto. We're having these photo coasters as favours and I've made personalized inserts for them. I ordered them for this lady based in Toronto!

aww congrats :slight_smile:
and don worry at all u will make it IA :slight_smile:

Salam July7Bride!
My wedding is taking place on the exact same date inshAllah! Time is running by so fast and the “things to do” list keeps growing day by day. I have got no idea about the status of my wedding dress, but Alhumdulillah im not in any worry as the designer is my Khalla. :slight_smile: She will be designing my Wallima dress as well.
I can totally relate to you about the prep for the wedding as i am the first one in my family getting married as well. When it comes to ourselves, we have totally forgotten the going about’s of a wedding. :cb:
But Alhumdulillah through the wedding clips on Youtube, we are starting to manage.

People tell me that the night before the nikkah is when the realization of you being married off strikes you.
I wont worry though, Its going to be the night of your life! Better to make the best of it.
Just about a months time left till the wedding! Wishing you all the best! :wave:

omg im getting married on july 6th but my valima is on july 7th and im starting to freak out now! i don't feel like im getting married in 41 days but when i think of all that needs to be done in 41 days im like OMG!! haha. thanks guys this post definitely made me feel like im not alone.

i still have sooooooooooooooo many little things to handle its crazy the amount of work that goes into planning a wedding. im doing my last year of med school so i have my clerkship ending just a week before my wedding and its insane! but i must stay calm!

my "things to do" list is i think at at least 4 pages now!! and u are so right it does keep growing day by day goshhh!! and its totally awful to be the first one getting married actually i'd say its awesome and awful at the same time cause its that much more special but at the same time its like a trial and error thing but inshallah this time will go by so well for all of us :D most definitely with the help of youtube weddings haha :)

Wsalaam Rnad and ak12!!!!!

Its June and we're getting married in a month iA!
How are your fiance's handling everything btw? I just got off the phone with mine he is so calm and relaxed and I'm like whyyyyy do you not careeeeee, lol bridezilla has come out in full effect,
One of my bhabi's does bridal mehndi and she says most brides don't realize they're getting married until they get their mehndi done. I can picture that happening to me.
You guys are so right the list of things to do is like growing and no matter how hard I try to prep, I know there will be tons of things to do last minute.
My clothes aren't here yet! So far I just have my mayyon outfit I'm still waiting for the mehndi and shaadi ka jora my khala is brining it from pakistan but looks like she wont be getting here until mid june so we will probably end up having it sent via parcel :-(

Just out of curiousity what do you guys look at in youtube wedding videos? I've mostly just been stalking this forum but if youtube is even more helpful I want to check that out as well.

best wishes ladies,
July7Bride

Salam!

Yup, just a months time left. Alhumdulillah my check list is being edited every day. Things being crossed out from the top and new activities being added at the bottom. Since i reside outside of Pakistan its fairly difficult to manage and organize events within Pakistan. But Alhumdulillah my extended family is managing as much as they can.

I guess the realization sinks in at different points for each individual. For me at least, i have started to break down all ready! lol. Im a very emotional person. I am dreading the time of ruksati! God knows what will happen. Cause when i see my mum cry, tears automatically end up in my eyes. Oh well, only time will tell.

In the youtube videos i look at the dresses and the makeup looks currently being used by the brides. And also the decor of the stage and the wedding hall. Pictures are good, but the video gives a more glam look into whats really happening. Oh and you get the idea of how the bride should enter, with a couple of people, or just her parents or siblings or alone under a spot light. These small small details are captured in more depth compared to pictures.

By the way, speaking of Mehndi, what type of styles are in? Cause i have been living in the middle east my whole life, i wanted some arab style. Are the ladies in the saloons capable of applying the Arabic style?

Wishing you all the highest of blessings,
Salam,
:wave:

^ When is your date ??

I am getting married by the end of June..inshaALLAH.. am very excited ALHUMDULILLAH..as its love marriage.. blush.. I am still left with some works, I have to pick my barat outfit today and Valima on 6th-7th June.. + some dresses from tailor.. eerrrr... No matter how much you try, you are always left with some works.. anyhow..

I need prayers for new life :D

Most mehndi artists can replicate a design if you print a picture and show them so try printing out some examples, hopefully they'll be able to copy it.

After I read your post I went on youtube and looked at shaadi clips for like an hour, thanks for the advice!

Have you guys decided how to enter on the mehndi/shaadi?
I have no idea what song to enter in on for my mehndi.
I'm tall so I'm having my brother and guy cousins bring me in with a dupatta on that day.
On the baraat I'm walking in with my brother and sister :-)
I really can't wait to walk into the valima hand in hand with my hubby!

Lately I'm not even excited about the shaadi, my engagement didn't go as I thought it would and so I just feel like the same thing will happen with the mehndi/shaadi. I'm just superrr excited about the valima because I can relax, my parents will be relaxed, and alhumdulillah it will be a much happier event. Plus my fiance secretly sent me pics of my outfit (my MIL wants it to be a surprise) mA I loveeeeee it I can't wait to wear it!

Did your MIL's make your valima outfits as well or am I the only one?

best wishes
July7Bride

Salam!

For the enterence i am thinking a spot light with dimmed out lights and burning candles to lead the way to the stage. This is still a fantasy, it still needs to be executed and discussed with my father etc.
Im having a henna party (Thats what they call it in the middle east) and i shall be using the Arabic instrument (Duf’) instead of the ‘dhol’ and its Ladies only as a lot of the Arab women cover up etc. The setup is going to be very casual. I will dress up get my hair done and etc, but the general feel to this whole event is not that formal. At the end of the day, everybody should enjoy right? and not get drowned in all the worries. The important thing is that the people that matter are there and you have a good time together. Dont worry about the decor or the food. Just relax and enjoy. Thats the best spirit. :shoaby:

My valima outfit is a complete surprise. But i have no worries as my inlaws have a very good sense of fashion. so Alhumdulillah for that.

My advice to myself and the rest of the future brides is that dont take tension on little details and some of the weddings we see online or in movies are fairy tales, and frankly speaking majority of people cannot afford such lavish setup, but the most important thing is that there is Barkat in all of your events.
Preparations for such events are unlimited. So enjoy as much as you can. These memorable times will only come once, so ask Allah to bless it with happiness and barkat. Lay your trust on HIM and i assure you, you wont complain or worry.
I am sure you all will make lovely wives. Stay blessed!**
Salam.
:wave:

hmmm the entrances! that just went on my list a couple days ago as well.. i have no idea about the songs! still have to figure those out. i did copy the links to some of the forums on this website that have ideas so i will be going over those sometime soon and deciding them. but if you guys have picked yours please share :D

oh god... 27 days to go as it says on our wedding website! omg so much to do!! but honestly Rnad i am so glad I read your post today cause it gave me hope and made me realize i need to stop worrying about little things no matter how hard it may be and focus on the big stuff. I know that the most important thing is that I am getting married to who i want and we have a whole life to look forward to and hes such an amazing person and i am blessed Mashallah and the little things don't matter what matters is that we are surrounded by people we love and everyone has fun :) thanks for reminding me that <3