1st Test: Sri Lanka v Pakistan at Galle, Jun 22-26, 2012

Re: 1st Test: Sri Lanka v Pakistan at Galle, Jun 22-26, 2012

Seems like a nice extended net session for SL batters

Janab kyun hamaree team ka jaloos nikalna chahtey hain aap. :D

You are right that pitch could be placid. Regardless, Players who get into team due to nepotism donot read pitch or think about hard work when playing, as in most cases theirposition in team is guaranteed, thus they play for enjoyment and get out forfun.

With Gul, Ajmal and Rehman proving ineffective the pitch must be pretty dead, or at least that is what I would like to assume.

Bhai jaan, I do not consider this team as my team, but consider such team as a team that is playing in the name of Pakistan imposed on Pakistan by people who can select (I mean choose whoever they want). :)

i hope they remember how easy SL batters scored ..... but then there are known factors in it ..... our Batters are weak and SL Spin bowling is strong enough to bowl out our fragile batting twice within 3-4 days

True but Ajmal and Rehman are there on merit and are highly regarded.

Our batting is weak but their spinners are no where near as good as Ajmal and Rehman and if they are struggling than our batters should be able to counter the SL spinners

Saeed Ajmal to DPMD Jayawardene, no run, that spun in sharply from round the stumps, Mahela got the bat down just in time, he was on the front foot, and the ball scurried through his legs

This worries me :(

Well, some batsmen do not care about pitch and use their talent to hook and lop towards fielders, don't they?

Sanga has another 100 against Pakistan ..... nevertheless well played ..... one of the more classy batsmen around and i like to watch him bat and do well but not against Pakistan :D

^^^ I might be wrong but I have feeling that Sangakara would score more than 200 in this inning.

^you could be right .... he is one of those batters who realise the chance and grab it .... especially his apetite for long innings is a worry for Pakistan in this series

^ Yea. On the other hand his 200 is due. He made 8 double centuries in his career, 1 less than Lara and 3 less than Bradman.

sorry ... 4 double centuries less than Bradman :)

He is also one of those players who made many double centuries but no triple centuries. So, who know ... what is waiting :)

You might be right there, but I would not like to say same about most players in team who are playing.

On the other hand, the way team gets selected in Pakistan where merit do not matter, we do not know who is in the team due to nepotism even if their performance is reasonable, as we do not know what those players would have performed who did not got selected in team due to nepotism, even when their domestic performance was much better than those who got selected.

Tillakaratne Dilshan reckons that Sri Lanka can easily reach 500, which he thinks is a very good total on this pitch, which has aided spin from day one. He says Sri Lanka have two quality spinners to put pressure on Pakistan.
It might seem to be a typical subcontinent day one scorecard, but don't go by the numbers alone. There was nothing for the quicks, but it was not an easy pitch to bat against the quality of the Pakistan spinners, there were several deliveries kicking, biting and beating batsmen all day. But impressive application from Sri Lanka's big three has put them on top.

Pakistan were at the wrong end of lbw calls against Dilshan and Mahela, and Paranavitana was also reprieved earlier in the morning, Umar Gul suffered the most. The pitch is slow overall, and Sri Lanka have a lot of batting to come. Advantage hosts after day one.

Pakistan always face these kinds of decisions . . .

Gaee bhains pani main......

Aap kee bhains hamesha ghalat jagah per hotee hai.