1st Test: Pakistan vs Australia in Colombo

DUDES!!!
Its a great effort by the youngster Faisal who I didn't think was that good but the thing that kills our players is that woh pehle se dar jaate hein like see 2 ducks in the opening......if u don't care and play w/out any fear like Faisal did (MashALLAH) n hit atleast one 4 in every over.....see the bowlers were in pressure then. Steve Waugh even brought M Waugh to break the partnership but in vain.....
so GOOD LUCK tomm

*Originally posted by saby: *
So pakistan Found a new find :) Faisal. Lets hope they continue ....

This new find has been found 2 years back. n then was dumped by our great selectors.

One thing about test cricket is that when you play so hard the whole day to get yourself in the rhythem and form to score runs but when the next day starts you have to do that all over again, lets hope our batsman can resum their innings in a proper way.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
One thing about test cricket is that when you play so hard the whole day to get yourself in the rhythem and form to score runs but when the next day starts you have to do that all over again, lets hope our batsman can resum their innings in a proper way.

Correct

true....

Faisal's inning was a treat to watch, so was Warne's face when he was thrashed by Faisal.

Umair the reason they were batting so fast and so many boundaries were being hit because Waugh had all the fielders in close in positions to take catches.

Well played Faisal, Younis Khan and Latif.

First target tomorrow is to save the follow on.

I wish someway I could watch the innings! :(

Great batting by Faisal - I would have liked younis khan to stay longer. Anyways - Lets hope Rashid and Faisal continue from where they left on day 2.

Good bowling by Saqlain & Shoaib.

I managed to watch all our batting today and here's a run down of my impression:

Imran Nazir The lad is amazingly talented as a shot player, but he lacks discipline. He was out playing across the line against the new ball which shows poor judgement for an opener. I hope he comes good in the second innings because he has so much ability but I think he lacks the mental application.

Taufeeq Umar. Was a bit unlucky that he got a good ball first delivery and edged to slip. Will have to reserve judgement on him as Gillespie baowled a beuty. Shame our bowlers can't make use of the new ball like that.

Razaq Never lets the side down and it's a bit much to ask an allrounder to face the new ball but he did it well. Unfortunately he can't play Shane Warne and I knew that he would get out as soon as he came on.

Younis Khan Brilliant yet frustrating. Did a fantasticv job after coming in early and played some great shots. There's a reason this guy makes so many fifties and not enough hundreds though. He was smacking Brett Lee all over the place but you could sense he was taking it too far and his inablity to curb himself cost us a vital wicket. He needs to start digging in aiming for hundreds to move on to the next stage.

Misbah ul Haq Struggled against Warne but you have to admire his application and temperament. He got out to a ball that turned a mile so no disgrace there. Contributed to a couple of useful partnerships and although he wasn't fluent today, he looks like a player Pakistan needs. A batsman with a cool head.

Faisal Iqbal A revelation. His cocky swagger, determination and confidence put the Aussies on the back foot. Took on Shane warne on a turning pitch and it was Warne who was left bruised and battered by the end. Used his feet brilliantly to attack the spinner, and gave the Aussie paacers some stick as well. He must go on and make a hundred tomorrow to cement his place that he deserves. I remember that he had trouble leaving the short deliveries which is why he was dropped last time round, so it will be interesting to see if Aussies test him out on this during the series.

Rashid latif One of those days when he looks a far better batsmen than our top order guys. A top class performer as always.

We are probably going to lose the match but the priority has to be find a couple of batsmen for the world cup in the short term at least. Faisal and Misbah have done well recently, and if Taufeeq can get some runs as well it will have been a very positive exercise. I would love to see how the Aussies handle the pressure if our top order could see off the new ball in the next couple of matches.

FAISAL LAUNCHES AUDACIOUS ASSAULT TO RAISE PAKISTANI HOPES

Australia ended the second day of this opening Test match in firm control despite audacious half centuries from Younis Khan and Faisal Iqbal.

When the players were forced off the field by bad light with 15 overs still to be bowled, Pakistan were 210 for five, needing 58 more runs to avert the follow on.

At 116 for five, the achievement of that target appeared unlikely, but the **inexperienced Faisal, the nephew of batting legend Javed Miandad, who is playing his sixth Test match, launched a stunning counterattack.

The 20-year-old right-hander crashed 15 boundaries on his way to a career best 78 from 80 balls, an innings the confirmed Pakistan’s reputation for having abundant reserves of rich, raw talent. ** :biggrin: :k:

With support from Rashid Latif, Pakistan added 94 in 84 :eek: balls for the sixth wicket to give them a good chance of making Australia bat again.

Brett Lee, gradually increasing his pace during the course of his spell, and Shane Warne continued bowling after the tea interval.

**Younis Khan, undeterred by the loss of early wickets, carried on in the same attacking vein, reaching his seventh Test fifty with his 12th boundary. **However, the stylish right-hander was eventually dismissed by Lee as he mistimed a cover drive and was well caught by Justin Langer diving forward at cover for 58, a 62-ball innings that included 13 fours.

Misbah-ul-Haq and Faisal Iqbal continued the Younis inspired fight-back, adding 41 runs in 70 balls. But Warne, who bowled 15 overs on the reel, separated the pair when Misbah edged a leg-break into the hands of Mark Waugh at slip.

**Faisal reacted to loss of his partner by raising the tempo of his innings. He attacked Warne savagely, forcing the leg-spinner out of the attack with four boundaries in an over, reaching his second Test fifty off just 59 balls. **

Source : Cricinfo.com

thora tu warn ka khayaal kerna cheheyee tha chaar logoon meen uss kee bhee izzat hay :slight_smile:

Wasiey just for the fact i like to watch the faces of WARN and KUMBLE they faces looks like they will start crying with tears in anymoment after someone give them a treat like this :slight_smile:

Khair still a long way to go. First task is to make Aus bat again and then try to get as much runs as we can. This Faisal guy for sure deserves a 100 ! go for it butcher !

Those who are watching live please don’t mention here, kyoon humay rolatay ho ye bata kar key tum loog live dekh rahay ho aur oper say ye bhi bata tey ho kay Faisal nay Warne ke baja de hai.

Yar koi to Allah ka banda live broadcast kar day or atleast commentry he live broadcast kar de.

Well played PAK kick some Aussie A$$ :k: :k: :k: have faith in your team I am sure they will win the match :slight_smile:

Ehsan bhai kyoon rulatay ho aisi batay kar kay :crying:

disappointment from top order again :(
when two trains collide head-to-head, damage is always severe to front bogies, we should remove front bogies. similarly Pakistan's top order crashes most of the time, we should not have any top order at all, or put "bowlers" in top order notch i.e. Mohammed Sami, Saqlain or others as openers.

I really wish if Pakistan can find the opening pair like that of Amir Sohail and Saeed Anwer when they used to thrash bowlers.

this particular game has many newcomers, so "winning" may not be as important as identified by other guppies, important thing is to provide opportunities to new batsmen to show their worth.

Faisal Iqbal, Misbah-ul-Haq, and Younis Khan have performed well so far. Imran Nazir and Taufeeq Umar will have to work harder in next innings if they want a place in next test.

*Originally posted by BAYWAQOOF: *
FAISAL LAUNCHES AUDACIOUS ASSAULT TO RAISE PAKISTANI HOPES

*inexperienced Faisal, the nephew of batting legend Javed Miandad, who is playing his sixth Test match, launched a stunning counterattack.

**I hope we find another Javed like batsman in Faisal.

So far PAK found three good batsmen Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, and Faisal Iqbal. So with these 3 in the team along with Inzi, Youhana the batting look solid. Next thing is to find a good pair of openrs and then we can take on any side, any where, any time ;)**

Good analysis by X :k: :slight_smile:

Nice shot by Faisal

[thumb=A]Faisaliqbal.JPG[/thumb]

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
I managed to watch all our batting today and here's a run down of my impression:

Imran Nazir The lad is amazingly talented as a shot player, but he lacks discipline. He was out playing across the line against the new ball which shows poor judgement for an opener. I hope he comes good in the second innings because he has so much ability but I think he lacks the mental application.

Taufeeq Umar. Was a bit unlucky that he got a good ball first delivery and edged to slip. Will have to reserve judgement on him as Gillespie baowled a beuty. Shame our bowlers can't make use of the new ball like that.

Razaq Never lets the side down and it's a bit much to ask an allrounder to face the new ball but he did it well. Unfortunately he can't play Shane Warne and I knew that he would get out as soon as he came on.

Younis Khan Brilliant yet frustrating. Did a fantasticv job after coming in early and played some great shots. There's a reason this guy makes so many fifties and not enough hundreds though. He was smacking Brett Lee all over the place but you could sense he was taking it too far and his inablity to curb himself cost us a vital wicket. He needs to start digging in aiming for hundreds to move on to the next stage.

Misbah ul Haq Struggled against Warne but you have to admire his application and temperament. He got out to a ball that turned a mile so no disgrace there. Contributed to a couple of useful partnerships and although he wasn't fluent today, he looks like a player Pakistan needs. A batsman with a cool head.

Faisal Iqbal A revelation. His cocky swagger, determination and confidence put the Aussies on the back foot. Took on Shane warne on a turning pitch and it was Warne who was left bruised and battered by the end. Used his feet brilliantly to attack the spinner, and gave the Aussie paacers some stick as well. He must go on and make a hundred tomorrow to cement his place that he deserves. I remember that he had trouble leaving the short deliveries which is why he was dropped last time round, so it will be interesting to see if Aussies test him out on this during the series.

Rashid latif One of those days when he looks a far better batsmen than our top order guys. A top class performer as always.

We are probably going to lose the match but the priority has to be find a couple of batsmen for the world cup in the short term at least. Faisal and Misbah have done well recently, and if Taufeeq can get some runs as well it will have been a very positive exercise. I would love to see how the Aussies handle the pressure if our top order could see off the new ball in the next couple of matches.

well said.well played Faisal.

Thanks Ali and AQ.

I’m going to subscribe to ARY to watch as much of this series as possible. When you see something with your own eyes, as is the case with Ehsan, you get a better perspective of who’s done well than by just looking at the scores. So will keep you guys updated as much as possible. Faisal really played great :k:

Oh yeah, and Shoaib is looking fitter thank God!!

Yaar Mr Xtreme thora hala gula ho jai since ur going to subscribe why not broadcast too? eh :slight_smile: can u? plz or u can’t?

How do I do that Question?