18 year old nikkah

So In Islam, as soon as you get your nikkah you are officially married religiously and legally.

So my friend is 18 and the guy that shes going to get her nikkah done with is 21. They are getting their nikkah. Which im really happy about and so are their family members. And also its a love marraige. But Do you guys belive that it is way to young for them esp. for the girl? I just wanted to get your views on this

I’m not much in favor of early marriages, I think girls should be given the opportunity to finish their education, work a bit, get some exposure to the world at large, become a little independent, then get married. Same goes for boys, they should also be standing on their own two feet earning their own income, instead of being dependent on dad for kharcha.

But, early marriages do work out really well for some people and they live happily everafter, so I’m not against it too.

Also, these days media has corrupted the young minds so much… kids like to do everything, koi religious values nahin raheen. Personally I wouldn’t want my kids to get married so early, but if its keeps them away from the path of sin and if they are really dying to experience sex, I would probably let them get married early than go around doing whatever they want. :hinna: its a confusing world out there…

Re: 18 year old nikkah

If they are sure that they can handle the responsibilities of a married life and they can stay happy together then who am I to intervene ?
Agar mian bewee razi toh kia karay ga qazi ?
You live your life and let them live theirs.
People get married at 16 and 14 and live happily after .
Marriage of fully grown up , mature adults can break apart . Success of a married is not tied to age , race , religion , education or ethnicity. It is tied to willingness to make it work at all costs.
There are many factors which can make or break a marriage. Wait for my book on this topic.

my nikah also took at 18 yrs n i got married at 20 i had done my half bachelors that time since i hve to move to other country n due to some reasons my credit hours cant be shifted so after marriage i have to strt my degree from the beginning again after 2 yrs of marriage i m still left wth 2 more year of my studies.....................ahhhhhhhhh its really difficult n now i m totally against of early marriage 1st complete ur education thn go for marriage........otherwise u l be in between.................

what does ur friend want?

isn't that what matters?

it's a blessing to get married with a right guy or girl whether it happens at the age of 18 or 28 or 38. so it doesn't matter if she is 18 as long as the outcome of marriage is happiness for both guy & girl n their families.

if they both are happy and content things in life will automatically fall into place.

No, I don't think it's too young (for her). Getting married doesn't mean that you can't finish your education or you can't work.

After nikkah they should be together and no as long as they are baligh its fine to get married .

I am personally for girls to get as much education as they want and guy to get settled before getting married but there is nothing wrong in getting married at 18. At least its better than getting pregnant without marriage at 16...isnt it?

As far as Nikkah only is concerned, I am not for keeping nikkahs for extended period and not living together.

It's too young, but then I have seen one girl who was the same age when she got married, and she really likes being a young stay at home mom. I don't know enough about her kid to know if she's disciplined her well or not, but she does like the lifestyle.

It's your preference at the end of the day. But usually, in these circustances, the girls are NOT encouraged to get educated and rather, they are pretty much either forced to get married early or they're deluded into thinking that this is the only right option for them. So in reality, I don't see many 18 yr old girls WILLFULLY deciding they want to get married at that age. Usually some parent makes them settle down earlier (either the girl is too loose or is not disciplined, or she's seen as a burden to her family, or the family thinks that only irreligious people wait to get married).

As long as this is HER willful decision, and no one is pushing her into it or influencing her into it, then I could care less. As long as this is what makes her happy.

It is sad, though, to see such a huge number of girls in our culture getting married earlier. I think our families would be more educated and successful and more well respected and moral if these girls got an education and spent a little time out there in the world. I think those girls just raise better and smarter kids.

Education is good, but why do our people blame marriage for adults failing to get an education. At least one person in the marriage works full time in order to provide financial support. If he/ she can work full time, than why can't the other get a 4 year education? I understand that marriage is work, and there are household chores to take care of, but aren't those chores there prior to marriage. They dont magically appear in your susral. If you parents were nice enough to baksh you, and you were selfish enough to accept that by throwing the burden on them, then I can understand you failing to be able to multi task and not be able to manage contributing to a household and getting and education at the same time. I believe it is a child's responsibility to help maintain the house as soon as she is old enough to (anywhere from age 10-12). I also do understand household chores are more of a women's job, but certain things need to be taught to males as well, you never know where life may take you, so you should be able to learn how to cook a nutritional meal to feed yourself, and clean the restroom in order to keep youself healthy. In conclusion there is nothing wrong with being married at a young age. It is promoted in Islam because it prevents you from commiting fornification. Marriage is truly a blessing, and I believe it should be done asap after a person matures mentally.

DB… you’re not married yet na, shaadi kay baad ki expectations are very different and your responsibilities kind of double up. You are not doing only your own chores, you are doing your husbands also. In our culture the wife is expected to do everything for the husband while he will just sit on the couch watching TV and sipping tea, relaxing after he comes back from work and then he will also say kay “tum mairay paas bethtee hee nahin” … you are expected to give him company and if you’re living with in-laws, phir tau aur zyaada zimmedaari hoti hai, and its nothing hard… those things are just time consuming, so you basically don’t get time to do any personal stuff or studying done.

Like whenever I go to my susraal, I step into my bedroom only at night for sleeping, baaqi saara din kuch na kuch masroofiyat hoti hee hai. Aur kuch nahin tau MIL needs company, which while not expected from the daughters is definitely expected from the bahu plus maids ki supervision :smack: I can probably do all that kaam myself within 3 hours that they spend the whole day doing but no, I have to supervise only and that takes the WHOLE day.

So much depends on the couple. THe person I most admire on the planet is my SIL who married at 16. She's a better hostess than Martha Stewart. She is more beautiful than a movie star. She always wears a smile, is always happy, always has positive things to say. Even if she critisizes, it doesnt seem like critisizm and you rush off immediately to follow her advice. She was more mature at age 16 than most 35 year olds I've ever met. So...live and let live yeah? Whats right for one is really wrong for another.

I can definitely understand that, but when something needs to be done it needs to be done. I think you should get married if you find a good proposal and still have 2/3 years left of your education. IMO marriages comes before education. I guess I have just seen so many people regret not getting married a little earlier, but than again I have also seen some regert getting married so early. I guess the grass is always greener on ther other side. :confused:

WAIT YOU HAVE A MAID??? lol

MashAllah that sounds perfect. I hope to be that wife some day!

Yea thanks for your replies guys. But this is also the case as in she really happy, but their just going to get their nikkah done.. so its not like shes had to take care of the susaral and everything, and saas ki baatey sune pare geh. She was just asking me that do you personally think im young and making a mistake? and what not . So i said il have to think about it. Also the boy is a US citizen but currently at this time he is studying in Pakistan. And she is here in USA.
So yea.. i think that might change somethings up