well yeah i think thats it for the day
looks like no play is possible in last session in colombo!
so pakistan will have to get remaning Runs in two sessions ;)
Insha'allah they will do it !
The match has been abandoned for the day.
Win or lose these youngsters have done us proud. Umar Taufeeq played very well today. Imran Nazir has to do more to prove he is really up to it. Even after his 40 today I am not sure whether he is a test player. Maybe after the three test we can judge him better.
Younis Khan is playing well if a little cavalier at times. Misbah, solid as ever.
With a little application tomorrow these two with Faisal and Rashid to follow before the tail is in, we should be able to make the required 137 runs.
For the second test Waqar should realise that Razzaq is not a number 3 batsmen and can bat better lower down the order. He should not destroy his confidence by sending him high up the order.
from crickinfo
TAUFEEQ DISMISSAL GIVES AUSTRALIA FRESH HOPE
Brett Lee dismissed opener Taufeeq Umar shortly before the interval on the fourth day, raising Australian morale after another frustrating session for Steve Waugh’s side.
At the break Pakistan were 179 for three having added 76 runs in the session for the loss of two wickets. The game now look set to go into the final day with Pakistan still needing another 137 runs to pull of a remarkable victory.
Taufeeq’s four and a quarter hour resistance came to an end when Mark Waugh make amends for a missed chance earlier in the day with a sharp high catch at second slip as the left-hander flayed at a wide half volley.
The 21-year-old, playing in only his seventh Test match, finished with 88 from 172 balls, hitting 16 boundaries. It was a chanceless innings, his only good fortune being a top-edged slog-sweep that fell short of Glen McGrath running in from wide long on.
He had added 50 runs for the third wicket with Younis Khan after the fall of Abdul Razzaq after lunch, a partnership that had taken Pakistan past the halfway mark of a difficult run chase.
After a relatively free-scoring opening partnership, Pakistan had lost momentum after the dismissal of Imran Nazir. Razzaq was particularly pedestrian, batting for one hour and 52 balls for his four runs.
He was eventually trapped lbw by leg-spinner Shane Warne, umpire Steve Bucknor adjudging that the ball had hit pad before bat as the right-hander played forward defensively. It ended a 26 run partnership that had spanned 100 balls.
Younis Khan, who had scored 58 in the first innings, played more freely, driving Warne through the covers for four and hitting two boundaries in Mark Waugh’s solitary over of the afternoon. At the break the right-hander was unbeaten on 32 from 71 balls.
He was joined by the right-handed Misbah-ul-Haq after Taufeeq’s dismissal, who was immediately tested with a series of short deliveries from Lee, who in turn has struggled for his best form in this game, bowling considerably slower than his speed rival Shoaib Akhtar.
A little worries for tommorrow, when the Pakistani loose one wicket then they have that collapse, we need to start eactly like today, Younis Khan need to avoide the big hitting earier on against fresh Warne. I;m not too much worried about Mizba because he is a patient batsman. what most of us here thought would be almost impossible will be achieved tommorrow if doesn't rain, the Aussies are still in the game, and they are the only team in the world I expect to make a comeback in this situation but nevertheless, Pakistan are on its way to win the first test.
It will be tough, insha-allah we can win this test, with his grace and the blessing of rasool-allah we can take the first test.
*Originally posted by mo_best: *
It will be tough, insha-allah we can win this test, with his grace and the blessing of rasool-allah we can take the first test.
And the series too!
wht we need one big score either from younis or misbah..
and we will prove them wht we are capbale of..
Well as Xtreme already mentioned it's not this time about winning it's about the fact that we become a team. A team with team spirit and fighting attributes.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Pakistan 179/3 at tea.
Pakistan now needs 137 to win.
Inshallah, we'll win and our team will Kick Aussies butt!
Go Pakistan
Shoib showed Austrilians what we are made of!
What do you guys think about Shoib's bowling against australia?
Yes it will e tough but inshallah Pakistan will win. The first session will be very important and these 2 batsmen will have to stay as long as possible, and once target get to less than 100, australians will get frustrated and will panick. We still have Faisal and Rashid to come but then our tail will start. So i hope these two will finish the job. I dont understand the logic of sending Razzaq at #3 when we know how bad he is playing spinners, but oh well.
Yeah no one knows why Waqar acts so dumb first he picked Sami instead of Danish and now sending Razzaq at #3 someone need to tell this guy he needs to act properly.
Did you guys see how our batsmen were leaving the ball thats outside the off. I think our new coach must have noticed how PAK battsmen like to hit the off side ball and everytime they do they end up getting caught behind. Wonder what the heck Mudasir was doing, just having fun and not paying attention on the players weekness.
I hope tomorrow Younis and Misbah sticks together till the end of the first session. I am still confiden PAK will win this match as I have been saying since the start of the series. Inshallah last day is going to be exciting I hope the weather stays out of this battel :)
well there too many ups and down for PAK in the second day of this test
match, after Pakistan hai, the most unpredicted team!
well Masha Allah Younis Khan and Faisal Iqbal did hold the Pakistan
batting, but i guess in this fast innings of ours, majority of the runs
are from boundaries, and you knw what by not taking singles, doubles
wagera they dont tend to make the fielders tierd, and doesnt let the
opposing captain to think what t be done, more of all the bowler gets
the chance to bowl at one batsman
the second thing is TEMPRAMENT, pakistan needs it like anything, not
that this team is young n learning, but it has beeen with pakistan for
long, they tend to get carried away alot, u cant just chase every ball
if you are set, and thats y our batsmen get out
well i guess our new coach will have better ideas than me, n i guess
with so much talent in our country we can become pretty strong, just
need a good understanding trainer, n i guess Pybus does his job pretty
well!
Chalo Insha Allah Pakistan will go on with the 2 key batmen and avoid
follow-on, balke will try come closer to the Australians score, dont
wanna Auusies have an easy life!
Go Pakis, dikha do saari duniya ke we can be best with any1!!!!
The previous was late, as it was for the 3rd, i wanted to reply but for no reason it wasnt posting on the forum!
Anyways Masha Allah our batsman did learn alot in just one innings, umm its better to have a young team with so much competition so they are simply picking up whatevr is said to them!
hard luck Taufeeq Umar, as it was an amazin catch, so things happen, but i guess he has done his part, now its on the other 3 batsmen, get good steady partnership, and the victory is in our sight, Insha Allah
Even though the spot light in the news has been on Shoaib Akhtar, but I want to give two thumbs up to Saqlain. Poor dude bowled twice as much and gave away a little more score but the same amount of wickets.
In test cricket consistent & untiring bowlers like Saqlain are actually the backbone of the bowling attack.
:k: Saqlain!!!
Day Four Pictures
Ponting leaps to avoid a shot from Razzaq
[thumb=A]_38306153_r300.JPG[/thumb]
Taufeeq Umar edges the ball as Umar and Imran Nazir put on 91 for the first wicket
[thumb=A]_38305997_umir300.JPG[/thumb]
Adam Gilchrist misses a chance to stump Imran Nazir as Pakistan chase 316 for victory
[thumb=A]_38305995_gilchrist300.JPG[/thumb]
Jason Gillespie shows his frustration as Taufeeq Umar reaches lunch unbeaten on 55
[thumb=A]_38305993_gilespie300.JPG[/thumb]
Players show their concern after Nazir is felled by Brett Lee's bouncer
[thumb=A]_38306001_injury300.JPG[/thumb]
*Shane Warne makes the first breakthrough of the day as he bowls Nazir for 40 *
[thumb=A]_38306185_warneap300.JPG[/thumb]
Umar reaches 88 before Brett Lee bowls him out - he is caught by Mark Waugh
[thumb=A]_38306143_umar300.JPG[/thumb]
*Younis Khan of Pakistan hits the ball past Justin Langer as he reaches 32 before rain stops play *
[thumb=A]_38306187_khan300.JPG[/thumb]
*Pakistan Second Innings *
Batsman Runs Balls 4s 6s
Imran Nazir c G D McGrath b S K Warne 40 67 7 0
Taufeeq Umar c M E Waugh b B Lee 88 172 16 0
Abdur Razzaq lbw b S K Warne 4 52 0 0
Younis Khan not out 32 71 4 0
Misbah-ul-Haq not out 4 8 0 0
Extras 3b 0lb 0w 8nb 11
TOTAL 61.0 overs (for 3 wickets) 179