12 years later...

You know growing up, you have a close circle of friends… there were about five of us, when i was growing up in Abu Dhabi, who were my closest friends in the world, grades 2-7. After grade 7, we all sort of split up - i left the UAE, one friend left for the Phillipines, another for Pakistan, and three stayed in the UAE. We stayed in touch for a few years, exchanging letters and pictures back and forth. (This was the early 90s, before the internet and e-mail became popular!! Does that make me sound old or what). Somehow or the other, i lost contact with the friend in the Phillipines, and also lost contact with one Abu Dhabi friend… i heard later from someone that she had moved to the States, but none of us knew where precisely in the States. i tried to find out her contact information through her surname, but to no luck. So out of the original circle, there were about three of us who still stayed in contact over the past decade.

Three weeks ago, i received a letter from the friend who is in the States… it was completely out of the blue. Somehow or the other, her Mamoo tracked down my new mailing address. i couldn’t believe it. She had included her phone number & e-mail address in her letter, so i thought i would surprise her and call her up. It was around 12-1 pm her time. It had been 12 years since we had spoken to each other on the phone. Someone picked up, and after saying Salaam, i asked for my friend by her name… it was the weirdest feeling in the world to hear her say, “Ji, maiN bol rahi hooN”. And then i said, ‘Tumko pata hai maiN kaun hooN?" After a few seconds’ silence, she goes - “Nadia?” And we both started laughing… gosh, it felt so weird, sad, and happy at the same time.

i found out that she is married, that she has one daughter Masha’Allah, and is expecting another. i couldn’t believe how quickly we have to make up for the lost time by squeezing in information that the other individual hasn’t known about for the past 12 years. Where to even start is the question.

Does anyone have close friends like that, whom you often wonder - what ever happened to them? Where are they now? And have you been able to get in contact with them? How does it feel to resume a friendship after a ‘gap’ of several years? The strange thing is, that in a way, with this friend and myself, i feel we have automatically picked up where we left off… Sure we didn’t know much about the other during that phone conversation three weeks ago, but in a way - i am amazed at how quickly our friendship has just picked up at where it left off, twelve years ago.

Wow…mujhe to parhte parhte he itni khushi ho rahi hai clapping karta hai aik dam best kaam ho gaya..nahin?

I am kinda not surprised that it din’t take long for both of you to resume (if that’s the word) where you left off 12 long years ago. She was a friend-and she still is. Simple. No matter what amount of catching up needs to be done, will be done…coz the mental adjustment is already there to begin with…hena? :~)

I had a good friend back when i was in Class 3. He was with me from Class 1 to Class 3…then i moved to our new house in karachi in '86. This was the pre-internet era and though i managed to rub shoulders with him over the phone once…dobara koi aisi lambi baat ho he na saki…and i broke contact again.

I don’t know…sometimes it so happens (as in my case) that friendships evolve overtime. Out of the very many friends that you may have early on in life, few may survive the gusts of time. Often enough, it is the common educational discipline that keeps friends gelled together…warna it seems as if you are running out of new things to discuss and share…(dunno..it could just be me).

Parh kar khushi hui… :k:

I was in Peshawar from 1st to 7th grade and afterwards in Pindi/Chaklala. Among all my friends, I have only one that I am in contact with, and that even isn't anything regular. One reason is that I wasn't close any of them anyway. Though all my friends from Chaklala and I are still very close, thanks to the internet. Just today I got an email from one of them I haven't heard in quiet some time but he gave me updates on about 5-6 of them. It's kinda interesting to see what all of them are doing. It's amazing!! Just this last trip to San Jose, I got to meet one of my high school friends, who told me that another of our class mates is coming over this Fall.

Congratulations Nadia on your past revival. :-)

aw. Khanzada, you are always so kind Masha’Allah. :flower1: Thank you. You are absolutely correct, bilkul best kaam hi ho gaya.

True. i don’t know, with her - i feel like we have automatically sort of picked up where we left off. But i hope that our friendship continues Insha’Allah to become stronger, and it doesn’t just fade away in a few months after the ‘novelty’ of rediscovering each other has worn off. heh i worry too much :halo: i’m sure that won’t happen Insha’Allah. But it’s at the back of my mind. i really, really value our friendship and i want to keep it with her forever. i already missed her shaadi ka date, i missed the birth of her first child, i missed so many important events in her life. From now on, i want to be there for her as a friend Insha’Allah, for everything that happens to her.

Ahmadjee, aw thank you :flower1: It wasn’t all sweet and happy as i made it out to be in my first post, though, to be honest. She hadn’t been in contact with our other friends in the circle, and i had to break some bad news to her regarding one of our friends, whose father had passed away. And that part was really difficult, i have never had to break the news of someone passing away, to someone else… and i hated doing it, especially over a phone.
Khair, that may be part of the ‘catching up’ to do when it comes to old friends. You have to share the happy, and sad, news equally.

that’s a nice story nadia :k:

congratz on regaining a friend :~)

when i was in Paistan i went to Dawood Public school an i had three friends there which were my bestffriends for a few years... at the age of 9 i moves to america, Tara moved to Australia, Nadia was in Karachi but i losttouch with her n then there was Aisha who was in Karachi, i met her once in 91 after 2 years in newyork,, an that was the last time i saw her.. I dont kno if they remmeber me... but i sure do remmeber them N the best time spent with them..
heck maybe one of them is probably on gupshup lol..
that would be the wierdest n maybe the best thing

:slight_smile: very sweet Nadia and congrats on finding her :hug:

you know the BEST friend of my life, her and me used to be like one soul in two bodies literally, we used to play together every single evening from class 3 to about 8…she didnt have a sister and neither did i,she was my sister and i was heres…

she shifted to a new house in karachi…and then we kind of lost touch…and then i came to america…i didn’t even know how to tell her that i was going…

i used to specially miss her every eid coz it used to be our tradition that she used to come to my house every eid…

then after some time, i found out abt her…and then i snooped and found out where she was studying, how tall she had become and all that stuff…

i also found her phone number :smiley:

and once on eid, from the us, i called her in pakistan, and just made up some random name, k i am that person, she picked up and such a huge coincidence, she actually had a friend by that name, and the khothi talked to me for half an hour and i worked out all info abt her in shrewd ways :smiley: she had no idea she was talking to me, she thought i was that friend of hers…

i always used to wonder if she still cared for me that much or not…and if she was also dying to see me as i was…and i just kept wondering lol…

after a yr when i went to pak, i was working in my kitchen when suddenly i heard a knock on the door…and someone shouting my name

lol…

when suddenly i went and there SHE WAS!!!

couldn’t believe my eyes…she had grown so tall and she was like THERE in front of my eyes :eek: gosh i cant describe my emotions then!!!

we talked for ages abt stupid stuff…and then we kept in touch from there :smiley:

i am so glad she’s back in my life… :slight_smile:

sweet stories ppl. :)

I had the same thing going- no email/internet when we went our different ways. But managed to meet some friends over the years by coincidence (at malls, inter-uni PSA/MSA events, through a friend-of-a-friend etc.).

This may be less 'spontaneous' or 'magical' but you can also locate your ol' school chums through alumni/'class-of' websites. Type in 'high school alumni' in a yahoo search and click on some of the top 10 matches.

most cater to N.American schools but there are a few that list international high schools.

alumni DOT net, and gradfinder DOT com have a particularly large international (particularly UAE) student members.

oh got another story to share…

my mom found some of her university friends that she used to go to university with in east pakistan [now bangladesh]…my mom’s family migrated from east pakistan to west pakistan but some of her friends didnt migrate to pak and stayed on in east pak then and some migrated later…and then my mom was abroad…so she lost touch with them…

and recently she’s been finding out abt her friends thru mutual friends where we live in karachi…

and believe it or not, her whole uni friends group has reunited in karachi :eek:

its soo cute to see them all together, talking, reminiscing, complaining and all that :smiley:

my dad makes hecka fun of them to my mom hehehehe :smiley:

sweet:flower1:
i had many friends in pakistan,we all stayed together from kg to yr8…then i moved to england,one moved to america the rest are still in pakistan,i didnt hear from them for a year but then we got hold of each others addresses,we mail each other,i call sometimes & i really wish that i was back there again.
& then i found some more addresses while going through some old stuff,such such good memories & we’v become even more closer:)

What beautiful heartwarming stories. :-) That's true friendship, even after seeing each other after all that time, still having that special bond.

I've had that with old friends of school, sometimes you see them suddenly somewhere in town, becuase of work, moving away, etc. you can't keep in touch. It's alwyas nice to run in to somoen like that after all those years and see how they have changed. :-) And the nice suprises of seeing each others children.

It always makes me feel so old when I run into an old friend. It's unbelievable how quick time passes by.

nadia: bhai aap itni tension na lia karein…i am sure if this thing is at the back of your mind then you’d consciously try and make all efforts for it NOT to happen. I am sure aisa he ho ga inshallah! :~)

niqabi: that first story was a shughal-mela type story :biggthumb esp calling her up and snooping away all info :eek: chalo..achi baat yeh hai ke happy ending ho gai…i love happy endings :smiley:

itni achi achi reunion ki stories hain *feels really happy and does a merry-go-round :halo: