100 civillians on average die daily in Iraq

Re: 100 civillians on average die daily in Iraq

http://www.undispatch.com/archives/2006/07/every_day_1200_1.html

1200 People die in Congo daily.

I can understand United States and its media avoiding the apparent civil war in Iraq but not Muslims. It is sad that we are not helping our brothers in need; there is no strategy in place by scholars and our leaders to avoid the bloodshed in Iraq. I would not necessarily blame extremists and Mullahs as the moderates have failed too. There is no united voice whatsoever from Muslims to unite Iraqis. This is yet another glaring example of Muslims loosing faith in their abilities.

Uncle Ohioguy

I am not in the answering mode right now. Otherwise I can reply immaculately to your and Aunty Seminole's replies. Honestly, I donlt have enough time right now.

Waiting for Aunty Seminole's references about her calims....

Yes, making time to think about 100 Muslim deaths per day can be a time consuming drag when you have a new xbox game to worry about.

Carry on.

Honest and insightful answer. Leadership is what is needed... if not by scholars, then some Muslim leader who can unite people to end the bloodshed. If they could muster up the same kinds of crowds and emotions that the 'death to Israel' and 'death to America' leaders do, then something may get done. Muslim blood shouldn't be cheap, no matter who is doing the killing.

Too bad Miss Lahore can't come up with something as constructive.

I guess partly the difference in the deaths is that crime and accident related deaths are always treated differently then deaths caused by external forces. Just recently 50 were killed in Pakistan (Mardan) from a bridge collapse due to floods, yet the people died here will never get the recognition of those killed in Qana.

So, this is somewhat part of human nature, but at the same time, completely ignoring the Iraqi deaths and hoping they will go away is very dangerous as it desensitizes us to violence. Imagine if such a situation, God forbid, comes to Pakistan. How would we feel if the rest of the world were to ignore it?

Also, deaths by flood, accidents, earthquakes cannot really be avoided, but it hurts more when people kill other people especially if it's so pointless as hate.

Iraqi Deaths will continue to be ignored as long as the killers are Arabs and not Americans or Jews.

The only reason Lebanon is in the forefront is because Jews are killing Arabs.

I don't know what was world's reaction during the 1990s massacres in Karachi, but I can tell you that even people in Karachi were desensitized to some extent, they would read the heading "30 killed in ...." and move to the next headline. Such is the nature of human being when something happens repetitvely no matter how grave in nature. It doesn't mean that everyone becomes desensitized, but a big part of population does, and its not an excuse either to not do anything against it.

Is this a dig at my comment?

OhioGuy, you really know nothing about my views so kindly keep your bakwas (crap) to yourself.

Since the day I joined GS, I have been saying the same thing. Muslims must unite and put an end to all the bloodshed. Half of our problems are caused by fellow Muslims because there is little unity. Unlike your fellow World Affair posters, yourself included at times, I don't have blinders on. Nor do I blame Jews/Americans for every wrong doing in the Muslim world.

This isn't just my sentiment but plenty of people out there. Khair, your opinion of Muslims is pretty much based on what you see here in World Affairs. There is more to Muslims than just this forum and what is going on in the middle east.

ease up mehnazQ, you are a mod

Why must Muslims 'unite' to be successful? No other religious groups 'unites' across national lines under the umbrella of a religion.

Well, it is immensely reassuring to have such a clearly superior intellect available.

:rolleyes:

It is interesting that Iraqis uniting as Iraqis, the problem is they never had the opportunity to rise as Iraqis than Sunni, Shia and Kurds. The only way I can think of are influential figures from every ethnicity making statements encouraging Iraqis to end the blood shed. There is void between these three and it seems to be growing everyday.

Muslims don't need to unite to be "successful" on individual basis but rather on "ummah" level.

I am speaking of the 'ummah level'. No other religion strives to unite in this way. Perhaps it is a fallacy that Muslims think they must as well since it is highly unlikey such disparate peoples ever will. It's like hoping for something that will never happen and if that is the measurement of hope or success, it is a waste of time and not doing the things that will bring about success.

Uncle Ohioguy,
This aunty, MehnazQ, is relly shrilly and spicy. Keep away. Don’t fiddle with her…

I sympathize with you for what you have to face from her side. I really sympathize :teary1:

We cannot just blame Muslims lack of unity for this crisis. It is human nature to take law into their hands when there is no law and order in place. The Iraqi government needs to speak and represent the people of Iraq rather just be a face for the International community. It is a “hot bed” for civil war because decades of unsettling and injustice against particular community. This has led to people having prejudice feelings for one another. United States should have anticipated it, rather acting all surprised. United States and Iraqi government can still trim down the casualties if they start listening to the people of Iraq and help them come to political platform where they can discuss their differences. Also, the influential figures must be encouraged to denouce and condem the violence against civilians. Their silence is not helping the cause...

The concept of "ummah" is not 1, 10 or 100 years old, it came with "birth" of Islam. If Muslims feel the pain of other Muslims and want to be helping THEN they must unite. If Muslims don't feel pain for each other's suffering then there is no need to unite. Currently, Muslims do feel but after feeling the pain they go back to their normal-self (of un-united ways).

Apparently you have never met my wife! You have to love a woman with a little zip to her!

There are all kinds of concepts that came with the birth of religions hundreds and thousands of years ago, it doesn't mean they are right.

If mankind feels the pain of other men, then they must unite. The mindset of limiting your concern for only others that follow your faith is directly related to the situation we are in today - a clash of civilizations. Blind support for Muslims, whether right or wrong. The hatred of Jews. Crying when non-Muslims kill Muslms, but silent when it is by the hand of Muslims.

This kind of thinking is no better than George Bush and his neocon cronies when they say "you are either with us or against us" and try to impose their will on other countries and cultures. The world will not survive if all of man does not unite. This goes for Muslims as well as non-Muslims.