Younis Khan rejects Pakistan Captaincy (see post 101)

Re: Younis Khan rejects Pakistan Captaincy (see post 101)

Younus Khan is proving himself to be a worthy successor of Inzi by showing that he is a complete arse.

I wonder why these players do not complain when they are given millions of rupees by businessmen for making records.

"Shoaib Akhtar appointed as Pakistan captain"; the headline seems to be so near now :D . We don't want pansy-ass sissies as captains who can't even take a little hostility after their horrid performances in the biggest tournament of them all. What did Younis expect, a freakin' gold medal for the team's achievement? Idiot. He should not be even considered for captaincy ever again; he has dishonored the position so much by throwing his idiotic tantrums. We need a fearless leader who won't give in into the stupid media and the hostile awaam; we need Shoaib Akhtar as captain.

Shoaib Akhtar, the playboy of Pakistan is a good choice for Captain.

This will end the mullahism in Pakistani Cricket

hahaha :)

But do want a 31yr old captain who spends more time off the field than on it?

What he does off the field is nobody's business. His performances speak for themselves on the field.

Yes, i'm lovin the average of 4 overs and 2 balls bowled per Test.

I dont care either...thats not what i was talking about...i was talking about him being injury prone...

chullo g … **Yosuf **claiming that he can do justice with captaincy.

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/290420.html

Lo Jee, do not give chance to Yousuf because of Inzamam and give chance to Malik, others because of Younis? What did Younis do as a captain? Atleast Yousuf would stick around for his team.

Akram now backs Malik to captain Pakistan
Saturday, April 14 2007 19:24 Hrs (IST)

New Delhi: With ‘silly’ Younis Khan spurning the chance to captain the Pakistan side, former Skipper Wasim Akram is now backing the ‘young and talented’ Shoaib Malik to steer the 1992 champions.

Although Akram still maintained that Younis would have been a good choice to succeed Inzamam-ul-Haq, he says the battered team is left with hardly any options.

The left arm swing of sultans told Mobile ESPN,‘’ The only ones who can handle the job are Mohammed Yousuf and Shoaib Malik.‘’ ''Shoaib Malik is a good choice. He is young and he is talented.

We should back him and groom this lad. I don’t think we have much of a choice, if Younis is not interested.‘’ Akram said Younis would have been a good choice ‘‘But if he has indeed been making those comments about absolute power and control, then Younis is silly. For any captain, he must first win the trust of his teammates, get some victories under his belt and power will automatically come. You don’t have to clamour for power.’’

Younis Khan reportedly declined to take up the captaincy because he was ‘not assured of full powers’ and the ‘reaction of fans’ to the team’s ouster.

Akram also rejected former captain and coach Javed Miandad’s comments that captains must not be given full authority.

‘‘Javed has been my mentor but I sometimes don’t understand what he says. When he was captain, Javed bhai wanted full control and now he is saying something else,’’ he said.

‘‘In India and Pakistan, a captain must be the boss. Because he is the man leading the team on the field. Of course, there must be healthy interaction between captain and the selectors. The rest will fall in place,’’ he added.

Akram criticised the functioning of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), saying greats like Imran Khan don’t get associated with the Board because of existing ad-hocism. ''For the last 7 years, there’s been no system in the PCB. Ad-hocism doesn’t work and that’s the reason why people like Imran Khan don’t want to get associated.

''In any case, Imran now is a politician first and then a cricketer.

He will not take up a post in a body that is under the Pakistan President,‘’ he said.

For the first time, Akram blasted former captain Inzamam-ul-Haq for being high-handed in his dealings.

‘‘Inzy definitely had become a dictator. He had obviously become very powerful. I know for a fact that Bob Woolmer and the foreign back-up staff would approach him for leave. I have seen senior PCB officials sitting at his residence and awaiting orders. These things are not good for cricket,’’ Akram said.

http://thatscricket.oneindia.in/news/2007/04/14/1404pak-captain-akram.html

Whether you love him or hate him, with Inzi gone and Yousuf having no problems with him, Akhtar will be playing a big role in the team now. Live with it Cheegum bhai :o .

Acha, so Inzi's exit will somehow miraculously make Akhtar fit enough to bowl out atleast 40-50 overs per test, every test, every series, right?

That also depends on the captain. Why the hell would you use your strike bowler like a freakin' donkey? Look at how Inzi used Akhtar on the dead pitches against India in the home series last year. He was overbowled by Inzi, even when we all knew that the scores would be in the range of 500-600 (that's how flat those wickets were). Using your strike bowlers in short bursts is what Inzi never learned, and hopefully Yousuf will implement it well and use Akhtar well. Ofcourse, if Akhtar is captain himself, we won't have that problem :o .

MoYo is not coming. PCB will opt for a less Mulla-ish captain. Even though Malik is pro tableegh as well.

Yeah..Yousef doesent have a shot - he's basically Inzamam part 2 and the PCB wouldnt wanna go down that path again. Shoaib Akhtar wouldnt get much of a shoe in either, his fitness is lacking big time and the last thing Pak needs is a Captain who keeps breaking down. I have a feeling it'll be b/w Butt and Malik - probably Malik has a better chance at getting the job. I think Malik will do well - though I just remembered his interview a few yrs back after throwing a 20/20 match - the guy was really wound up....hopefully he can keep his temper in check.

On a side note - with regard to WASIM AKRAM's interview above - its another show of hypocracy by an ex player. I was in Pakistan a few months back and I remember there was this tv show on Geo with Wasim Akram as the host and he had Inzamam on for an interview, and other players as well on different nights, and not once did he say anything bad about Inzamam. He basically sugar coated everything and now that Inzamam is down and out - he's sticking the knife in. He should be ashamed of himself.

Would you really expect Akram to tell Inzi on his face that he was a dictator? Talk some sense yaar, come on ManiaX. And where is Butt's name coming from anyway? The last time I checked, he had been kicked out from both the one day and the test squads. Malik doesn't even deserve a test match spot (and breaks down mysteriously before every foreign tour but miraculously gets fit just in time for the one dayers and tullay test matches against West Indies). The only two candidates left now are Yousuf and Akhtar. Take your pick :o .

Dont you mean one short burst per test :D

Chalo jo bhi hai, atleast he won't back down for his team, unlike your beloved choice for captain, Mr. sissy Khan :D . Even you have to admit that Younis has acted like a pansy, Cheegum bhaijan.