My lehenga is so heavy - does one get used to it? I can’t wear it around because of all the kaam that gets stuck. How will I move at the shaadi? It is a normal shaadi lehenga I am sure…but definitely not on the lighter side.
Dupatta is so heavy! How will it stay on my head? I still have no idea who will be getting me dressed. My gori make-up girl won’t be able to. I know what dupatta styles I want, but I am very concerned that my teeka etc stay firmly in place along with dupatta.
My mehndi dupatta is just as heavy and I was all about simplicity but according to my mum aaj kal yahee chal raha hai. How will I boogie down?
This exorbitant amount I’ve spent on lingerie had better be worth it
Aunties are suggesting getting a photog for mayoun. Really? Can’t we just use the cameras everyone has? I have paid an arm and a leg for mehndi, nikkah reception already!!
K Bridal pics all look the same (that’s not a concern, just a thought).
Still have not decided on what to walk into…I want something Islamic…was going to do either: Maula mere maula, teri ore, shukran Allah…but they all have bollywood words, I’d prefer something instrumental. Any ideas??? I was thinking of Zain Bikha’s ‘the wedding song’. Please help!
For your tikka, have your MUA put a little bit of eyelash glue on the back of it and then stick it to your forehead. That will help keep it in place. And just use lots and lots of safety pins for your dupattas and make sure the dupatta is balanced on your head properly. That will help reduce the weight.
Don't worry too much about the lengha being heavy, you'll have friends or cousins around who can help you carry it as you walk to the stage. And then you'll be sitting for the rest of the evening so you'll be fine! As for the mayoun photography, if it's really important to you you can hire someone. I think you'll be fine without a pro too, though. If you really want to, ask your most talented cousin/friend to take most of the "official" photos.
Congratulations! And remember to enjoy your wedding! :)
you kind of do. but at most weddings, brides stay put on the stage; people bring stuff to them, or when they’re entering, they have someone helping them in. the valima is more for walking around and greeting guests–not sure if that dress is heavy too.
My baraat duputta was like 20 lbs (no exaggeration)…and I have very thin and fine hair, not thick or long at all…but alot of backcombing, makeup artist even used “puffs” in my hair. Teeka was held in place on the forehead with glue. Made me break out a bit after the wedding though It wasn’t comfortable at all, but it’s only one night…
lots and lots of pins
It will be.
You don’t have to, but go ahead if you want to! Your aunties are awesome.
Yeah they do. but they’re yours and that’s all that matters.
I had sooooo wanted Maula mere maula…dunno what’s the current trend, but these are nice selections. Not sure if it’ would be hard to fin dinstrumentals of these songs?
I can't tell you much about the heavy dupatta because my bridal was on the light side - but do keep an advil on you! That's what my MUA suggested because the dupatta might get heavy and give you a headache. Although, I think you'll be too distracted enjoying the day to care about the headache, but just keep it anyway.
My MUA used eyelash glue for teeka, it sits perfectly.
Who cares what aunties say! It's not their wedding, they're not paying an arm and a leg for it. So do what you feel like doing. We only had pro photog on Mehndi and Reception, not even nikkah...because of our budget.
Also, a random advice - don't go for individual lashes! They're a pain and a half to take out, and hubby and I spent a good chunk of the night getting rid of those lashes lol. So just go for the entire strip ones. Also, don't forget to enjoy your day...it goes by way too fast, and later you miss being a bride! (I still miss it even after 2 months!) So bask in it's glory while it lasts!
K Bridals from Karachi covering your wedding ? They did my sisters and we love love love the pictures ...they are very cooperative and open to new ideas / poses etc
Hey! I am getting married in a few days myself.. Aug 25th Inshallah,
Just to give you a suggestion for the walk-in song, I am doing an instrumental as well and I wanted something very sweet..soft.. with flute.
The instrumental to jashn-e-bahara is really nice, so see if that is your taste.
My lenghas also way a ton, trust me. My mom just tells me that you basically just have to move around gracefully and have someone by you throughout the wedding to help you out.. I think thats the best you can do when the lengha weighs more than you lol
Congrats cat woman.
K Bridals from Karachi covering your wedding ? They did my sisters and we love love love the pictures ...they are very cooperative and open to new ideas / poses etc
You'll manage! My Valima outfit was heavy and I was concerned with movement since I knew there would be dancing that day... but while yes, it was my heaviest outfit (and had a train), I didn't really care " in the moment". I don't think people could tell how heavy it was beacuse I was moving/dancing just as if it wasn't :P You'll get caught up in the moment and forget all about how heavy things are!
As others have said, glue your teeka :) As for the dupatta, pin it at the back and shoulders to help distribute the weight. Use "U" shaped pins at the top of your head and safety pins on your shoulders/back etc
Yes
I had a photographer for my mayoun and I'm glad I did! It's totally upto you though... my husband didn't. I'm glad I did because I didn't have to worry about the quality of the pictures and I knew she would pull my family together for group shots and stuff.
K Bridals work is gorgeous :)
Don't worry, you'll be fine... just enjoy your day!
You'll get used to the lengha being heavy. Just make sure you don't have an elastic at the waist. You need a tie/kamarband to make sure it stays secure.
The dupatta being heavy will require lots of expert pinning, I think. Ideally if you'll have your hair up underneath the dupatta, tons of pins should be in the bulk so that it helps hold the weight there. And I've seen MUA also pin the dupatta lifted a little on the back. Maybe have one end supported on your arm.
See above.
Enjoy! But try not to put too much pressure on yourself about all that. Just have fun. It's not really about the lingerie :p
I think either way is fine. Do you have someone who can be in charge of photography? Having a professional helps free up that person to enjoy the event.