0.32 Calibre

Although I try my best to keep my virtual world separate from the real one , sometimes they just overlap and the reason is that when I say I am “disillusioned” I should have substantial proof to justify my argument.

My mamoo is one of a kind, his father died in front of his eyes at the age of 12(drowned), after that he lost interest in education, took up serious drinking, and evolved into a nymphomaniac.
His first marriage lasted for 10 years, three children, two daughters and a son. He used to regularly beat up his wife, cheated on her, had no job, got into fights with people, threatening them with guns …etc. One day while he was pissed drunk he shot his wife in front of his son who was 4 at the time. He told us that he was cleaning the gun and accidentally shot her. We believed him! The girl’s family went to court but my mamoo used his influence and got acquitted. 13 years have passed since this episode. In the mean time he remarried, the second wife left him after 2 years and the third wife is still with him. He has 2 more daughters from his third wife.

Well this thread is not about my mamoo its about how he influences our lives. Up till now I had allot of respect for him, but recently circumstances have changed. He has eaten 90 % of my mothers property. As my mom and Dad are extremely Islamic, they have forgiven him for that..One day my mamoo brought this subject up, well unlike my parents I was quite vocal about my mom’s rights, that a daughter deserves her share, it was like catching him on the wrong foot, for a few seconds he was quiet but then started giving incoherent justification . we exchanged a few harsh words. He just couldn’t believe that his nephew will one day stand up to him.
Since then he has totally cut off with us, he went so far as saying that “May I (Pakora) get the worse kind of cancer and die”..ha ha. Yesterday I saw him at a dinner he totally ignored my dad and me. He kept taking out his pistol and showing it to his friends trying to intimidate us ..(ha ha again). Well I know how to handle him and how to defeat him at his own game .:smiley:

The point here is that just a year back I was at the top of my career, giving presentations, getting promotion, living in the best city of the world and now I have reduced my self to “Gali Galoch” fighting with relatives for “marlas” and “Jareebs”,.

Moral of the story: Thank God under any circumstance, and keep away from your Mamoo’s.:smiley:

I think its good that you stood up to him :k:

the comment about knowing how to deal with him i totaly understand that :)

LOL oh pakora how i LOVE ur morals of the stories

sigh i guess it doesn’t just happen to one desi, this jibberish is everywhere

anyways in my story we hafta keep away from our chachuz as well as mamuz, bukwas na? only if i were a guy i wulda stood up for my parents..lekin larki ko kon puchta hai yar :bummer:

im glad u did that and miTTee paao if he doesn’t talk or even nazar milaa, ese rishtedaaron se tou behtar hai rishtedaar hee na hon koi

syapay :rolleyes:

P.S. do tell us more stories..i lurv it when i can relate to stuff too :smiley:

crap yaar, :smack:
U will receive my pm tomorrow,
u have my word this time

That sucks. Take care of yourself man.

Interesting story, i trust my mamoo's though :)

the only ppl u can trust are ur parents and sometimes ur spouses. Other than that everyone else is just there to have good time and if you can't provide them with that they wont have any relationship with u watsoever. My parents instead of gaining more respect, lost it after my sis got married to a white guy (mashAllah he converted to islam). My parents never left those ppl's side, and my dad side don't even start me on this one :) neways seems like every family have evil ppl, may Allah protect us all from their evil side, amen. :)

chorni, its not about being a female/male, you can always stand up for what you think is right in ur heart. I did, they started calling me with dumb titles and I was pretty young at that time too, but I didn't care. Now, since my sis got married and they don't give two ****s about us, nor do we about them. But still my parents want us to give them the respect and all, and I just can't. For me it would be like being a hypocrite. I just don't sit with them or talk to them. They are bunch of saveges, at least for me. For me only two ppl of this planet holds the respect and if anyone says anything to them or disrespect them in any manners I don't put up with that. My parents have calmed me down on several occassions, I become mostly outrageous :D. I wont suggest that you do the same, but don't think that female/male have any diff specially in this issue. :)

Re: 0.32 Calibre

*Originally posted by Pakora: *
Although I try my best to keep my virtual world separate from the real one , sometimes they just overlap and the reason is that when I say I am “disillusioned” I should have substantial proof to justify my argument.

My mamoo is one of a kind, his father died in front of his eyes at the age of 12(drowned), after that he lost interest in education, took up serious drinking, and evolved into a nymphomaniac.
His first marriage lasted for 10 years, three children, two daughters and a son. He used to regularly beat up his wife, cheated on her, had no job, got into fights with people, threatening them with guns …etc. One day while he was pissed drunk he shot his wife in front of his son who was 4 at the time. He told us that he was cleaning the gun and accidentally shot her. We believed him! The girl’s family went to court but my mamoo used his influence and got acquitted. 13 years have passed since this episode. In the mean time he remarried, the second wife left him after 2 years and the third wife is still with him. He has 2 more daughters from his third wife.

Well this thread is not about my mamoo its about how he influences our lives. Up till now I had allot of respect for him, but recently circumstances have changed. He has eaten 90 % of my mothers property. As my mom and Dad are extremely Islamic, they have forgiven him for that..One day my mamoo brought this subject up, well unlike my parents I was quite vocal about my mom’s rights, that a daughter deserves her share, it was like catching him on the wrong foot, for a few seconds he was quiet but then started giving incoherent justification . we exchanged a few harsh words. He just couldn’t believe that his nephew will one day stand up to him.
Since then he has totally cut off with us, he went so far as saying that “May I (Pakora) get the worse kind of cancer and die”..ha ha. Yesterday I saw him at a dinner he totally ignored my dad and me. He kept taking out his pistol and showing it to his friends trying to intimidate us ..(ha ha again). Well I know how to handle him and how to defeat him at his own game .:D

The point here is that just a year back I was at the top of my career, giving presentations, getting promotion, living in the best city of the world and now I have reduced my self to “Gali Galoch” fighting with relatives for “marlas” and “Jareebs”,.

Moral of the story: Thank God under any circumstance, and keep away from your Mamoo’s.:D

Pakora Bhai,

I do hope this is not a Joke, Sure sounds like a joke!!!

Your Mamoo was uneducated, Alcholic, Nymphomaniac, He beat his wife, cheated on his wife, had no job, Got into fights, threathend people, even shot and killed his wife, cheated the legal system, his second wife left him.

Inspite of all tha you say, HE INFLUENCED YOUR LIFE!!!!!!. YOU HAD A LOT OF RESPECT FOR HIM!!!!!.

Now here is the twist,

He cheats your mother out of 90% of her share, and suddenly you get VOCAL, and CONFRONT him, and even get down to his level and think you can BEAT him at his own game, you have also resorted to GAALI GALOCH and are also picking FIGHTS with your family!!!!!

Moral of the Story: You are sounding more and more like your Mamoo!!!, in fact I would say you are worse, he was uneducated, whats your excuse!!!!

Aejaz Dear!!

1. Its not a joke.
  2. My mamoo is not illiterate, He has done his BA, but then again Maulana Fazl-ur-rehman also holds a BA Degree.:D
  3. When you have a large family that spans from Swat to interior sindh , You cant totally abandon any part of your family because of there wrong doings UNLESS you are the victim The closest example would be US of A , when Al-qaeda struck in there own back yard they retaliated.
  4. I always live by the norms and law’s of the land , when In Britain , I loved fish and chips but when I am in Peshawar I love chapli kebabs.

Moral of the story: Expats should come and live with there relatives in Pakistan and then post a moral to a story.

*Originally posted by Pakora: *
Aejaz Dear!!

1. Its not a joke.
  2. My mamoo is not illiterate, He has done his BA, but then again Maulana Fazl-ur-rehman also holds a BA Degree.:D
  3. When you have a large family that spans from Swat to interior sindh , You cant totally abandon any part of your family because of there wrong doings UNLESS you are not the victim The closest example would be US of A , when Al-qaeda struck in there own back yard they retaliated.
  4. I always live by the norms and law’s of the land , when In Britain , I loved fish and chips but when I am in Peshawar I love chapli kebabs.

Moral of the story: Expats should come and live with there relatives in Pakistan and then post a moral to a story.

Pakora Bhai,

My observations were posted after reading your original post, dont you think it implied everything I said.

What does a large family have anything to do with anything??? Specially USA and Al Qaeda??

I have no reservations about your food habits, BTW no matter where I am, India, USA, Dubai, Muscat, Saudi Arabia, or even on my brief visit to KHI in 94, I still love Chappli Kebabs.

Moral of the Story: Not every one here is Pakistani, and yes staying with relatives is a NO NO for me

*The point here is that just a year back I was at the top of my career, giving presentations, getting promotion, living in the best city of the world and now I have reduced my self to “Gali Galoch” fighting with relatives for “marlas” and “Jareebs”,. *

This is interesting. What is your plan now? Are you going to put a gun on your mamoo’s forehead if he does what he is capable of, or are you going to do what your parents have been doing i.e. ignoring him.

What are your plans as far as career in Pakistan is concerned. I am asking this questions because there are a lot of other youngsters in your shoes who gain a few years of practical life experience in the west and go back home. There are different sets challenges for them (e.g. relatives issue in your post) that can turn one’s life/goals upside down. What would you advise to students in the west who are following your footsteps and plan to go back home? What does it take to fit in again?

scary mamooo!! He sounds like a right ghunda.

Aejaz: You dint get my post but nonetheless reading your remark “that I am becoming like my mamoo” gave me a strong sense of déjà vu (I have heard it before :D)

Fayaz: Everyone’s circumstances vary greatly …why did MY coming back turn into a recipe for disaster …

a. The degree I have done (masters) and my job experience in UK has no implications what so ever in Pakistan…
b. Belonging to NWFP and knowing that my Dad owns some land I should have anticipated family feuds..
c. The city I live in i.e. Peshawar is also a reason, only the brain dead, retired, or a person who has no ambition in life can survive happily in Peshawar. It lacks exposure.

These were my specific reasons, advice for others:- check your job market and then make a decision your career comes first . Coming back for family shows lack of maturity and that should not be a reason for ruining your life .I would just like to say one thing If you STILL want to come back, Do Not Make comparisons!

Being called a Paki, or getting special treatment at the airport are quite insignificant things in front of bleeding to death on the road knowing the only ambulance detailed to pick you up has been taken by some begum sahib for shopping.

PS: Baba G please allow multinicks :D

Originally posted by Pakora: *
Aejaz: reading your remark “that I am becoming like my mamoo” gave me a strong sense of *déjà vu
(I have heard it before :D)

Regarding your comment,

That is exactly what I was trying to say, You are sounding more and more like your Mamoo!!!

Regarding your Request,

I guess, that has something to do with you being able to post this type of threads, without being Recognised.

:D :D

*Originally posted by Aejaz: *

I guess, that has something to do with you being able to post this type of threads, without being Recognised.

:D :D

Well done Einstein!!!…:) :D

Mamoo teri tou Vaat Lag Gai!!!

:smiley: :wave: :smiley:

Originally posted by Pakora: *
Aejaz: You dint get my post but nonetheless reading your remark “that I am becoming like my mamoo” gave me a strong sense of *déjà vu
(I have heard it before :D)

Fayaz: Everyone’s circumstances vary greatly …why did MY coming back turn into a recipe for disaster …

a. The degree I have done (masters) and my job experience in UK has no implications what so ever in Pakistan…
b. Belonging to NWFP and knowing that my Dad owns some land I should have anticipated family feuds..
c. The city I live in i.e. Peshawar is also a reason, only the brain dead, retired, or a person who has no ambition in life can survive happily in Peshawar. It lacks exposure.

These were my specific reasons, advice for others:- check your job market and then make a decision your career comes first . Coming back for family shows lack of maturity and that should not be a reason for ruining your life .I would just like to say one thing If you STILL want to come back, Do Not Make comparisons!

Being called a Paki, or getting special treatment at the airport are quite insignificant things in front of bleeding to death on the road knowing the only ambulance detailed to pick you up has been taken by some begum sahib for shopping.

No1 could have said it better, pakoray. Ur calibre is of a much higher level. Some of these guppies didnt even understand what u were talking about.

I say ur calibre is of a much higher level. What ur parents have done is a major deed, & it will account for the better I'm sure. But as far as ur concerned, get the hell out of there mak, & build a career.

Even Dubai doesnt have a position for a person like u, but Im pretty sure, maybe in the next 5 years, it will. U can always go back to UK. Ur a prodigy mak, & I said it.

Now firestart & help urself.

Aejaz: Its not the mamoo I am afraid of its my reputation on GS.:D

MALIK: Thank You, You are too kind.:)

Im slowly turning into a rattlesnake pakoray.