Your religious state of mind

Re: Your religious state of mind

All i know is if Allah wanted us to be completely immersed and involved in worship only then probably he would have asked us to go into isolation and just meditate and worship.

What's more important is that huqooq-Allah can be forgiven but Huqooq ul Ibaad (duty towards fellow beings) wont be forgiven unless the person him/herself does so.

A balance must definitely be there. One should not just lock themselves up in the room and keep doing 'ibaadat' and neither should one stop fasting or praying when having important exams or tough job hours.

I am not even commenting on whether one is complete or not, but you cant deny that a religious hermit is the sole deriver of the benefits of worship. Whereas, an inventor/innovator can improve others lives tangibly. If I dont go into extreme example of a hermit, then yeah a religious person can be both, but one aspect will certainly be affected, cuz each requires great dedication.

We would keep misunderstanding each other's perspectives, as all aspects of this discussion can't be stated in detail every bit. Lets makes things simple:

We should read the *'seerah' *(lifestyle) of our role models and deal with everything/ situation/ relation/ duty/ responsibility as they did. At least we should try our level best to follow their footsteps and habits, to the best of our ability in the circumstances available to us.

Of course, many things have changed with time, but principles haven't. Rehmat-ul-lil-Aalameen was sent as the last prophet for all the people till the day of judgement. Who else can maintain a better balance then him ? We can't be like him but he would remain the ultimate source of guidance and example to follow.

None of what you're saying is even being debated.

Where did I say/meant that disregard this life ? Where did I say the purpose of this life is only for spirituality ?

I'll continue after you answer these two questions.

Do I really want you to continue? :p

It wasn't directed specifically at you. It's the disdain that some religious folks tend to have for this life that I was getting at.

Maybe I didn't convey my point correctly for which I apologize. Actually, I intended to say that we should prioritize spirituality over physical matters. Because our soul is permanent but the body is temporary and also that of other people we are responsible for.

It is easy to understand when a man tries his level best to (even aggressively) save himself and others from a house that is on fire, but usually it is difficult to understand the duty Allah has given us of (humbly) saving oneself and others from the fire of hell,* that is 3000 times more intense and the pain of it might last forever*. (That was the prime job/priority of all the Prophets and Suhabas in order to maintain balance in life)

No you made your point clearly. So a preacher who "actually sets an example worth emulating" might be saving more than just himself from the hellfire, otherwise anyone and their worship (zikr, ibadat, talawat, etc) is only for their own personal gain (gain in afterlife, that is). That's what I have been on about, and this is where we disagree, I guess.

Well, just like a body becomes too weak without food to be of any help (physically) to anyone, similarly without zikr, talawat, ibadat...etc. a soul becomes too weak to be of any help (spiritually) to anyone. Hence personal ibadah also helps oneself and others around us in this life as well.

e.g.

Namaz behayaai aur buri batoo'n se rokti hai (Hadith)

Can one have a religious state of mind per se, but still be committing haram acts by aadat?

^ Yes, it is when one's mind clearly understands the religious rulings but one's heart has an Imaan that is too weak to overcome its forbidden desires.

Why do we have pick the better of the two? Maybe each person has their own role to play? The person who spends more time at the mosque is able to teach others religious knowledge and the person who works longer is able to donate money to help run the mosque. I don't think its for us to judge which is better. We should strive to find our own balance of deen and duniya. Everyone will probably have a different balance and maybe that's what its meant to be and best for all.

Seeking Knowledge about my religion and the history behind it.

I'm a firm believer in "deen say bhi challo, duniya say bhi"...speaking strictly from personal experience, I've seen what can happen to families when one person shirks his worldly duties in pursuit of making himself a better Muslim. My father was one such individual. He hid from his own problems in life and immersed himself in mazhab. My mother had to work, sometimes, two jobs, to support he family and put food on our table, and this ultimately led to their divorce. My father was extremely gentle and pious man, and I have no doubt hat he earned himself a place in Jannat...however, at what cost?

A person doing ibadat at the cost of his family etc is actualy not following his deen completely. Our deen requires us to earn halal living for family.

As imam Ghazli said ( A mans heart is like a ship in water , ship need water for sailing so does our heart need duniya for living, but if the water comes in the ship it will drown the ship so will be the result if duniya comes in some ones heart.)

Duniya is only acceptable under the umbrella of deen. :)

That's me in the corner
That's me in the spotlight
Losing my religion
Trying to keep up with you
And I don't know if I can do it
Oh no I've said too much
I haven't said enough

I thought that I heard you laughing
I thought that I heard you sing
I think I thought I saw you try

But that was just a dream

:lajawab:

We could all use a little more Michael Stipe…thanks for the throwback, Imma gonna add this to my playlist

Islamset - Community Participation: Solidarity, Cooperation, Self-Sufficiency, Perfection or Ihsan and Basic Development needs

Islamic article on community participation …

**The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said that Allah Ta’ala commanded Jibreel to destroy a city because of the evildoers therein. Jibreel said, “O Allah, there is a person in the city who has never disobeyed you.” Allah said, “Destroy him as well, because he was not offended by their evildoing”. These Hadeeth are mentioned in Muslim, Tirmidhi, Ibn Majah and Bahaiqi

**Further elaboration on this hadith suggests that whilst living amongst them he did not guide them or participate in society in order to show them a better example to live by … He could have been a light for the evildoers of his own city …

Piety does not mean being religious - Because being religious is a selfish endeavour, it is about moving away from harm … However piety is about being charitable and about being wise putting oneself to harm in order to move others away from harm.

So the point being made by Contrarian is true to the extent that a scientist will help society whereas a religious hermit will only be helping himself … However that is not to say he is better or worse until we utilise another factor of consideration …

Is his moving away from society stemming from a position of least harm to society or not? Is his intent truly selfish or is it out of love?

Secondly not all “facilitators for ease” are doing things philanthropically for society they have vested selfish interests and yet some may investigate science for discovery - to serve their personal curiosities, but others will do it to serve humans and not divulge all knowledge they stumble across in case it may bring harm to society - such as laziness or materialism …

So as long as a person engages in society in order to bring society towards its realisation to worship and discover God then this person is higher than all other possibilities …

However this fundamentally differs from the initial question … Yes, we should strive hard for dunya, but at the same time we must strive that it enters our hands and not our hearts … and hence if we manage to get dunya then we must give it away to where it is needed as much as possible.

The awliya who live today can handle thousands of dollars in a day but themselves own nothing, because they give it away as soon as they get it …

Disdain for this life is only a means to purify intent - when that intent has been purified it is incumbent to celebrate the bounties of this life and work in preparation for that life ...

Some good points shared above, JazakAllah Khair brother Psyah. Following are two examples just to clarify my point of view earlier.

Hadhrat Abu-Darda (Radhiyallaho anho) is fore most among the Sahabah who possessed very sound knowledge in Islam. He is called 'Hakim-ul-Ummah' (The Sage of Ummah). He once said:

"Before Islam, I lived on trade. After accepting Islam, I tried to combine the service of Allah with my business, but I could not do so. I therefore gave up business and devoted myself solely to the service of Allah. Now if I have a shop at the gate of a musjid and have no fear of losing a single Salaat thereby, and even if the shop gives me a daily profit of 40 dinars to spend the whole lot in the path of Allah, even then I am not willing to turn to business."Somebody inquired the reason. He replied:-"Because of the fear of reckoning."

Hazrat Abu Huraira (r.a) once said,

"People wonder how I narrate so many Ahadith (after spending just 4 years with the Prophet saw). The fact is that my Muhajir brothers remained busy in trade and my Ansar brothers did their farming, while I was always with the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam). I was among the people of Suffah. I never cared to earn my living; I was contented with the little food that the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) could give me. I would be with the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) at times when no one else was there.