Happiness is a Journey Not a Destination

…right?

Okay

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smile.gif

, Just making sure

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/wink.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/biggrin.gif

[This message has been edited by Girl from Quraysh (edited July 02, 2000).]

Yes gfm, that is very, very true. However, even making the journey a happy one takes effort, committment and dedication.

gq,
i really like what you said......thanxs....

Pearlie, there is a beautiful quote about happiness by Carl Sandburg…:slight_smile:
he says,

I always thought happiness was an illusion...
there is no such thing as absolute happiness..

it's funny that u said it's a journey and not a destination, because for most of us...it IS the end goal we yearn for..

Muzna ji...remember how we had once talked, walking out a bookstore what it was we all really looked for in life...and we both agreed it was happiness but ended up shaking our heads when it came down to what happiness really was...?
got an answer yet? i am still as lost as i was 2 years ago.

Happiness is not something that you would wait for...it is something that you need to realize during your journey of life. The question is whether it is important to u or not? (you make the effort accordingly)
A persistent na-shukra-pun can never find you happiness...Its a symptom of depression.

To me life is a state of mind and happiness is a part of it.

ciao,
BoSS

happiness comes to those who make the most of things...it is the attitude towards things that matters

reminded me of the movie "Life is Beautiful"

Yeah, Muzna i agree, i does take work, and heart, and patience. But then its like that saying <i know its a cliche an’ overused, etc. but it fits> ‘Nothing worth anything is ever easy’.

Thats so true Hayaa, i mean alot of us put things off, saying that we’ll do it later, or enjoy it later,etc,etc…never realizing <Boss’s post> that life is passing by..that time isn’t constant in the way that we perceive it…i mean, we always have time, we always think we have the future but then sometimes we don’t see that the time that does pass…can or does take away from what we have,if we don’t—especially if we don’t seize the day, the time, the moment…ummm am i making sense here

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/confused.gif

Anyways what i wanted to say was that, we are always looking towards the future, yearning for that which we don’t have never seeing whats right before us…and maybe that leaves us feeling empty. A friend of mine has a poster in her room, it has a picture of a car going 'round a bend in the road…and it says, ‘Stop looking for happiness around the corner, Happiness IS corner.’

Naik, Boss, DM, i agree with you for sure. When i was writing my ummm…my u know..my ummm thing

, i came across this quote, okay well here goes, “There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning” So u see there can’t be any absolutes, i mean u can’t place limits on happiness because its a neverending process…and only limited by your capacity for it, which then is ultimately in your control..like Boss said. Either you’re going to pursue happiness, seek it, strive and never yield in your quest for it…or you’re going to wallow in ummm was gonna say self-pity…but misery is better i think…or maybe not

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/confused.gif

anyways take your pick

Phew! thats alot, okie dokes hope some of that made sense at least if not then…ummm well too bad u’ve already read it

KishtellZ!

I came up with a fantabolous reply But GUESS WHAT! trying my best to keep grinning about the whole tragedy that just occured I punched accidently on either del, or sumfin, and poof it was all gone, no where in sight.

actual-lay wanting to cry, but grinning, cuz I’m a happy person
heehee hoo haaa… (sniff!)

Wow! Alskm! Everyone else.

Long time no see. *up comming lecture is for my beloved Hayaa

ahe-m! Shall I proceed? screams Hayaa… Hayaa! Ike hotha hie sardar ji. Kiya hotha hie? Sardar ji! Haan. Sabash. PHir kiya hotha hie. Kay.. Kay… pahta hie kiya hotha hie? Mie bathaOon? Hain suchi. Acha.. kiya hotha hie, kay wo ike train. Han na train.. that goes chooooow choooow chiick! Chiick Acha, phir na… Sardarji was riding on the train. So he askes this barbar guy next to him to wake him up when his tashion comes, plus hands him down a nice crisp Rs.20 note.theek hie! Han… tuo kiya nai sab (barbar) goes thinking, that Sardji is paying too much for that small job. So he decides to give him a free service. Han ji. Sardarji’s dari, monchain are gone. Finito. ANyway, his tashion comes. Barbar wakes him up. Sardji comes home, dines with family, does bhungra with kids, and then he goes to the wo wo..

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/blush.gif

ahem… washroom to take a shower. Anywho. Chulthay chultay he stops infront of a ayina. Aray wohi. Mirror. Han. takes one look at himself.. screams on top of his lungs and exclaims..
**"aray, baYra ghark!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/pagal.gif

Ullo ka patha! Nai nay paisay bhi ziyada lay liyay, aur ghar ghalath bunday ko bhaij aya.!" **

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/frown.gif

Ok, but seriously ya’ll… happiness is not a bucket u stumble on… its the fragrance that our soul wear on daily basis. Some times it fades out, due to the intensity of other bad odours, that sometimes are generated by the outter atmosphere, or ahem sometimes its just us who stink up the whole place. ahem! if u are thinking what I am thinking, then I think u are not thinking what I am thinking, however, if u are thinking what I think, then I think, I do not think that u think. what do u think?

..I meant by our negative attitudes, and pesimism.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/rolleyes.gif

Anywho the point is… those who adore this aroma of happiness, senses it,and will seek it regardless of whatever the circumstances. Those who ain’t interested can’t smell, un ki nak mie kisi nay ghas bhari hoti hie! so there

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/tongue.gif

Till then,
Adios!
DB

ps. sumfin is up with this forum,or maybe my poto, I edit stuff and it doesn’t appears on the forum the same day.

[This message has been edited by Daysee Behna (edited July 04, 2000).]

Authentic happiness comes from within a person. If your inside is happy everything else outside seems to be in place. If you are not content inside nothing else seems relevant. Everything one does, is totally in one's control. Therefore the percentage of happiness one derives out of circumstances and environments which nourish a person is completely within that person's control.
As someone has said
In life 10% is what happens to us and 90% is how we react to it.

aslkm Again… Hayaa I can’t contain myself no longer, u are in for it girl. Hang on for the ride (btw… pagal larki, imagine me up at 5:14 thinking about what u wrote back there)here goes noting

Happiness is not an end goal on a long term base (if u meant it in the disney happily ever after way). If we can’t have some aspects at present or didn’t had it in past, or not allow ourselves to grasp it regardless of the time frames, then how wud it be relevent to our realities to get it in future? Think of the odds of it actually happening. We keep on thinking that perhaps things will amend in their prospective natures as time goes by,in some unknown magical way in future, but truth is..they really don’t!
Its us as individuals, that need time to develop strength in order to deal with misfortunes of life, while not beng absolutely dissapointed with it. Its ok to be upset for a while. For some things are so great in intensity, that its difficult to get over them quickly. As long as we make sure not to remain in that dark state for rest of the time.
If happiness is an illusion, so is sorrow. They equal each other out in their distinctive natures. Just that when we experience pain, its felt more, b’cuz it hurts! But it trigers phycological growth of our intellect. Its happiness, that follows on later. It celebrates our victory for overcoming a hard moment without losing the battle to the dark side.i.e, Death! Here are some doodles my friend did, once while sitting down in class, and feeling all blue…

Between 2 rocks I am
Trapped and mutalated
wanting to burst thru
But impossible it is.
Life and living
Different in one verse
Kill and die
is beauty
and understanding

Freedom from the worries
of the world below
release and sore
to die and see

What is life
To go thru hardships
and intense confusion
Hate and the lack of respect

so whats best to do
is to die!

NOw ofcourse, she got a nice little lecture in the similar form of mode from me.Ahem.

However, Death is not an answer to the questions or miseries that a human mind may posses. Infact it cud be an addition to the overall sorrow. For everything ceases after it. One is unaware of its aftermaths. Its an absolute full stop and it ends the current mode of life. Though it brings us one step closer to enternity, but don’t we want to experience life to its full b4 we want to surrender to enternity.

Hayaa oh c’mon, I’m not even close to giving up on life or happiness, so same advice to u. Remember Finders keepers. So don’t give up ok!

Its all around us…happiness.. I mean. Just listen closely to its song, u hear it whispering, but to believe in its presence, is what makes a difference. For only then it shall reveal itself before u and show u its infinite beauty.

Hey u there. Yeah u! Smile! thanks

Btw… saying aside to Rare… nice responce. I like that inside is happy part. Hmm…thats like BoSS here,

when his stomach is full, he writes so nice and good, and when not… oh boy u don’t wanna know (db runs out quick!)

Till then,
Adios!
DB

ps. Kishtella nice post! Been long since bumpbpbed into a good one. Mean it.There’s no butter here ahem keep it up!

[This message has been edited by Daysee Behna (edited July 04, 2000).]

REALLYYYYYYYYYY???????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:K:

behnaa! you make me cry!

seriously.
and that’s why your so special…no no, not for making me cry…got lots of people to fill that spot

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/wink.gif

but because u say stuff, most of the times unintentionally and it goes straight into guess where…yes…straight in to my li’l heart…

ur the best

if u are thinking what I am thinking, then I think u are not thinking what I am thinking, however, if u are thinking what I think, then I think, I do not think that u think. what do u think?

z_jaan…since when did i start thinking… dimaagh hota to praablem hi kiya thi

but u should cut down on ur thinking…it can be nuqsaan-deh for your sehat.

Ok my patooti, i’ll be a good girl and try and smell the aroma u mention…or at least keep in mind that it’s no illusion but a reality that i’ve never really come across, though i am quite familiar the stench u speak of

'tis alllllllllll around meeeeeeeeee. aaah. sighz

i am sorry…don’t be up so late thinking about my gibberish yaar…mairi to aadat hay…jhakk maarna

hugs

p.s. loved your sikh joke…had a good laugh.

and ur friend writes nice

except…i don’t find death to be the “easy way out,” it’s not an alternative. it’s a totally different topic, rather…i am not afraid of it, yet not too fond of it…but sometimes, it scares me down to my bones.

Hayaa r ya happy and better now? :)
No that wasn't the only thing I wanted to ask here... I felt like replying to this one, cuz its such a nice post... and letting it die out was kind of hard. I'm sure there are so many others who'd like to contribute? Right gupoos? :)

I find real happiness in making others happy. But y'know...making everyone happy tires me out at times...and then I'm totally miserable all over again..
How can I stay moderately happy? I jump from one extreme to another. It's really begining to wear me down..

Who says nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing all my life!

Happiness is a Journey Not a Destination

BTW, happiness is neither a Journey nor its a Destination, infact its a moment that might come in your life again & again, if you are lucky!!!!!

Look! yesterday I was very much happy bcoz it was her's ........

Hey "Poor"(I mean, financially not emotionally) (esp. Teenaged Galz)! ** why you all are talking like that, I mean like philosophers.....**

GfQ! Friendly advise. Don't follow the path of "DB" & "hayaa". Their target is to beat Khalil Gebraan, Taygore, and Tolstyee.

Nadeem

[This message has been edited by Nadeem (edited November 16, 2000).]