1day Trip 2 Amsterdam : HELP !

**In abt 3 weeks iA, I’ll go to Amsterdam and had loooooots of questions :

What are the places to vist (name + adress if possible)

Is there any ‘halal’ restaurant ?

Where are the shopping places …?

Beautiful places to take pictures ??

Thanks in Advance +++

Re: 1day Trip 2 Amsterdam : HELP !

Near the Central station you have small boats "Rondvaart". They'll show you (about 45 minutes) all the nice places in the Centrum of Amsterdam....I liked it

Do eat the chips you can buy at the "Manneke Pis"...very tasty....it's near the dam square (Damrak)

And yeah the shopping street is also very nice....

hmmm......can't remember more...

some places do have “halal” written on them … but everysince i figured that shawermas are not halal … i dont believe in a single halal sign …
other than that … there is a whole web of streets where shopping is possible … when you get of central station, and walk towards Dam sqaure … then you will realise how many streets you can in fact walk in to … you could also buy a map of amsterdam … you can buy it from one of the tourist counters when you get out of the station …
if you like stand-up comedy, or live music … there is a square, the name of which i cant remember … :hmmm:

mujse milke jana i live in amsterdam south :P

**Oh Thanks a TON !!

And where can I take some really good pictures ( Historical places, parcs,...) ?

you can get all the info at the tourist center ... normally they have pamphlets with all important sites listed on them ... :)

where do you otherwise live sidra?

Hi farrah..

hoi imran .. ssoooooo .. you’re a new fish eh :hmmm:

[email protected] am from amsterdam south.what abt u? :P

rotterdam

holland is so small ... syaing amsterdam south or rotterdam south is crazy ..

Karachi south .. or Delhi south sounds more like it!

Sidra IF you get the chance, then Keukenhof Garden in Lisse is also a beautiful place to visit..! It's just outside Amstedam.. Other than that.. In Amsterdam.. Waterbiking can be fun too (depends on weather).. There are quite some museums (Van Gogh for example..)

:salam: layD … long time … what up :smiley:

:wsalam: I know..! Long time.. Nothing much over here.. How about you..? :slight_smile: Are you done with study..?

:hinna: i wish … i dont feel like working … and i am very scared :frowning: … i have to graduate this june.

what’s up at your end?

Why scared..? The books wont eat you.. Well you have to start somewhere..! No work = no graduation.. Now do we want that..? No..! Chalo shabaash.. study..! :D

Idhar kuch khaas nahi yaar.. bas living life.. the usual..:D How about you.. howz married life treating you..? :)

ur asking abt amsterdam..n ur getting places nrby...if ur thr for a day...
go for a cruise..45mins
then go to the madame taussaud wax works in centrum nr town hall
if ur at the airport it will take u 40mins to get to centrum area..if at train station ur thr..np..
towards the right from entrance of train station is the tourist info wr u can get all the pamphlets etc..its usually high lighted wid an i...meaning information..u can also change currency at the station or airpt..the bus stops are in front of the station and will take u to keuken hoff or a daytrip to vollendam is usually quite good as u can get ur pic taken in national costume...
easiest thing to do by the way is to google amsterdam..enjoy ur stay

no, we dont want no graduation :hinna: … getting back to books

other than that … married life is great Alhamdullilah :slight_smile:

no graduation means study even more.. dimaaghi pressure.. etc etc.. graduation means..... no more books.. no more "changing of subjects".. no more study.. no more dimaaghi pressure.. means relax and chill..! and enjoy life..! :D

Ah so nice to hear everything is going great Mash'Allah..:)

My wife and I went to Amsterdam for a 24 hour trip (from Vienna). Here’s how we spent that day:

• Took the Express Train from Amsterdam Airport to Amsterdam Centraal
  • From there we walked over to Damrak 34, where we boarded the bus for our city tour. We had booked that tour (including a voucher for a one-hour canal cruise) through Expedia. You can see details of the tour we took here.
  • As part of the tour we had a guided visit to the famous Gassan Diamond Factory.
  • After completing the tour, which took approx. 2 hours in total, we walked around in the city centre and had a quick lunch at a Vegetarian place called Mooz.
  • Then we took the tram to Vondelpark and spent an hour or so walking around that vast and beautiful park.
  • Then we took the tram back to Amsterdam Centraal and went over to the Amstel river to board our 1 hour Canal Cruise. That was quite nice too.
  • We then took the ferry from behind Central station to North Amsterdam. That ferry is free of charge and can transport pedestrians as well as cyclist. Btw, you will see a lot of cycles in Amsterdam. Seems to be a very popular means of transport there.
  • Prayed at the Masjid Al Mouhssinine in North Amsterdam and then took the ferry back to Central station.
  • Walked around next to the Canals and walked past Madame Tussaud’s as well. Didn’t go in though, as we had already seen Madame Tussaud’s in London and were short on time.
  • We then took the tram to the Albert Cuyp Market, which was already closed by the time we reached there. But that was not an issue, because it was not the market we wanted to visit, but a famous Middle Eastern/Mediterranean restaurant called Bazar. (Thanks to Shinoo for that tip). They are offering Halal cuisine and the food there was absolutely amazing.
  • We then took the fast train back to the airport. We had booked an airport hotel, because we had to fly back very early in the morning of the next day. By the time we reached the hotel it was midnight.

Amsterdam rocks!