2005 for pak music industry

Eclectic, over-the-top, and essential - the list of names and faces to watch out for embody all three of these admirable values. The rules for inclusion are simple: each person who makes it to this list is a name to reckon with in 2005 and sets a standard for others to follow

Ali Azmat

The reason for the delay of the album release was blamed on the extensive tours with Junoon that take up much time. The musicians who have been pulled in to play on one of the most exciting releases of the year 2005 are musical giants like Ziyyad Gulzar, ex-band mate Brian 'O Connell and Rohail Hyatt. As far as the lyrics are concerned, there are certain tracks in which the lyrics have been done entirely by Ali Azmat himself, but on other songs he has collaborated with the master himself - Sabir Zafar.

The album that has been titled Social Circus will have a total of 11 songs and according to Ali the record will be sponsored and that is also another reason for the delay in the release date. The album doesn’t contain live drums and that’s due to the lack of good studios and therefore Ali might fly down to Mekaal’s Studio to get the final treatment completed. The video of his song Deewana has been shot by Jami and will be released anytime from now and other directors that he plans to work with in the coming year most probably will be Saquib Malik and Asad-ul-Haq.

According to the bald one: “In the year 2005 I’m looking forward to Noori’s album as well as Fuzon’s sophomore effort. I guess all the musicians now have their own market and therefore they all sell so I can’t really name one person who will make it big in 2005. Having made in this list myself I guess there’s a lot of responsibility on my part. I feel that if your work is good it will speak for itself.”

Naqsh

The group who will be coming out with an album in 2005 exudes and conveys a genuineness which is sorely lacking out there. They hit a home run in my game of best-music-yet-to-be-released by their meaningful lyrics that are delivered with raw emotion every time.

Noori

Talking to Ali Noor the front man, we are told that the sound of the follow-up album due for release in 2005 will be heavier and guitar-oriented, and compared to the debut effort it is a slightly darker record.

The album’s release scheduled after Moharram is being recorded in Lahore. The album has been titled Peeli Patti Aur Raja Jani Ki Gol Duniya! The record will include the tracks that were released illegally on the Internet such as Ooncha, Khalla and Sari Raat Jaga. The lyrics have all been penned by Ali Noor and Ali Hamza and are very introspective by nature.

The band worked on the demos in Abbotabad and soon after bassist Ali Jafri announced his departure from the band. The new bassist is Ali Hamza and according to Ali Noor the sound quality of the recording with Jafri aren’t up to the standard and they might have to redo all the tracks with Ali Hamza.

The album has a total of 10 songs that sound quite odd since there are usually 14 or 12 songs in a record. From the looks and the sounds, this might be a much more mature album than the debut record released by the band.

Umar Anwar

Umar Anwar is one up and coming director who has become a cult name in the handful of directors that are ruling the scene.

Music videos are sort of the stepchild of cinema, a subgenre that’s generally considered a necessary evil of consumerism. But the best music videos have as much or more to offer as what’s playing at the local multiplex. They’re concentrated doses of cinema, little shot glasses full of intense and immensely satisfying performances if given the right treatment. This is the busy intersection of commercial production and avant-garde filmmaking, less a neighborhood where “real” and less privileged directors’ slum and more a place where committed visionaries can experiment lesser budget, interesting ideas, and complicated editing rhythms.

In 2005, he is one name to look up to as there are big string projects in the making. Ace-director Jami has been heard talking highly of this young chap.

source: dawn.com

Sounds exciting.

I think most of the major albums will be out after Moharram (Moharram ends mid way March i think). One big name missing from the list is Junoon. Apparently they have an album planned before mid-year.

Also i think its abt time Ali Zafar started working on something new. Bohat channo channo ho gaya!

Hadiqa is supposed to be coming out with her album done with Zaki right?

There are so many others releasing next year that its not even funny - this list is too limited. I expect a great deal of movement in underground music next year - many bands coming out from underground into the open.

yeah, 2004 was a pretty slow year. No dhamaka from music industry at all. I hope 2005 has more action. PCG, are you a noori fan. I can't wait for their album to drop.

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *

There are so many others releasing next year that its not even funny - this list is too limited. I expect a great deal of movement in underground music next year - many bands coming out from underground into the open.

Rung Barangi Guriya, are you part of some underground metal band by any chance?

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *

yes i totally agree tht the list is limited and alot of underground bands' albums are coming out jaisey ke razam, overdrive just came out with their album, y2k and irtaash may come out with one and farooq's band aaroh might come out with one too. nabeel may come out with an album by the end of 2005 with his new band line up. rumors are he might even come out with a different band name too from the usual aaroh name he has attached. eP is also done with their album recording so expectations are high from them too. fuzon may rock big time this time around with another spectacular release. more concerts for jal and atif aslam. eP and jal's band manager and call's drummer khurram bhai might even take his bands international. he's heard to have spoken of call's album release soon. havent heard anything on mauj.

as for hadiqa and zaki, their album is long due. it was scheduled for end of 2004 release. pata nai kya hua.

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *
yeah, 2004 was a pretty slow year. No dhamaka from music industry at all. I hope 2005 has more action. PCG, are you a noori fan. I can't wait for their album to drop

Atlanta sami saab is surprised u saying this. didnt u notice mekaal hasan's debut album? mizrab's maazi haal mustaqbil? jal's aadat and atif's jalpari? najam sheraz ki menu tere naal? on the other hand, fuzon went international as well as noori. videos were made on high budgets with some of them having good concepts, cinematography, and story lines such as shoaib's anarkali, jal's aadat, eP's hamesha and waqt, fuzon's khamaaj, et al. the music industry finally finally finally got some exposure thanks to the launch of ARY and GEO here in N. America in late march.

all in all, 2004 was as good as 2003 for the music industry. ab ye nai poochna ke how 2003 was good cuz that year saw alotta album releases and new bands too.

Re: 2005 for pak music industry

Nice article by dawn, and Im surprised what they wrote about Ali's album was all true, its being sent in again for remastering.

Junoons new album is almost complete, and this time it includes Mekaal Hassan, but it will again be produced by John Alec (the brains behind Parvaaz). They are letting the fans choose the name. Apart from that, fuzons album would be a treat.

On the live front, Junoon will tour the US/Canada in April 2005 (about 10-15 concerts booked), Strings will do some shows too (dates not confirmed) and Fuzon might get to play in some gigs. I thought Atif Aslam would make it too, but hes planning tours with combined artists like those abrar/reema/jawad etc combined shows.

Jj coming out iowth a new album too

even Razam`z album is coming out on February ..

Daur-e-Jahilia ..

and even Mizraab is going to come up with something new ..

Isn't Imik coming out with an album? DJ exordus as well?

You didnt mention my name.. humm?? Why????

*Originally posted by [sami rahman]: *
Eclectic, over-the-top, and essential - the list of names and faces to watch out for....

Re: Re: 2005 for pak music industry

*Originally posted by TheNewWannaBe: *
You didnt mention my name.. humm?? Why????

u might wanna try doin a bit more propoganda of your songs. :p

yes imik is coming out with one. dj exordus ka toh nai pata. :hula:

Is ahmed jehanzaib gonna release his second album this year. He has a very good voice but all his songs sounds the same to me. He needs more variety in his next album.

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *
Is ahmed jehanzaib gonna release his second album this year. He has a very good voice but all his songs sounds the same to me. He needs more variety in his next album.

not really. he's still working on videos from the first album. the recording might start later this year for the next album.

Where is Fuzon's 2nd album? :p I've been waiting for ages it seems