Yaadon ki Barat & ShahabNama; were they100% real autobiographies

goofed up !

KAHEY HAI SUNN K MERI ZARGAZISHT WOH ZAALIM…
YE KAUN ZIKR HAI, JAANE BHI DOU, HUA SO HUA
DIYA USSAY DIL O’ DEIRR AAB YE JAAN HAI SAUDA…

PHIRR AAGAY DEKHEEAY…JO SO HO HUA…SO HUA

INDEED........and I am privileged to inform here that currently..it's only my dad (Jamiluddin Aali) who is the most cogent source--on such infos., on greats like Q.U.Shahab, mumtaz Mufti, Ahmed nadim Qasmi, Noon Meem Rashid ( though I also know his grand-daughter Fariha Rashed of "INK" Lahore well through my facebook ) Ibne insha, saleem Ahmed, Qurrat Ul Ain Haider, Faiz and the list goes on.

YES...Shahab Chacha had this tendency to say such interesting anecdotes spontaneously:)....

My father say's that once ( when they both were working at the President's House...which is now Governor's House at karachi before the Capital was shifted to Rawalpindi )...my father lost some file..and at one point Field Marshall Ayub Khan asked "Jamil, woh Queen Elizabeth ki Pakistan visit ki details kahan hein" to which my dad said "Sir...dhoondh raha hoon...kahin koh gayee hein"...Ayub said "Whatt?" tow hich Shahab Chacha said " Sir, he is close to Duke of Edinburgh..he will manage everything!" and ayub gave a laughter...( though the file was found at Ayub's desk's drawer:) )

Shahab Chacha was Principle Secretary to Ayub...my Dad was Personal Staff Officer to Ayub on depuatation from Pakistan taxation service.

I was regularly in touch with Shahab Chacha till his Secretary education days. He then went to THE HAGUE as Pakistan's Ambassador.

Finally he got settled in UK at GILMORE..where my parents spent six weeks with him and Iffat Aunty. I have some pics of GILMORE I am trying to trace..anad would scan and post soon....

Best,

Raju

I agree one hundred percent, shahb naama is like pillar in Urdu literature, the way QAS goes through the events in his life it was just amazing, his childhood in Jammu, His college days in Lahore and his experience in muqabley kaa imtihan (CSS) then his attachment with gen Ayub Khan and Pakistan politics in 60's. I think you will hardly find any individual who has interest in urdu literature, who doesnt have shahaab nama in his bookshelf.

The chapter that you mention was the first ever chapter that i read from the book, when i was 10 or 11 years old and was into Tarzaan, Umru eyaar, Angroo Bangroo, Chaloosak Maloosak etc etc, during those days one of my older cousins gave me this chapter to read, i belive it was named as** Bimlaa Kumari Kee Beychaain Rooh** It was quite an experience and i enjoyed it a lot. And that chapter was my first step away from tarzaan, umrou eyaar etc etc.

Raju Uncle, i think there is quite a bit of zikaar of your father in SN and couple of pictures of him too.

Indeed..there is! and Shahab Chacha was very dear to our khandaan...
He was almost like a family member....like Ibne Insha.

Errrr… RJ you have to explain the connection of this poetry with goofed up comment … I am not getting it at all :konfused:

“LET BYGONES…BE BYGONES” simple translation of uURDU qitt’aa…i:e verses!

CHECK THIS OUT;

Folk Punjab – Punjabi Folk & Sufi Songs