Every year, close to the defence day of Pakistan, we get to hear alot of war songs, mostly from 1965, thanks to our parents… From Noor Jehan to Mehdi Hassan, these songs are so inspirational, emotional and yet melodious!!! What is most surprising is the fact that most of them were written in a matter of minutes and recorded instantly, without any practice or sound editing. I am sure some of you must have heard the words of Noor Jehan, as to how she used to go to the borders in 1965, sing infront of the jawans to motivate them. I would say three things won us that 65 war, Ayubs Speech, Jazba of our jawaans and civilians, and these war songs!!!
I found this song at muziqpakistan.com, this song is not easy to find in such good quality (full points to them for being the only one to have this song up), as the original records on phonogram were said to have been damaged. Its dedicated to the brave people of Lahore, and sung by one of Pakistan’s best artists, Mehdi Hassan…
Faisal bhai, looks like you have been used to the older mehdi hassans ghazal voice, so this one might seem unfamiliar with you… For instance, you must have heard ‘ranjish’, the long ghazal version, and you will be surprised if you listen to the real ranjish which was for a film. I prefer the latter.
I had the honor of witnessing mehdi sahib perform three years ago at liaqat gymnasium in a sept 6th show, he couldnt complete the song because of his illness, but like always, he won over the crowd with this song of his!!!
Im surprised you have not heard of this song??? Its on TV/radios whenever sept 6th is nearby…
Ayubs Speech, man it definitly stands out. I think he started like, “Kalma pe yaqen rakhnay walo, kafron nay hamla kar diya hai, laken woh nehin jantay k unhon nay kis qom ko lalkara hai.” That’s what I heard from the cliping I saw on 6 sept. But my dad has told me the impact of his speech. Then Noor Jahan’s efforts. :k: That song Ea Putar Hatan :k: that alone won us that war.
‘Pakistan ki das crore ki awam par azmaish ka waqat aachuka hai’… It was not kafir, but he said ‘dushman’ I think… Someone sent me that audio clip last week, im going to post it up soon.