Re: 1st Test :Pakistan v Sri Lanka 18th-22Oct 2011
Taufeeq and Azhar Ali ![]()
3 Hundred and 3 fifty + partnerships between Taufeeq Umar and Azhar Ali in 8 innings
Taufeeq should have walked himself i like Sportsman Spirit not this
No one walks anymore....hell we dont even walk when we play galli-mohala cricket these days :)
But i have seen Gilchrist and Lara Walked away ![]()
Pakistan should put SL into bat with atleast 20 overs remaining and that means they have to score with 4+ rate to put enough on board before that. The way wicket is behaving we should give our bowlers enough time. Its hard to rout SL 2nd time that easily.
I hope they play accordingly from the word GO.
232 runs in a whole day's play for the loss of just one wicket on a flat pitch is too slow by modern standards
Par score is around 300 these days
**Among the top teams Pakistan have by far the slowest top order in Test cricket!!
**So much for us making fun of boring Trott and Kallis
(ps. Tables courtesy pakpassion)
232 runs in a whole day's play for the loss of just one wicket on a flat pitch is too slow by modern standards
Par score is around 300 these days
The bottom line is to win the match not compete for par scores. I think they have done well. We were making the same noises when they were batting slowly against Zimbabwe, they won the match and that is what matters. Different tactics.
Azhar on 45 .........Hanibal seems Azhar will score his 50 today
Seems like they have contact with my colleague, they just scored little over 50 and 100 by the end of day...
Anyway, still long road ahead, these two have wasted too many deliveries and are at least 70 run short...tomorrow they not only need to score at faster rate but have to make sure they don't loose any wicket in due course... Pakistan must score 120+ in first session...
Haven't followed the action but the scoreboards tells me some great stable batting taufeeq and azhar.. Pakistan has collapsed soo many times recently it must be nice to see some new guys who are stable and technically correct (at least azhar is when I saw him played last, cant remember taufeeq)
A little slow though don't you think? Don't waste too much time, SL might end up batting the last 2 days out, Pak deserves to win this.
Not a huge criticism.. overall still a very solid performance..
What's the hurry. 3 days left 62 runs ahead 9 wickets in hand, even if they score as slowly as today that will be 232 runs and the lead around 300. Bat for an hour on 4 th morning, take the lead to around 350 and put SL in. Believe me victory will be ours.
yar I wouldn't assume that SL can't bat out 5 sessions..
today was a good day for Pak eitherway.. but if I was the captain or coach I would advise that the RR but at least slightly higher on Day 3.. 9 wks in hand.. I would try to bat at RR 3.5ish during the day and put SL in with 15 overs remaining in the day.. if you knock out 1-2 wks before Day 4 then it's a complete lock on the game..
yar I wouldn't assume that SL can't bat out 5 sessions.. today was a good day for Pak eitherway.. but if I was the captain or coach I would advise that the RR but at least slightly higher on Day 3.. 9 wks in hand.. I would try to bat at RR 3.5ish during the day and put SL in with 15 overs remaining in the day.. if you knock out 1-2 wks before Day 4 then it's a complete lock on the game..
Yes they can, but when you are facing a deficit of 350 runs it has a psychological affect on the team morale and one or two quick wickets and the panic sets in. seen it happen to most teams many times.
I'd not take chance of playing on 4th day. I'd put SL to bat when 2 days and 20 overs are remaining no matter what the lead is.
I agree with that.
Ehsan bhai: There is no hurry but that quick scoring is the kind of aggressive attitude our top order needs to develop against better teams (No offence to SL or Zim).
286/2
azhar ali gone for 70
This is not fair to compare Pakistani Top order with other team’s top orders who have played more then 50, 100 or 150 Test matches :nahi: where as Azhar, Asad played all their initial matches Away from home or on Neutral places … We must appreciate their efforts :lajawab: BTW We can’t afford T20 style cricket in Test Matches :sunnyboy: I love the see the patience of test batsmen :wub:
[TABLE=“class: grid, width: 298”]
Test
Away from Home
Asad Shafiq
Azhar
Hafeez
Misbah
Toufeeq
**Total **
Younis
Sannan why in the name of common sense cant you use lesser no. of smileys?
Nice share^^
Actually i don’t wanna be a sensible person
main charsi he theek hoon ![]()
Today Bhai Younis bhi ghussay main hain 19 Runs from 59 balls
That's lunch then: 77 added in the session. Azhar missed out on a century again, Taufeeq has registered his personal best. Wonder if they will press on the accelerator in the next session. They have to make allowance for this flat wicket. It will take them as much time as they can give themselves to bowl SL out for a second time. However, given their modern history of collapses, you can perhaps understand Pakistan's cautious approach until such a time that they have made reasonably sure that they can't lose this match. Join us around 12.35pm for the second session ...cricinfo