Re: your favourite Evergreens/Oldies (black and white or color)
Classic
Classic
Music so different - the neighbor’s dog started barking while I was listening to this on Youtube! And they are on the backside of our yard - not too close! So if you must listen, keep that dog away.
**oh wow! Modan Mohan was indeed a great musician. did u know that he was a good singer as well. he usually sang second version of the same songs sung by leading singers…here is one from the movie “Dastak”…Lata sang this song as well:
Rehana Sultan [from Allahabad, a conservative Muslim] played a very provocative role for which she was heavily criticized and shunned by locals. she married the then legendary Director BR Ishara [a Hindu] and this put the last nail in her acting career and became a liability which shut down her career for good.
btw, she won the Filmfare “Best Actress Award” for her role in that movie…“Dastak” [knock]:
listen to Madan Mohan’s voice at 5:30 minute mark:
**Re: your favourite Evergreens/Oldies (black and white or color)
YES, indeed…Chanchal’s voice unique and was well suited for qawwalis and Bhajans. He later [aftyer retiring from Bollywood] started singing Bhajans at Pilgrimage Centres in India. a novel voice i liked…he sang the famous song from Roti Kapada aur Makan…“mahngai maar gai”… ![]()
watch Chanchal’s segment at 5:00 minute mark…the other singer is Jani Babu Qawwal:**
Very interesting piece of information. I actually used to wonder - who is that male singer in this song. Rehana Sultan - vaguely heard of her. Did not know dastak meant knock.
Very nice, very, very nice.
YES, indeed...Chanchal's** voice unique and was well suited for qawwalis and Bhajans. He later [aftyer retiring from Bollywood] started singing Bhajans at Pilgrimage Centres in India. a novel voice i liked...he sang the famous song from Roti Kapada aur Makan...*"mahngai maar gai"... :)* ** watch *Chanchal's segment at *5:00**** minute mark*...the other singer is *Jani Babu Qawwal***:*
Yes - Bhupinder, Chanchal - these guys were talented - but could not break the oligopoly of the singers of that era.
Did not find the link - I will go to youtube for the song you mentioned
Yes - Bhupinder, Chanchal - these guys were talented - but could not break the oligopoly of the singers of that era.
Did not find the link - I will go to youtube for the song you mentioned
**TRUE!
sorry, i forgot to add...now, i've ADDED the link :)**
**waah…kia yaad dilaa dii aap ne…yeh film apne subject ke Hisaab se bahot pyaarii thii jisko Dev Anand ne baRii Khoobsoortii se pesh kiyaa…only Directors of the calibre of Vijay Anand could make such fictions a reality…
SD Burman as usual sang this song beautifully…amazing rendering! thankoo ![]()
isii film kaa yeh song SD Burman kii aawaaz meN kitnaa pyaaraa hai!**
As always, superb connection - Chanchal indded is amazing - sings with som much emotion and passion. You can actually feel the pain inflicted by mehengayi.
As an aside, had seen this movie when released. I still hate those creeps who raped Moushimi in this movie - especially one of them - he always used to come as a villain!
Sahee kaha aapne. Bohuth hee khubsoorath gana hai. My aunt saw this movie, and told us this story when we were kids. She said it so nicely, that ~ 1-2 years ago, when I saw the movie for the first time, the scenes and characters appeared very familiar.
As always, superb connection - Chanchal indded is amazing - sings with som much emotion and passion. You can actually feel the pain inflicted by mehengayi.
As an aside, had seen this movie when released. I still hate those creeps who raped Moushimi in this movie - especially one of them - he always used to come as a villain!
**EXACTLY...i think this is sad part of Bollywood that they have to add dirty scenes inorder to make it a 'masala movie'...the story doesn't demand one...
...i think u are referring to *C.S Dubey [lala the grocer]?* yeah, he was the bad guy...the double-crosser!!! **
**EXACTLY...i think this is sad part of Bollywood that they have to add dirty scenes inorder to make it a 'masala movie'...the story doesn't demand one...
...i think u are referring to *C.S Dubey [lala the grocer]?* yeah, he was the bad guy...the double-crosser!!! **
Yes - i still hate just thinking of that character in the movie!
Sweet